We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and tough as a Bull” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Chop House - Grand Rapids

The Chop House - Grand Rapids
190 Monroe Ave NW, Ste 410, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2628
888-456-3463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chop House - Grand Rapids is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 802 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced and tough as a Bull”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Went to the Chop House last night. I ordered the veal chop, and the remaining 3 at the table ordered the Filet. The steak was very good, but small portions for comparable prices at well known steak houses. The veal chop came and it was tough as hide, and I couldn't even cut the meat from the bone. The sinew which formed most of the cut, fought my knife like a gallant bull and won the fight.

The total bill came to over 325 dollars without tip. Overpriced and overrated.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    19
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Smokey and average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Was there for a corporate dinner, approximately 20 people. Service from the entrance through leaving is excellent. Had the filet cooked medium. It was cooked well, but somewhat dry and not very flavorful. I'm not a foodie, but I would say it was under seasoned. I had much better a few weeks before at another steak house across the street. My dessert was great, as were the others at the table.

The biggest negative for me is the cigar smell. I noticed it right away walking in, and unfortunately the private group room we were in is downstairs where cigars are smoked in the open.

This is the place if you want overpriced, average food with great service and everyone to go home reeking of smoke.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Some Good, Some Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was there with a party of 7 for a business dinner. The evening stated off great with excellent wine selection and good appetizer recommendations from the server. I ordered the venison, and when entrees were served, the waiter told me that the kitchen had overcooked and ruined my venison. I watched my table mates enjoy their entrees for a few minutes until the server brought out my entree - raw. I took a couple of bites from the edges and told the waiter to take the plate. He sensed I wasn't happy and offered any other entree, on the house. Our waiter did an amazing job, but when you charge high prices, there can be no ""oopses."

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin . texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

dover sole and steak was divine. great atmosphere. desserts insanely good. impeccable service. two birthdays being celebrated on either side of us and they seemed to really go all out to make it special.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was an amazing meal with the best service! The Cowboy Steak was done to absolute perfection and you can't top the service from the entire staff. It was pricey but worth every penny.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chop House - Grand Rapids also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to The Chop House - Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chop House - Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.