We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accomodations & Friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Conference Center at Calvin College

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince Conference Center at Calvin College
Save
You added Prince Conference Center at Calvin College to your Saves list
1800 East Beltline SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Altadena, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Accomodations & Friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We enjoy staying at the Prince Conference Center every time we visit our son at Calvin. The service is professional and friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious, with WIFI throughout the facility. They also have a great breakfast layout in the morning. We stayed in a suite, that was not much more in price. Overall, it is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinmint55, Meeting & Conference Planner at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
We are happy to provide a facility to parents of Calvin Students. We look forward to your next visit to the campus. Blessings.

Amanda Campbell
Meeting & Conference Planner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
11
7
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Excelsior, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I booked a room here because of the convenience of staying on campus while my son checked out Calvin College. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts had a nice variety and we loved being able to get coffee, tea and snacks anytime of the day or night. While the room isn't anything extraordinary, it was very quiet and we slept great. We were very close to restaurants, shops and the movie theater. A great value in Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinmint55, Meeting & Conference Planner at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
We are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you back in the future. Safe travels.

Amanda Campbell
Meeting & Conference Planner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed at the Prince for business, the rooms are spacious and clean.
Snacks and coffee are great.
Many breakfast choices hot and cold.
The lobby of the hotel/conference center is a great place to meet people.
I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinmint55, Meeting & Events Planner at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to having you back in the future.
Safe Travels.

Amanda Campbell
Meeting & Events Planner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I've been going to the Prince Center every year for the past 6 years and find it to remain one of the better places I've stayed anywhere. The room furnishings are excellent and beds good. Bathroom amenities are very high quality. Everything is very clean. There is good 24-hour coffee and at least scones, cookies, fruit or other snacks throughout the day in the eating area. Breakfast has multiple fruit choices, cereals, juices, omelets or biscuits & gravy, toast, waffles, bagels, etc. Good coffee. The lobby is really nice with a great fire place. If you want to cross country ski in the winter enjoy the nearby paths and roads around the nature preserve. The staff are very friendly and professional. Coming here and visiting Calvin College is a highlight of my year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for the kind words, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed two nights and were very impressed. Very clean, quiet, and a nice modern design. The breakfast area and lobby have large window areas that provide a nice atmosphere, and we enjoyed a hike thru the adjacent nature preserve. Be sure to at least visit the interpretive center, even if you don't take the hike. Although it's part of a religious college, there was no "message" being imposed other than a small cross mounted on one of the walls of the room. The only problem I can think of is it's not located directly on the street, it requires a bit of driving thru campus to find it. Overall, we thought it was a great value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinmint55, Director of Sales at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
We are happy to hear that your visit was enjoyable. If you need anything, please let us know and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Friendly staff, snacks, coffee and an ample breakfast make this a great place to stay for those routine overnights for business, visiting family or transporting kids to college. The place isn't fancy but it feels homey. We even found a room of games to keep us entertained one night. We have stayed here many, many times and have not been disappointed. Great value!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to put a comment on here for us. We hope to see you again soon and are thankful for the kind words.

Thank you

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stay at The Prince when we visit our son at Calvin College. However, this conference center would be a nice find for anyone staying in the Grand Rapids area. Great breakfast, nice room accomodations and a set on a nature preserve for hiking. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Conference Center at Calvin College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conference Center at Calvin College

Address: 1800 East Beltline SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a peaceful, serene setting, just a bridge walk east from the main Calvin College campus, is the Prince Center. You'll find the atmosphere casual and relaxing with many windows to take in the view, two cozy fireplaces, a patio overlooking the nature preserve and a baby grand piano—all designed to make your visit a pleasant and enjoyable one. Whether you're gathering with colleagues from around the country or celebrating a special occasion with an intimate group, you'll always feel right at home at the Prince. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.