We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, excellent salads, excellent beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hop Cat

Hop Cat
25 Ionia St, Grand Rapids, MI 49503 (Formerly HopCat)
(616) 451-4677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 800 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Cuisines: American, British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Fun, excellent salads, excellent beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I loved this place - we went here twice during Artprize and the beer selection was amazing - so many draft choices, mostly local. Their salads were so tasty and healthy! The atmosphere was great - big bar, busy restaurant w great current music playing in the background. I liked here much much more than Founders bc of its atmosphere and food selection. The service was great both times.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    98
    31
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Muskegon, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

48 beers on tap and I couldn't try them all,lol.
They really need to add some sample sizes to the menu so I can try more next time I visit.
Had the burger and beer special but I am not a fan of the brioche bun or whatever they call it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place for a beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

They have an amazing selection of beer! There food is always good and the staff is always pleasant. One of the best places downtown to go !

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodrich, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Visted last night for the second time this month while traveling throught the area. Huge selection of beer. The mussels are amazing as are the crack fries. The salads are also very good. Service is good and atmosphere is fun. Nice patio area if you would like to sit outside. Great place to meet friends and relax.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“so many choices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

there are tons of choices of beer to drink. the bartenders and servers can always make recommendations as well. one of the best bars downtown. plus, you have to try the crack fries!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hop Cat also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Hop Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hop Cat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.