We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enought great things about this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Lake Eastbrook Boulevard SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Northern Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Can't say enought great things about this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We travel to Grand Rapids quite frequently and have stayed in probably 10 different properties scattered through out the city. However, our new favorite hands down is Staybridge Suites. From the extremely helpful front desk associate (Mary Anne) to the spacious and clean rooms our stay was a 10+! We have already booked a room for our next trip to GR. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. It had a spacious living area with a large table, a sleeper sofa, two arm chairs, a large flat screen with dvd player. The kitchenette was equipped with a full size fridge/freezer with ice maker, a sink, microwave and two burner stove. The kitchen was equipped with dishes, cookware and utensils. The bathroom was nice and the bedroom area was spacious as well. We felt right at home and with two small kids they loved having room to run and play. We adults enjoyed not being cramped into a regular sized hotel room and trying to be quite as possible for the little ones to sleep. It was almost like being at home.

Room Tip: Make sure if you want a separated sleeping and living area that you request either a 1 bedroom suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather A, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed you and family enjoyed your stay here at the Staybridge Suites in Grand Rapids, Michigan! I am glad to hear that you booked here for a future date. Staybridge Suites tries hard to accommodate all different kinds of travel needs and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
5
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My family and I stayed at Staybridge this July and were very pleased with the accommodations and the price. The breakfast was truly first rate...lots of food choices, many hot dishes such as omlettes and sausages, belgium waffles you could make yourself, fresh pastries. lots of fresh fruit as well as the usual cereals and juices.

THe lobby was lovely, the swimming pool VERY much appreciated on those hot July days. I loved the barbecue grills they had in the picnic area b the pool...my husband grilled jerk chicken and the grills cooked perfectly. They also had a 4th of July picnic dinner....which was made on the grill (the hot dog, hamburger variety)

All dealings with the staff were lovely. I plan to be making several visits to Grand Rapids in the future and this will be my choice of hotel, definitely;.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather A, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed stay here at Staybridge Suites. The pool and grill areas are a great place to relax and enjoy time with family, especially since this Michigan summer was so hot! I hope you come visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here two nights and really enjoyed it. The breakfast was very good, even furnished "to go" bags if you needed them. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Although we did not use it, there was a cabana by the pool with wonderful grills that anybody could use. Everything here was A-one!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather A, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the Staybridge Suites! Thank you for the wonderful review and we really appreciate the fact that you took the time to write one. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have stayed in several other hotels in the Grand Rapds area but this is now close to the top of my list! It is definitely the top if staying with family. Though I was in town for work, I took the Family along. We stayed in the two bedroom suite at a fantastic price. The kids were excited to have their own room, TV, and bathroom. Flat screen tv's in both bedrooms and living room. Plus a full kitchen, free breakfast, and evening reception Tues - Thurs. You cannot beat this! Staff was friendly and accommodating too. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather A, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about Staybridge Suites. We are glad that your family enjoyed your time here and hope that you will stay here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We recently attended a wedding in Grand Rapids. Our family is located all over the US so we wanted to make the most of our time together. We had six families that we wanted to spend time with and the Staybridge Suite facility provided a spectacular environment. It is family friendly. There is an outdoor pool and hot tub, gas grills and a fire pit. They also provided the game, corn hole. We grilled out one night and used the outside tables. The following night we ordered pizza and watched the Olympics in the lobby. We enjoyed the fire pit both nights. They also have a free hot breakfast and evening reception. There was another family having a family reunion at the hotel. The other guests were very nice and it never felt that we were stepping on each other. The staff was as helpful and accommodating as any 5 star hotel I have visited. We had 20 family members in our group and not one person complained. Everyone loved the Staybridge Suites and we are planning a trip next year and would definitely put Staybridge Suites at the top of our list!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. However, if you want a separate bedroom and living area you should specify it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather A, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
It was a pleasure to read this review and we are so happy that you had a wonderful time here. We appreciate it so much! Thank you and we hope to see you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan Center, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

First impressions is all is good. When you have to stay for awhile. You will find pros and cons.
I will start with cons, the biggest is housekeeping. The room was never cleaned the same way and sometimes not at all. The policy here is you can have your room light cleaned on a daily basis and if here more than 7 days a deep clean complete with change of linens. Some day we just got clean towels, no new soap, or further more not even had the bathroom sink wiped down. Some days we got a new roll of toilet paper, some days we had to go to the front desk. Most days no dusting or vaccuum.
There are small kitchens in the room. The con here is there are only two burners and no oven, so limited cooking. The supplies of a few dishes and a few pans are there, but one must get creative with cooking or spend lots of money to eat out.
Next con the air conditioner, the temp setting does not seem to work, so you may get too cold or hot and it is loud.
Noise, interesting we have not heard the TV in the other rooms or conversations, as one normally does, BUT if you are not lucky enough to get the third floor, you may hear the person above you walking very heavy or if a child bounces things on the floor, because the parent does not know to stop them.
Laundry, it is nice to have the washer and dryer and free of charge, BUT the place is very dirty, the washers and dryers are not kept clean. Although the person who uses the washer and dryer should pick up after his/her self, people do not, so it is left to the hotel, and they do not do it. One of the washers had salsa in the rim. And they are old, could use updating. The dryers take too long.
Next con, although nice that dinner is served 3 nights a week, great money saver, it is bad food. The outsource from GFS, and it taste prepackaged, suggestion to hotel Costco and SAMs club may be better alternatives. On grilling night they have a person who does cook hamburgers etc outside, but he likes to socialize, that means the hamburgers get left uncooked outside with the flies on them. We saw this happen. Breakfast is served everyday, but it is always the same thing, one waffle machine, and it will either be scrambled eggs with bacon or plain omelet with sausage patty. The fruit will always be apple, orange, grapes and pineapple. Again a bit more mix, melons would be nice, change the everyday strawberrry syrup to blueberry, something. It is a pretty easy meal, and easy to change up. There are cereals and oatmeal.
The rooms, the sofas are in need of replacing, they are uncomfortable and old.
Yes there are pros, location, very near 28th street, which has everything from gas, food shopping, restaurants,malls etc, yet so quiet.
There is a pool, but it is outdoors with no shade and small, but it appears it is clean.
It is nice to have a full size fridge in them room. Free wi-fi. Nice area to sit outside, the newspaper everyday at the door, and a small but useable fitness center. It is connected with the laundry so if you can get a machine it is nice to be able to do both at once. Although a spray bottle with paper towels would be good to wipe down the machines afterwards.
There is a elevator, for some reason when designed it was only put in one half of the building, so if you have lots of luggage, and not on that side unload near check in so you can easily use the service.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room to avoid the noise above you and not overlooking the pool to avoid that n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear BT105,

Thank you for the detailed review of our hotel. I am glad that you liked that you liked our location. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am very sorry to hear about the inconveniences you encountered over the quality and service of our hotel. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. Thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Karen Gray
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Initially welcomed and thought they were wonderful as well untill I met up with the 6 non american day laborers that were in the laundry for several hours. Stay here but do not use the laundry. I will not return and now disposed of my cloths that I washed. IThis is a place for a courtesy wash of a shirt and pants not two weeks worth of laundry as these people were doing.
Isldo have no tolerence for maintenance empolyees that claim they do not understand english in front of lationo guests then change thier story if front of management.

Very disapointed as I though this business catered to business people. Only here for one night.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Tkmellc,

Thank you for your recent review. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. I'm sorry for the experience you had in our laundry facility. Please accept my sincerest apology for the unacceptable service you received. I have taken note of your comments and I will make sure that this will be looked into. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to serve you again on your future stays.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood

Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood Hotel
Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood Hotel Grand Rapids
Staybridge Suites Kentwood
Address: 3000 Lake Eastbrook Boulevard SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#8 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Michigan's West Coast! The Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids Airport hotel is only 3 miles from the Gerald R Ford International Airport! We are walking distance to dining, shopping at Woodland Mall & Centerpointe Mall, and entertainment at Celebration Cinema. This Grand Rapids hotel is only 10 minutes from downtown, where you'll find Van Andel Arena and Devos Place convention center. Our hotel is located near the ever beautiful Frederik Meijer Gardens. Staybridge guests enjoy a choice of three suite types: King Studio Suites, King One bedroom Suites, and we also have our 2 bedroom/2 bath Suites. All suites feature fully appointed kitchens, a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, dishes, and dishwasher. A complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet that features freshly-made golden malted waffles. We also provide a complimentary evening Sundowner reception Tuesday-Thursday, which includes different dinners with many of our other guests. Corporate travelers may also enjoy separate living and work areas complete with Free Wireless Internet, direct dial phone numbers, and voice mail. Get Comfortable at Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids Airport hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Grand Rapids/Kentwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.