We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night stay -- excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids to your Saves list
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Monroe Center St. NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great night stay -- excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay in Grand Rapids --- great city. This was our first stay at the CityFlats Hotel & I was very impressed. Modern / trendy decor was very appealing ---the bed was INCREDIBLY comfortable. Hotel was very clean! The best part of the hotel was the staff -- from the minute we walked in the door, they were friendly, helpful & quite frankly --- fun! Loved sitting at the bar chatting with the bartender. Food in the morning was very good. Overall experience is a two thumbs up -- would definitely stay again! And, we would recommend this hotel to others.

Green Features: I travel quite a bit, so I am very appreciative of the fact the hotel uses environmentally friendly materials -- from the bathroom soaps to the materials used for decorating/flooring ---- EXCELLENT.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed staying with CityFlatsHotel and had such a fun time. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    41
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
54
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mingo, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the 125 year old Grand Hotel just before staying at City Flats. What a contrast! It took us about 10 minutes to "get it" about this hotel. We loved the Grand Hotel and equally loved this hotel. Parking was a snap, manager and staff we wonderful, restaurant was excellent. Hi tech and modern are understatements, but it was still great. BTW, location couldn't be beat if you need to be downtown.
One additional comment. Don't know what they did with the beds, but they were heavenly.
Would we stay there again? In a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Upper floor as none of the floors have carpeting
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is the most "green" hotel I have ever experienced. But...done in a classy way and it DID NOT intrude on the comfort or livability one bit.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for such kind words! We are so happy you had such a nice stay and were able to try something a little different. Hopefully your travels bring you to Grand Rapids again soon! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Fabulous bamboo sheets and pillows, delightful, efficient, caring staff in spite of being overwhelmingly busy with Art Prize guests. Fresh food breakfast to snacks after concert. What a thrill to see this in GR.

Room Tip: Right on Monroe Center, convenient to everything downtown,
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally exceptional! They recycled beams from the original building and repurposed them in the lobby. 28 rooms updated and sleek.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to give such nice compliments, we will be sure to pass them along to the staff! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Enjoyed an overnight stay at CityFlats during ArtPrize. So comfortable. Wonderful floors, decor, luxurious shower, great bed and bedding! Breakfast left a bit to be desired in terms of options -- no plain yogurt; extra cost for herbal tea. However, the fresh fruit was welcome. Wonderful staff and very efficient check-in and check-out. One challenge was figuring out the eco-friendly lighting/power switches in the room. After concerted effort, my friend figured it out. There's 1 master switch you click to save energy when you head out or head to bed. Highly recommended for your stay in downtown Grand Rapids. Clean, quiet and classy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids. Happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and a visit to ArtPrize. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel room was very nice with all the necessities. The bed was by far the best part of the room. I am seriously considering buying one of those beds with all of the pieces that come with it. This time we only got a single king size bed room. We had stayed here previously in a double bed room. Great view, great staff that is friendly and helpful to out-of-towners.

Honestly though the best part of this hotel is the beds. There isn't one bad thing to say about the hotel but the beds.... I have paid far more for a hotel stay and I cannot remember a more comfortable bed.

The location is good as well. Near plenty of attractions and within walking distance of many options for food.

Overall wonderful. Probably not the best place for children. Not that they couldn't stay but nothing terribly interesting for them there. This hotel is more for the business traveler or couples.

Room Tip: Beds are marvelous.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally conscious. They have controls that turn off the heat when you leave the room and water fixtures to save water.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Glad to hear you had such a nice stay and enjoyed are beds so much! If you are interested you can visit our website to find more information on them under the 'shop' tab. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. wayne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great location, room and staff ever so helpful. Rooms are modern ( we had to have help running the shower!) eco friendly and roomy.
Plaza 2 blocks away has huge crowd free entertainment several times a week in summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing front
See more room tips
Green Features: Everything here is recycled materials and staff recycles all materials. Towels, sheets have wash only if used policy.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a nice little boutique hotel. This is a modern design that plays nicely with the original structure, (I am guessing) built in the early 1900's. Rooms are simple and mine (506) had a great view. The furnishings are sparse, but work well. My bed was a slice of heaven. The mattress is wonderful, sheets are soft, and the pillows perfect. The bathroom is large, nice vessel sink, and good body products. The shower is strong. I slept well here. My only complaint is that the continental breakfast is rather unimaginative. They would do well to partner with a local bakery for better quality items. This is not a deal breaker though. I enjoyed my room, had a really nice salad at the bar, and took in happy hour during my stay. The staff is very nice, the rooms very interesting and clean. I will make this my new go to hotel for future travels to Grand Rapids.

Room Tip: I like a room on an upper floor. Great views of downtown.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel is very green - makes a real statement. They are Green Level - Gold.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Jennifer V.,

Thanks for the great feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Regards,

Dave W.
General Manager
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids
616-451-1892
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids
#3 of 47 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza Hotel
Amway Grand Plaza Hotel
#4 of 47 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
2.1 mi away
Riverfront Hotel Grand Rapids
Riverfront Hotel Grand Rapids
#36 of 47 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids

Address: 83 Monroe Center St. NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids is located in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids. Built in 1874 this renovated building was once the famous Fox's Jewelry and is now Grand Rapids only LEED Gold certified hotel. There are 28 individually designed guestrooms, each with their own unique experience. On the first floor you will find CitySen Lounge serving lunch, dinner, weekend breakfast, and offering Happy Hour specials daily from 4PM-7PM. You will also find CityBru Coffee, located in our lobby, open 24 hours. Please stop by and see what we have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.