We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Conference Center at Calvin College

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince Conference Center at Calvin College
Save Saved
You added Prince Conference Center at Calvin College to your Saves list
1800 East Beltline SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I used the recommendations on tripadvisor to choose the Prince. My friend and I enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Prince to others looking for a wonderful place to stay. The staff is friendly, the facility is well maintained and the breakfast was great. The snacks all day including coffee makes the Prince feel very comfortable and welcoming.

I agree that the shower is small but was thrilled to see a fan in the bathroom. Something I have not seen in many hotels recently. The rooms, bedding and facility is beautiful down to the floral centerpieces on the tables in the lobby and breakfast area.

The location is convenient to the Meijer Gardens and was not far from downtown and Gas Light Village and restaurants on Cherry and Wealthy Sts. Next time we stay we will explore the Ecopreserve on campus.

Congratulations to the staff of the Prince for a job well done.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Zumba2010,

Thank you very much for the kind words. I am happy to see you plan on coming back, and to enjoy the Ecopreserve that is behind us.

We look forward to having you come back.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
10
7
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

In addition to what other reviewers have said: We enjoyed exploring the ecosystem preserve outside the hotel. The kids loved the snacks, which are available all day once breakfast is over. This is a family friendly hotel (other than a shower in the bathroom, which may be difficult for families with really small children).

The only dislike that I had: I made a reservation for a king suite. However, when I arrived, I was told that the king suite was handicapped accessible and was given to someone else requiring it. I understand this, but I wish I had known this when I made the reservation. When I expressed this, Christy quickly found us a room in a nice location and gave us a discount. Thank you, Christy! If we are in this part of town again, we would try to stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor facing the ecosystem preserve are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
MamaMay0402

Thank you for your kind words. I will make sure to discuss what you brought up about change in room type. We should be making sure you are contacted before your arrival.

I will make sure Christy is aware of the great comments about her. Thank you again, and we hope you and your family are able to come back and stay with us again.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were a family party of 10 - 3 rooms - 2 stays in GR a week apart on our way to the UP and Mackinac Island and back. This was the nicest hotel experience on our 3,000 mile trip. Beautiful grounds, very clean accommodation (grounds, building, rooms), great beds and pillows, good size, well lighted rooms, excellent quality free breakfast. So what? Many hotels can claim this but this hotel is special because the staff cares - really cares.

Picture the difference between a family run accommodation vs. a chain hotel staffed by minimum wage employees. The Prince Center's staff makes one feel like it is a family run establishment. The staff is fully committed and actively engaged to making this your most satisfying hotel stay in GR - and they have succeeded. No, it's not a 4 Seasons, but neither is the price - about one-third of high end hotels.They are the #1 hotel on Trip Advisor in Grand Rapids because they earned it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
rrs517

Thank you for the kind comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you and your family will be able to come back and stay with us again.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Quiet, peaceful, & beautiful apply equally to the facilities & staff, at a very reasonable price point. We'll stay there again & recommend it to everyone.
A pair of prescription reading glasses were lost under our bed. The staff quickly found & mailed 'em to us straightaway
Can't think of anything to add to other glowing reviews except "torchlake99". We had adult beverages in a cooler, and enjoyed the in-room mini fridge...lovely room was better than any hotel bar. .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
SailsCalls412

We are so happy we were able to locate your missing glasses, and be able to return them to you. We appreciate your wonderful comments, and hope to see you visit again.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is positively the best hotel we have ever stayed at! We were in Grand Rapids especially to visit Frederik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park, and the Prince Center couldn't have been more convenient for that. Although convenience had something to do with our choice of lodging, it has nothing to do with this review! Our double queen room was beautifully appointed and was sparkling clean, with a lovely view of the nature areas of the campus. The staff were friendly, courteous, and accommodating. Breakfast could not be listed in the same category as most free breakfasts. From 6:30 to 10:00 a.m. there were cheeses omelets, sausage, biscuits and sausage gravy, waffles, specialty breads, bagels and muffins, fresh fruit including melons, pineapple and berries, cereals, assorted juices, coffee, tea and milk. I probably have not even named the entire menu! The attendant made sure everything was fresh, hot where desirable, and plentiful. No one could possibly go away unsatisfied. Coffee, tea, cookies and snacks were available throughout the day in the bright and spacious breakfast room. The large lobby appropriate to a conference hotel has comfortable furniture for relaxing and reading, as well as many tables where guests can work or play games. You really need to plan a trip to Grand Rapids just for the pleasure of staying at this lovely facility!

Room Tip: We never heard any noise at all from hallway or other rooms. We enjoyed being on the main floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mary K

We appreciate your wonderful comments about Prince Conference Center, and are happy that you were able to stay with us to enjoy the amazing Frederik Meijer Gardens.

We hope to see you come back and enjoy our facility.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here because we were touring the college and were pleasantly surprised by the value and excellence of the hotel. It is neat, clean and convenient. They have a wonderful breakfast area where one can fix a cup of coffee or tea, and then relax with a newspaper or book. The beds were soft and comfortable, and we had no trouble with sleep quality.
Although it is not near the center of town, it is a great place to stay for whatever reason.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Drnicksir

Thank you for your wonderful comments. They are greatly appreciated.

We hope to see you again in the future when you are in the Grand Rapids area.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traverse city,mi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Here in GR for a conference and wanted to stay on this side of town. Very clean hotel, nice lobby to sit and read if needed. Quiet hotel, off the road so very little noise at night if your a light sleeper. On a Christian campus so no alcohol or bar so if you would like a cocktail in the evening do not stay here. Other than that this is a nice choice if your looking for a quiet place to spend a night or two, fair prices for the lodging also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
torchlake99

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your kind words, and hope to see you again in the future when you are in the Grand Rapids area.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Conference Center at Calvin College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conference Center at Calvin College

Address: 1800 East Beltline SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a peaceful, serene setting, just a bridge walk east from the main Calvin College campus, is the Prince Center. You'll find the atmosphere casual and relaxing with many windows to take in the view, two cozy fireplaces, a patio overlooking the nature preserve and a baby grand piano—all designed to make your visit a pleasant and enjoyable one. Whether you're gathering with colleagues from around the country or celebrating a special occasion with an intimate group, you'll always feel right at home at the Prince. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.