We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek Chic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids to your Saves list
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Monroe Center St. NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sleek Chic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

If your tastes run to ultra modern euro style, this is the hotel for you. We stayed for a midweek conference so only spent one night but were very comfortable and well looked after. Rooms are simply furnished - no overstuffed sofas or chairs here. The floating platform bed is the only cushy spot in the room, and dramatically underlit. The bath is beautiful. If you're staying for a few days, please note that hangers are the only clothes storage option. And if you don't like the idea of padding around on the non-carpeted floor in your bare feet, bring slippers. We happen to be very comfortable in this environment and we'd return in a heartbeat. The location is within walking distance to the Devos Center and great restaurants. The continental breakfast was a bonus. Parking is a little tricky and not obvious, but the desk clerk was very helpful. All in all, a great Grand Rapids option.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Debtodeb,

Thank you for sharing your experience at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

Dave W.
General Manager
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    39
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
51
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a pretty neat hotel!! Rooms where modern with high ceilings! Staff was friendly. Parking was to that great although I did get lucky and find a spot out front!! Not a very big dirty area in the room but the beds where broke up nice instead of being next to each other they where behind a portion of a wall!! Great for downtown life walked to the BoB the staggered back to the hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi JKorcal,

Thanks for staying with us during your trip to Grand Rapids. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to CityFlatHotel - Grand Rapids in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Wilsey
General Manager

CityFlatsHotel – Grand Rapids
83 Monroe Center, Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Direct: 616/608/1722
Email: dave.wilsey@cityflatshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au Train, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you are ready for a different hotel experience, this is the hotel for you. Clean, comfortable and friendly. You can walk to many different kinds of restaurants or to area events. It was a little pricy but the location was worth it. It had a European feel in Grand Rapids Michigan!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear UpperMichiganNomad,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you chose to stay with us and we would look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,
Dave W.
General Manager
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you like fiddling with lots of light switches -there were 17 lights in our "ecological" room - and if paying boutique prices for crummy disinterested service, very average accommodation and "perks" of a free breakfast of tired tinned fruit salad and sugary store bought mini muffins this Is your kind of place.

We were given incorrect information twice had a phone that didn't work (Nobody bothered to fix) and were triple charged for inconvenient parking. We were referred to a pizza place that didn't deliver and actually had raw dough in the centre.

Has a cool brand and logo but if you want comfort and service Don't stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Justiceisserved1,

Thank you for providing us with feedback in regards to your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for the complications that you experienced. Our entire staff takes pride in the level of customer service and care that we give each guest and we continually strive to provide a positive and memorable experience. I welcome you to contact me directly at 616-608-1722 or email at Dave.Wilsey@cityflatshotel.com to discuss your experience in more detail.

Kind regards,

Dave Wilsey
General Manager
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed at City Flats in Holland and I'm in love with the beds & sheets so I jumped at the chance to stay at this City Flats location. I was very impressed with the service and friendliness of the staff, the location was great, perfect for walking around downtown. The room was spacious enough for two adults, and eight year old and a baby, the hotel provided a pack-n-play for the baby. I highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi HJeldon,

Thank you for sharing your experience at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Dave W.
General Manager
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a little getaway close to home. The location is fantastic-many good restaurants within walking distance and the Grand Rapids Art Museum is a short block away. The room was OK, but fairly spartan. There isn't a comfortable chair to sit on, just a hard one for the desk. The cork floors are pretty nifty and warm on your feet in the winter. Bathroom fantastic with a nice big shower. We had snacks and a drink one night in the bar and the food was tasty and well-priced. The staff was very welcoming. Parking in a ramp is pretty much connected to the hotel, no need to walk outside. We will stay again; even though we weren't far from home, we felt "away from it all".

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking Monroe Avenue and it was fun to look at what was going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi LARDW,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and the experience that you had on your trip to downtown Grand Rapids. We are happy that you enjoyed the time you spent with us and hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dave W.
General Manager
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are not coZy at all. They are decorated straight out if an ikea magazine. Our room was directly below the heating unit for the hotel. Needless to say we didn't get much sleep!!! Very very loud. Won't be back again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids. Our guest rooms are designed locally but Charter House Innovations and we appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to improve the quality of our hotel experience. If you choose to stay with us again, we would be happy accomodate you based on the feedback that you provided.

If you have any other suggestions or questions, please feel free to contact me directly at 616-796-2102.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids

Address: 83 Monroe Center St. NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids is located in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids. Built in 1874 this renovated building was once the famous Fox's Jewelry and is now Grand Rapids only LEED Gold certified hotel. There are 28 individually designed guestrooms, each with their own unique experience. On the first floor you will find CitySen Lounge serving lunch, dinner, weekend breakfast, and offering Happy Hour specials daily from 4PM-7PM. You will also find CityBru Coffee, located in our lobby, open 24 hours. Please stop by and see what we have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.