We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Stay...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 131 Hotel-Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 131 Hotel-Plaza to your Saves list
131 Hotel-Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 28th Street SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Grand Rapids)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids
1 review
“Horrible Stay...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My children and I traveled to Grand Rapids to run in a race the next day. We were not able to get adequate rest as rooms were filthy...they had hair all over the floors and bedding and a horrible odor filled the room. The fuse repeatedly blew and the microwave, television, lights, and refrigerator stopped working. As we entered the pool/hottub area another guest informed us that socks might be an option as the previous few nights she had witnessed other guests urinating on the floor...and then in the sauna area the same towels had been there for at least 3 days.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    9
    7
    19
See reviews for
19
6
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My company put me in this hotel, unfortunately. The room is ok, fairly clean. The mattress is very firm but I didn't mind that. The pool looked a little sketchy. The pool is surrounded by an activity area straight out of the 70's. Don't bother getting the exercise room key at the front desk. It looks like leftovers from your grandma's basement.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We made the mistake of not booking a room on our impromptu trip to Grand Rapids. Their was an Art Festival in town so all the other hotels were booked. On the way to the hotel, we passed through some undesirable areas of Grand Rapids which immediately clued me in that we had made a mistake booking this hotel. The hotel is very dirty and in need of updates. The room was dirty and smelled of cigarette smoke. We had someone in a neighboring room with their dog barking and someone down the hall was having a party. We found online that maybe they turn a blind eye to the smoking of weed on premises. The place just gave me the creeps. My hushand slept in his clothes on top of the comforter if that was any indication. We left early in the morning without taking a shower. We over paid for this room. I complained at the front desk about our stay however she did not seem interested. I would not recommend anyone book a room here. J Hall

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is probably one of the crappiest hotels that I can remember staying in. It had quite a variety of smells; elevator was like urine, hallway was smoky urine, and the room was a funk mix not quite as bad as the hallways.

The room itself was large, but I did not want to walk on the carpet barefoot. Mix of stains and cigarette burns all over. Dead bugs in the bathroom, T.V. and refrigerator didn't work for the first day and a half.

Seemed like the crappy side of town, and that that crappy side was all hanging out in the hotel lounge/restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 131 Hotel-Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 131 Hotel-Plaza

Address: 255 28th Street SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Grand Rapids)
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 131 Hotel-Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 131 Hotel-Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 131 Hotel-Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.