We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good size burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cheshire Grill

The Cheshire Grill
2162 Plainfield Avenue, Grand Rapids, MI 49505
(616)635-2713
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 743 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good size burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Ordered 3 burgers, 5 Alarm, Black & Blue, & Erics. They were good size burger served with lettuce, tomato, onion, & pickle on the side so you could choose what you wanted on you burger. We expected blue cheese on the blk & blue burger but could only find a slice of cheese, but the burger was cooked perfect. The other two burgers were slightly over cooked and dried out but had good flavor. The 5 Alarm was not hot to me. French fries and sweet potato fries were really good and not to greasy like some places. Also had one side salad that had plenty of toppings. Good flavors and generous portions is what earns 4 stars. The cook just needs to work on a few things to earn 5 stars. Friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nostalgic and friendly with a decent menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

The Cheshire Grill was a nice break from the usual restaurants that I frequent. With a cheery staff and a good variety of American fare to choose from. The fries were some of the best I have had in a while. The price was a bit high but considering the prompt service and warm atmosphere I consider it of little matter once your full and smiling. I will definitely be returning to The Cheshire in the near future.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trade Lake, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Long wait, cold food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

After we ordered, we sat 1 hour before getting our food. Eggs were cold and potato orders mixed up. Staff offered to get us new eggs, but after waiting an hour for cold eggs, we declined. An offer of coffee on the house would have been a nice gesture. Probably will never go back.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I'm impressed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Went with a friend for lunch around 12:30 and there were plenty of open seats. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The waitress even brought a sample of the soup of the day just to try before ordering. I had the Blacken Bleu Chicken and found it delicious. There were lots of options on the menu. I will be going back and definitely think it's worth giving a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast Grin = all smiles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

My mom had a friend who introduced us to this restaurant a few months back. Now, we make sure to do breakfast there every few weeks. The food is incredible. I can't get away from ordering the Breakfast Grin...it's a variation of eggs benedict. The service is friendly and fast, the cooks are friendly and obviously accomplished in their profession of choice. Perfect poached eggs...every time. The cheese sauce is to die for.

Regardless, it's a place where you can get in and get out quickly, not have to wait for a table or for your food very long, and have an enjoyable experience. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cheshire Grill also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to The Cheshire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cheshire Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.