We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but seems a little pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Center Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49544   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but seems a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Typical Springhill Suites, clean rooms, recently updated and convenient to freeways, although it sits way back off Alpine and would be difficult to find after dark. Friendly staff, nice breakfast, again...typical Springhill experience. $159/night for its location seemed pricey to me, as there is not much but restaurants and retail in the area. HI Express next door was $40 cheaper, but I try to book Marriott for the points. Probably wouldn't stay here again unless I could get a better rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Mr. Waylontdog,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your latest stay in Grand Rapids. As a senior contributor to Trip Advisor you opinion and feedback is very valuable and appreciated.
I understand the rate seemed a bit pricey however I can assure you for a newly removed Marriott property with the proximity to downtown and shopping/dining our prices are competitive for this market. I cannot speak for the HI Express next door that has not been newly renovated.
We hope that you will still consider us as an option with looking for accommodations in Grand Rapids in the future. Thank you again for your kind remarks and we hope to see you soon.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    45
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
13
3
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very clean rooms! The breakfast was good and the service was excellent. This hotel is in a good safe location with restaurants nearby. I was traveling on business and I recommend this hotel. There is also a 24hr pantry with goodies and snacks. I didn't use the pool, but I peeked at it and it looked clean and chairs and towels were all put out really nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Octorafest,
On behalf of the entire staff of the Springhill Suites North I would like to thank you for writing a review of your most recent stay. Reviews on Tripadvisor not only help future guests but help the staff make improvements and celebrate memorable service, something it sounds like you experienced.
Service is the name of our game and to have experienced a clean room, good breakfast and excellent service is something we take great pride in providing to all our guests every stay. We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Grand Rapids.
Thank you again for you kind review.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calumet, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I was visiting my Grand Children and we had a pizza party/ pool party. They were very accommodating and let us use the lobby/breakfast area on a quiet Sunday night. Ashley was very helpful and professional with all of our questions. Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Bigschnibbs,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your most recent stay. From myself to Ashley to the entire time we were all delighted to learn you and your family were able to enjoy our hotel and that we provided you with the legendary service we are known for.
We hope to be able to provide you and your family with exceptional service during your next visit to Grand Rapids. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompsons Station, TN
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was in GR for a quick business trip and stayed at the Spring Hill Suites North. This is a newer hotel on the north west side. The people are friendly & helpful and the property is in nice shape, the rooms clean, and the breakfast is a bonus. I didn't have the opportunity to use the pool or exercise room but they are available and look up to date. Go ahead, stay here; it's nice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Carl M,
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. We appreciate your honest observations of our hotel staff and overall accommodations. We take great pride in providing our guests with exceptional service we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Grand Rapids.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Work trip to town and picked this hotel based on reviews and realized as I pulled in to the parking lot I had been here a year ago. Hotel reception was even better than prior trip. They were having a "pink party" in honor of breast cancer awareness and valentines day for free - hand massages and free gifts. Got a room on the top floor (326) not a true corner like 325 or 330 but surprising how quiet. Had early morning meeting each day and breakfast was ready 15 min early (5:45 am) and was excellent - egg/cheese omelet, meat, bagel or english muffin. Waffels and many other oprions were available. Wonderful visit. Really like this place. Worked out both nights and treadmills were totally open both nights. Ear phones were available from front desk but I brought my own. Like they have clean towels on each piece of equipment and pool chairs waiting for guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Nah1963,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay. As a senior contributor your review and comments are especially valuable to our hotel as we look for ways to continuously improve.
In Grand Rapids in the month of February the city is partnering with several organizations to support proceeds of sales to the Susan G. Komen of West Michigan. Our hotel is participating in various capacities and a Tuesday managers reception is one way we are showing our appreciation for guests and the cause.
We read your comments this morning in our morning meeting and everyone was delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, workout facility and arrival experience. We all take great pride in our s3ervice and accommodations and it is so rewarding to share guest experiencing like yours with the staff,.
Again, thank you for your comments; we look forward to serving you on your next visit to Grand Rapids.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with the cleanliness of this hotel. The free buffet breakfast was a welcomed surprise, as it seems to be one of many fading amenities. The attention to detail included complimentary cookies at the front desk, flavored creamers for your morning coffee and a complete weather report in the elevator. The decor of the hotel is very current. I recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the Grand Rapids area. Plus, it's located just off Alpine Ave. which has everything you need.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Mjwieber,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. From the hot breakfast buffet to the delightful touches of fresh hot cookies upon arrival, deluxe coffee bar and redesigned elevator décor with up to date weather we take great pride in our service and accommodations.
We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Grand Rapids. It was our pleasure to provide such memorable service and accommodations.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights. The hotel and room were very clean and the staff very pleasant and accomodating. We would have liked it better if they kept the coffee pots in the lobby filled with hot cofffee, but that seemed to be forgotten. They offered to make a pot when we mentioned it, but we didn't want to wait. The room was fairly comfortable, although the couch wasn't particularly comfortable. We would have liked to be able to purchase a movie, but they didn't offer that option. I felt it was an average room with no real complaints. Very convenient location. Breakfast buffet was pretty good. Very nice variety, but the slowest toaster in the world. Maybe they could upgrade the toaster???

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Amitima,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay. We value all our guests’ feedback and I appreciate your comments. The staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service and accommodations and we apologies if you experienced any issues that contributed to your stay being less than perfect.
I will take immediate steps to ensure the failures in our hot coffee bar and toaster are addressed and remedied immediately. Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to serving your family during your next visit to Grand Rapids.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North

Address: 450 Center Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#18 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Grand Rapids North Hotel Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.