We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5399 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We find this hotel a great place to use as a base for a family visit to Grand Rapids sites. You are within a 10 to 15 minute drive to attractions such as the Meijer Gardens and the John Ball Zoo. Monday through Thursday they have a Manager's Reception including a main dish, salad, and pop. Breakfast includes a nice selection of foods served on china. Fresh cookies and coffee/tea/hot chocolate are available around the clock. You are close to family style restaurants. There is a Meijer's 24 hour store next door which is handy for items you forget. The indoor pool and spa are well maintained and the pool is heated, making it comfortable for children. The staff are consistently friendly and helpful. We always feel they try hard to make your trip a comfortable experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    66
    21
    22
    14
See reviews for
74
43
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nice hotel. Rooms clean. Good breakfast - would have liked more options like individual yogurt cups and muffins and breakfast area was a bit small for seating. Very hard to find hotel in the dark. Access is through an adjacent shopping center parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I had never stayed at a Country Inn and Suites before and was pleasantly surprised. The room was large, comfortable and well appointed. My only complaint was the air conditioner was super cold and noisy. The pillows were only down pillows which were too flat and uncomfortable, I found myself wishing for a synthetic pillow. Our room had just been rennovated and had new carpeting, paint and bed covers. Our bathroom door hinge was rusted and didn't shut properly which we alerted the front desk to. There was an inside swimming pool which we did not use but the kids seemed to like it. The hotel is right behind a grocery store and on a main road with lots of shops and restaurants. The breakfast every morning was better than most places, with eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffles, bagels, pastries and oatmeal. There was even a fresh fruit salad that was yummy! The staff was pleasant and helpful. One complaint we had was we picked the hotel because it had a shuttle from the airport as we were not renting a car and our family wasn't there yet. Our flight came in late from Dallas and we didn't arrive until 1am. When we called the hotel, we were told that the shuttle driver had already gone home for the night. We had to take a taxi to the hotel for 13.00. They should have offered to take that off the cost of our room. But all in all it was a nice stay and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Room was not cleaned properly. Dirty cup on floor and stains on furniture. Hotel in general was a big mess. OVERPRICED!!! Hotel was under construction with plastic hanging everywhere. I felt ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We apologize for the renovations and condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. We hope you will return to see our improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Though the propety needs updates, the room was clean and the staff friendly. Little things like real dishes at breakfast are a nice touch. The food was good and well stocked. We have been traveling quite a bit recently and it was nice to have a clean room (which hasn't been the case at menu places we've stayed).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for just one night but we were very impressed. The staff was the stand out. They were so nice and went above and beyond to welcome us and tell us about the hotel. The hotel even offered free dinner. The room was very clean and comfortable. Good amenities for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were attending a figure skating competition at the Patterson Road Arena, and traveling with our dog. This hotel met all of our needs - close to the arena, pet-friendly, plus great staff, excellent breakfast, and close to Meijer store. Front desk staff was very responsive to our needs. Nice grass areas to walk the dog. Better than average breakfast including real plates and silverware.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport

Address: 5399 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, MI hotel and enjoy convenient amenities, unrivaled customer service and an ideal location. Our hotel features free Wi-Fi, premium cable on flat-screen TVs, indoor pool and all you need to feel right at home. We are located just minutes from Gerald R. Ford International Airport as well as a great variety of museums and top shopping opportunities. Book your reservations at Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other Grand Rapids hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Mi
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn
Country Inn And Suites Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.