We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful. Worth a detour.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meyer May House

Meyer May House
450 Madison Ave. SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
616-246-4821
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Attractions in Grand Rapids
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built for a prominent merchant in 1908, this prairie-style house designed by Frank Lloyd Wright is located in the elegant Heritage Hill district, where over 60 architectural styles are represented.
Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful. Worth a detour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place is the epitome of Frank Lloyd Wright's prairie style architecture...and a testimony to what can be done with an injection of private funds, and dedication of volunteers. DO see the video before you take the tour. You will appreciate this magnificent house all the more for understanding what went into refurbishing it to its original design. It's FREE!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    20
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Frank Lloyd Wright in Grand Rapids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

What a great place to explore!!! What a great mind and gift that man had!! And a small city like Grand Rapids is lucky to have it!! So educational!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
588 reviews 588 reviews
372 attraction reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
535 helpful votes 535 helpful votes
“Prime Opportunity to See a Frank Lloyd Wright Designed House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Those interested in the work of Frank Lloyd Wright should not miss this opportunity to see one of his designs. You'll pay to see most of his work, but touring this house is free. The house, built for Meyer and Sophie May, is now owned by Steelcase; the house has been expertly restored to it's original design and appearance, and it is open for free tours three days a week.

We enjoyed an excellent tour by a young man who obviously loves this subject. The information that he provided and the unhurried manner in which he conducted the tour was much appreciated by everyone.

The windows are the jewel of the house, both for their loveliness and for the light that is allowed to enter. I particularly liked the windows in the living room and the master bedroom. The use of lamps built into the dining room table create an intimate dining atmosphere.

The visitor center is located in the house next door. Go there first to watch a video on the restoration work on the house. Group tours form here to visit the May house.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“If you only see one Frank Lloyd Wright House, see this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Let's start with thanking Steelcase company for purchasing and restoring this beautiful example of a Prairie-style Frank Lloyd Wright home. If you would like a sneak preview of this attraction, they have a very nice website that has the video of the restoration and hours. It is free and the tours start about every half hour. You start at the adjacent property with a 15-minute video on the restoration process (same as the website). A very knowledgeable docent will take you through the house. Terri was terrific and did a wonderful job. The only room that is not viewable is the Kitchen, which was brought up to current standards because Steelcase uses the home for meetings and entertainment. A chef was working in the kitchen on the day I visited. We spent about an hour and a half for the entire tour. I thought this home was in much better shape than Falling Water. They do have a small gift selection (brochure, postcards, mugs, posters, and coasters). They do provide a very nice gift bag with your purchase. Please make sure you have a few minutes to drive through the neighborhood, there are many lovely homes within a few block of the Meyer May home. Well worth a leisurely drive or walk.

Although there are is a ramp into the home, there are narrow stairs to the second floor. It was not clear how anyone who might need mobility assistance would be able to view the second floor.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Free & worth a look; Frank Lloyd Wright home accessable to the public”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stop to see this Frank Lloyd Wright home. We loved being able to walk about the home, look in the windows, and experience this landmark without admission fees and at our leasure. Plenty of interesting things to see here. We were there on a holiday and couldn't take a tour, but look forward to doing so when we return some day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meyer May House also viewed

 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Meyer May House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meyer May House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.