We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finest in GR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chop House - Grand Rapids

The Chop House - Grand Rapids
190 Monroe Ave NW, Ste 410, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2628
888-456-3463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chop House - Grand Rapids is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 782 restaurants in Grand Rapids
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Caledonia, MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Finest in GR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Dined at Chop House for our 34th wedding anniversary and from the moment we were seated to the last sip of our "pom-tinis" we were treated like royalty. Both the hostess and our server, Kelli, greated us with a "Happy 34th". Our dinners were perfectly prepared and we can't say enough about our server Kelli - prompt, courteous, professional & genuinely pleasant. This is our favorite, replacing only The 1913 Room. Would highly recommend it

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    72
    15
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Birthday Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Call ahead and reserve your table notifying them that it is a birthday celebration - you will get 1/3 off for 3, 1/2 off for 2, etc the whole bill. Then enjoy family style side dishes enough to share with an amazing filet that almost does not even need a knife. If you are sensitive to smoking, the basement does have a cigar bar and some of the smell goes into the restaurant even though there is no smoking allowed in the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went to the Chop House on Saturday August 25th for my wife's 34th birthday. When I made the reservation through Open Table I listed that we were going to be there for my wife's birthday dinner. I was a little surprised that neither the hostess or server were aware that it was my wife's birthday. Also, our server never asked if we were celebrating anything special. The wait staff and hostess were a bit indifferent but my wife preferred that to the insincere fawning that sometimes happens.

The restaurant is set up in a long, narrow room with the only natural light coming from the window in the front. There is an 8 top table in the front of the restaurant and that would be the nicest place to eat if you have a large group. There is also another large table in a partly veiled off section of the restaurant with a somewhat garish chandelier. My wife called that the "Toddlers and Tiaras" section of the restaurant because it was really something more like a small child's dollhouse than a fine dining restaurant.The walls are covered with nice copies of famous paintings. The linens, plates and silverware (stainless steel but nice) are elegant. The bar is lined up to the side of the room and is just another bar. In summary, the Chop House is somewhat elegant but it's a little odd.

The strangest part of the meal is that the bread consisted of a few large sesame crackers and a few small pieces of not very good bread. We were there to feast and had no interest in bread but the stingy presentation was a bit offsetting.

The menu is on ipad type tablets. The appetizers are almost all seafood based. There is a nice selection of a half dozen salads. My wife had the wedge salad which she loved with the garlic buttermilk dressing. The portion was large and it was beautifully presented. I had the grilled hearts of romaine with bacon and roquefort with balsamic. This was top notch.

The wine list on the computer menu was extensive and easy to navigate. Wine mark up was about double the retail cost of most bottles. They didn't have their extensive scotch and whiskey offerings on the computer menu but had them available via their online menu. I had a glass of Oban which was a fairly generous portion.

The reason this restaurant gets a 5 star review is that it is a steakhouse and excels as such. There are nearly 15 different fine meat offerings on the entree portion of the menu including hard to find options like venison, beef wellington and a cowboy steak. I had the veal shank which was perfect. Very large chop, marvelously cooked - just a hint of charring. A magnificent dinner. It was also not insanely priced - $36.

I also had 3 shrimp with the veal. They were true jumbo shrimp, wonderfully grilled and a bargain for $9 for 3 of the best large shrimp I've ever eaten.

My wife had the petit filet which she loved. $32. Medium well was delivered perfectly and the cut was excellent.

We also had the wild mushroom and garlic smashed potato sides. Both were excellent.

The dinners were also quickly served and everything came out together and nice and hot. The restaurant has a server carry each item out together. The servers make a big deal about holding the entrees above the table and then lowering them at the same time. This was kind of silly but it did show that the Chop House knows that the entrees are the reason their restaurant shines.

The dessert offerings were all middle of the road, standard fare. We passed on dessert because there wasn't anything innovative or which seemed like a "must try." On the way out we asked the hostess if there was anywhere she would recommend for dessert. She said that the Reserve across the street might have some good options and it did.

2 salads, an $18 scotch, a veal chop with 3 shrimp, a petit filet, wild mushroom & mashed potatos came to $144 before tip. Not cheap but worth it for a special occassion and about $50 less than the same meal in Chicago.

My wife had a great birthday dinner and woke up the next day saying "Let's go back to the Chop House tonight." We'll be back for a special occassion.

There was another review on Trip Advisor that the Chop House doesn't enforce a dress code. This was true the night we were there. A 4 top sitting next to us consisted of 4 30 year old guys in shorts and short sleeve shirts. I am pretty laid back and hate getting dressed up on the weekend but could see how people out for a big night like a birthday, anniversary or business meeting would be frustrated by the anything goes lack of a dress code. We didn't care but for some more "old school" folks it could be disappointing.

We enjoyed our dinner greatly. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Whatever happened to elegance?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

I start by saying the food is excellent, but there are several really good steak houses in Grand Rapids. The service is average, but the restaurant was busy. My gripe is that we made reservations for a special occasion dinner. Dressed to the "nines"; suit, dress, heels etc. We were seated between a couple with flip-flops, cut-offs and tee shirts, complete with reverse ball caps and on the other side a couple, dressed similarly, one of whom smelled as though s/he hadn't bathed in a week. We commented to the host on leaving, who was very understanding and actually agreed, but admitted they didn't want to do,anything which would keep away business. Well, it's keeping us away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Food Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We loved everything about THE CHOP HOUSE, Service was excellent , presentation when food is brought to the table is superb.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chop House - Grand Rapids also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to The Chop House - Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chop House - Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.