We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean updated hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Center Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49544   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #22 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean updated hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is updated compare to other springhill suites. It almost feels like you just walked into Ikea with the decor. The room itself was spacious and relatively quiet. I was here for business and would recommend this hotel for family travel.
Pros: Safe, clean, close to shopping and some restaurants.
Cons: Not much around for a nightlife, you would have to drive to find something.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Frye45,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay. I was personally excited to read that you were traveling on business but would recommend our hotel for family’s traveling. We take great pride in our newly renovated hotel and catering to both business and leisure travelers.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Grand Rapids for business of pleasure.

Kindest Regards,
Rachel Crowther, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    42
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
11
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

When I travel, I try to stay at the Springhill Suites brand as I have never found a bad one. The rooms in this property are even bigger than most Springhills. We were traveling with 4 young kids and we had plenty of room in the 2 Queen Bed room with Sofa Bed. The nice part of this Sofa Bed is that even after it is pulled out (it's a double size) there is still an area of the sofa that can be used for sitting. Pool and Whirlpool were well maintained. Breakfast was what you would expect though they had two different batters for the waffle makers which was nice. Both regular and a cinnamon batter, making for some happy kids. Wireless Internet Access worked great. Great conveniently located property that I would definitely stay at again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Tvlagntwkids,
Thank you for such a glowing review of your most recent stay. We are delighted to hear that your family enjoyed the spacious rooms and our clean whirlpool and heated indoor pool.
The flavored waffle batter is a new item this year for our breakfast and we are always looking for ways to improve the guest breakfast experience. We appreciate and value all our guest feedback and input and will take into consideration your comments regarding the cinnamon flavor in particular into consideration when ordering in the future.
It was a pleasure serving you and your family this summer and we look forward to making your next stay in Grand Rapids another Excellent Stay!
Thank You,
Rachel Crowther, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel is located near the intersection of two major highways. It was also very convenient to get to downtown Grand Rapids. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My only issue was the air conditioner in my room was very loud when it would first turned on. Otherwise it is a very dependable Marriott property.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Mr. Mark K.
On behalf of the staff of the Springhill Suites I would like to thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize if the air conditioner was at all an inconvenience but delighted to hear the staff was helpful and that overall our property was dependable.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you on your next visit to Grand Rapids.

Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Very much worth the stay. New, nice people. Clean rooms. They could benefit from higher quality towels but for one night this was fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Valued Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Springhill Suites. We take great pride in providing excellent service and clean accommodations and we were thrilled to hear you found our hotel to have both. I have shared your comments regarding the quality of the towels with the staff and we will be discussing opportunities for success in this area for the days to come.
Again, thank you on behalf of the staff we greatly appreciate your kind words.

Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great time with my family! It was conveniently located for traveling between Grand Rapids - Grand Haven - Silver Lake - Baptist Lake. Clean rooms and Great service. The most notable thing is their capabilities to make excellent recommendations for food and attractions in the area. Their two best recommendations were the Meijer Gardens and Amore Trattoria! Great service all around.

Room Tip: Get an odd number room on back of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest!
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our service and our restaurant recommendations. We were delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed Fred Meijer Gardens and Amore! Our front desk staff consistently recommends Amore for its farm to table menu and local flavor. They are hands done one of the best restaurants in Grand Rapids and only a few miles from the hotel!
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you on your next visit to Grand Rapids.
Kindest Regards,
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I cannot say enough about this hotel and how great the staff and management are! First of all, our credit card would not allow them to put a hold on it because another hotel (a Hilton brand hotel) held far too much money on it for one night (about a $800 hold) and they didn't even tell us they were going to hold that much. Anyway, that will be a review on its own. So the manager of the Springhill allowed us to checkin anyway, and while we were relaxing in our room,he called the other hotel on our behalf and got them to transfer the hold to the Springhill instead of making us pay cash or debit! When he saw my huband in the lobby every time after, he asked if we were doing okay after that initial upset and if we needed anything else.

The room was very clean, even the shower curtain and duvet! Very large room for an awesome price. Breakfast is free and is pretty good for "just continental". I wouldnt count it as continental because they had eggs, ham, and waffles above and beyond all the continental norm. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate are free in the lobby 24 hrs., as well as lollipops and cookies at the front desk. Nicely updated workout facilities.

This hotelis also in an awesome location. It is basically across the street from an outdoor mall, theater, and 10 min from the FifthThird stadium where the Whitecaps play. Also,there is about 20 restaraunts within 2 miles of the hotel, ranging from IHOP, to Olive Garden, and Golden Corral.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the stairs. They are away from the elevators so they tend to be less noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a celebratory review about your most recent stay. I recall your arrival and the front desk’s efforts to accommodate you and your husband.
Our staff takes great pride in providing legendary customer service to all our guests and I can’t wait to share your comments with the entire staff! I know everyone will be delighted to hear you and your husband enjoyed, the room, the service, breakfast and our signature lollipops!
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you and your family on your next visit to Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We found the hotel to be clean, the staff very friendly and the amenities were very good. Six of us (4 tweens) stayed for 2 nights. The double double room was very spacious. The beds were on the small side but the pull out was large and comfortable. Only complaint was that breakfast ends at 9 on week days and it is hard to get kids up that early especially after visiting Michigan's Adventure. We heard there weren't many good hotels in Muskegon so we stayed here. Was about 40 minutes to Mich Adventure but the hotel was worth it. The pool was small but the kids enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Corner suite was large and room next to it was a staff room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Seasoned Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your most recent stay. I understand the accommodations were clean but small, with only 76 rooms we take pride in our ability to provide individualized customer service. With amenities like a state of the art fitness center, pool and hot tub, meeting rooms, guest coin laundry and all suites with refrigerator’s, microwaves and pull out sofa sleepers we really are an idea destination offering the comforts and convenience of home.
Our location is idea for the most seasoned business and leisure traveler, thank you for poit6in gout our proximity to the express way and dining and shopping options. Again thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Grand Rapids.

Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North

Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Grand Rapids North Hotel
Springhill Suites Grand Rapids North Hotel Grand Rapids
Springhill Suites Grand Rapids
Address: 450 Center Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#21 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.