We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites South to your Saves list
Comfort Suites South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7644 Caterpillar Court, Grand Rapids, MI 49548   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Our room was large and clean. We appreciated the microwave and refrigerator in be room. The beds were comfortable but the a/c unit turned off and on constantly. Something seemed to be wrong with it. And although our room wasn't warm, it never got really cool the way we like it. The breakfast was an average assortment of ht and cold items. The cost f this hotel made the minor inconveniences not a big deal. I would come back for a night or two.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, General Manager at Comfort Suites South, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Comfort Suites South.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the air conditioning system in your room on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with my Maintenance Department to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Grand Rapids.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    19
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
10
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Thi is a very nice, clean, well-managed motel and we would be happy to return. We were here for the International Trumpet Guild conference, but just for one night to see one concert and it was a great place to stay. In the south end so we could leave quickly in the morning to head back south, it was still only a 10-15 minute drive downtown.
Excellent staff-all we met were very helpful and friendly. Good full breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, General Manager at Comfort Suites South, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Pete Fedorchuk
General Manager
Comfort Suites Grand Rapids South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalaheo, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I had to fly to Michigan recently for a family funeral and the closest city was Grand Rapids. We had previously stayed in the Best Western and my wife wanted to lodge there again but a huge volleyball tournament was in town this time and thwarted that plan. We did a search and the Comfort Suites South was available and also the closest to our family. After checking in and getting settled we felt the facilities at this hotel were superior to our previous lodging and the comfortable sleep we got made it even better. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. Next trip we will check for this hotel first.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, General Manager at Comfort Suites South, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have stayed at this property many times in the past and my experiences have been OK, nothing to get excited about. Recently I discovered that the property is now under new management and I can see a drastic change at the hotel.

The level of service and attitude of the staff has noticeably changed.

Recently I have traveled to Grand Rapids more often for business and the entire staff is noticably more friendly and make me feel welcomed and the rooms are always clean and comfortable.

I would recommend this property! 

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last night and the good outweighs the bad definitely. The room was very quiet which is very important to me and very clean. The price was slightly more than I wanted to pay at a comfort suites but overall I think it's a good value. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Upon our arrival the person who checked us in was nice, but had an extremely wrinkled shirt (like it had been wadded up in the bottom of a drawer some place), and I just thought no one in a customer service position should look like that. It just gave a very bad first impression. My husband who rarely notices these things also made the same comment. We had a room with a king bed. Overall I really wasn't that impresed with our room or the hotel. The rooms weren't very updated and had a bit of a strange ordor, and the bed was very firm. For the $100/night that we had spent on the room, I wished I had chosen another hotel (even if it was a bit higher priced). Plus it was in a more industrial area with no shopping or restaurants at that exit. I cannot comment on the breakfast since we did sleep in. This place was just o.k. but I would try someplace else in the area before I stayed here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

There was a blood stain (appeared fairly fresh) on one of the bedspreads. I requested a clean bed spread and were told there were none available. The other bedspread had other, larger stains of indeterminite origin. I requested that the blood stained bedspread be replaced by the following morning and was assured it would be; it was not. Housekeeping simply tried to spot clean the blood stain. There was hair in the bathtub, and it was not from someone's head. Luckily we had Clorox wipes in our car. I asked to speak with a manager, particularily about the bed, and was told there was not a manager on duty because it was a weekend. The front desk clerk gave me a whopping $4.00 of my room for the privilege of sleeping in a room with a biohazardous bodily fluid on the bed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites South

Address: 7644 Caterpillar Court, Grand Rapids, MI 49548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#13 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® South is conveniently located just 10 miles south of downtown Grand Rapids on Highway 131. This Grand Rapids hotel is close to area attractions like the Van Andel Arena, Craig's Cruisers Family Fun Center, the John Ball Zoo, the Gerald R. Ford Museum, the DeVos Place Convention Center and Grand Valley State University. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options making breakfast at Comfort Suites South the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Pets are welcome for an additional fee. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites South is a great place to stay when visiting the Grand Rapids area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.