We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5399 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #25 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Grand Blanc MI
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great stay again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We traveled to the area because we were going to an event in Grandville and even though there were hotels closer, our past experience here made us choose to return. Our room was very clean and quiet even though it was above the front entrance area. We slept in and did not go to breakfast which was special because usually I wake up because I hear door slamming when I stay away from home. We will return when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your response! I'm glad to hear that you decided to stay with us again! We always love seeing returning guests and look forward to your next stay with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    39
    9
    12
    9
See reviews for
40
23
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This review is mixed between good and bad. I gave it an Average review due to certain standards I deem important BUT it could have been Very Good and maybe even an Excellent if certain issues are addresed.

The good: Location in Grand Rapids is tucked away but still close enough to everything you could ask for. Breakfast is your usual Country Inn spread so still good. The offer a complimentary food reception at night, the two nights I was there was pasta with meat balls with salad and dinner rolls and then a make your own deli sandwich with chips, both nights also had soda for drinks. The cookies are alwasy fresh as well. I did not use the pool or fitness faclility this time around but saw it would fit my needs. The patio was with two large tables and comfortable chairs was a nice touch as well. The staff is very friendly.

The bad: My room was a handicap room, bathroom had a shower stall for a wheelchair to go into and the shower head leaked and was spraying out of the connector. The room itself was old and worn. The bed sheets had some holes in it and the carpet and walls were in need of repair. The bed was semi comfortable but the feel of the outdated room made it seem uncomfortable. Outlets in the room were minimal so trying to iron anything was difficult. The road to the hotel is in need of major repair. It is in back of a shopping center so the road leading to the hotel was full of large pot holes making it difficult to make an approach without having to bust up my car.

I would not have paid full price for this hotel but Priceline gave me a great deal. I usually stay in Grand Rapids and this is the first time at this hotel and probably the last unless the other rooms are better than the one I had or there are major renovations to rooms and roads.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your response!
I'm glad that you were able to take advantage and enjoyed the extra amenities that we have to offer. Our guests always enjoy the Manager's Reception that we run Monday-Thursday, as it offers that option to stay in and have supper.
We have been working to update our rooms, but as we've been so busy all summer we could only get to a few at a time. We have repainted a majority of the rooms and are replacing all the worn out sheets. We also recently had our parking lot and the entrance road refinished, which is so much easier to drive on and looks nicer too.
We do hope the next time you are in Grand Rapids you will stop in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very nice hotel, clean and tidy. Check in was easy, check out was easy. Room was dated, fold up bed was dirty and had blood stains on the mattress, I looked for bed bug signs but did not see any, good thing. King bed was not very comfortable, no outlets to plug in your lap top or cell phones to charge, we had to plug them in in the bathroom, the only outlet by the desk did not work. Thought it might have been on a light switch but it was not. The two big screen T.V's were a very nice touch, but the acoustics in the room made it hard to hear the T.V with out it being loud. Very hard to control the temp in that room, no happy medium. The bathroom was clean at a fast look, but looking closely you can see the counter top for the sink needs to be replaced because it is coming down, no matter how much caulk you put on something, soon enough that band aid needs to be replaced. In the corner of the ceiling in the bathroom you can see where they just painted over the mildew. We were on the 3rd floor, good thing, the window would not lock and the screen was damaged, for it not for the cold weather this weekend we would have wanted the window open, but we would have been unable to because the gap in the screen small birds could have flown in, ( I understand the likely hood of that happening is slim, just giving you and idea of the gap ). They had popcorn in the lobby on the weekends, Kids loved it. Sunday morning breakfast was good, the guy setting it up and replacing the food as it went on was AWESOME, Food selection could have been better, but it was hot a fresh. The pool area was clean and tidy. When people were not in the pool and the water was still, it look like something was floating on the water, like a film. The outside of the hotel looks good, just be very careful driving to it. The road to get to the hotel is littered with car damaging potholes, do not try to drive it at night. Finding the hotel could be easier from the main street as well. For the money I spent, the stay was not worth it.

Room Tip: Sunday breakfast was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review. We certainly apologize for failing to meet and exceed your expectations during your recent stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. Your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lansing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stay at this hotel whenever we are in Grand Rapids.The staff and manager are so pleasant..feels like home!! my parents also love this hotel and stay when they are visiting..the porch is nice and pool and hot tub clean..close to shopping too!! the service is THE BEST!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinngrmi, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear redhead5876,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to see that you, as well as your parents, enjoy your stays at our location. I will personally let the entire staff know to keep up the great work!

Have a great day!

Crissy M.
Front Desk Manager
616-977-0909
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed two nights with a group of rooms for a team event. Everything was excellent we even used the breakfast room in the evening to get together. Great staff, nice place. The typical hotel noises were not noticable. We were not bothered by the heating./air conditioner unitor hallway noises, it was very quiet. Enjoyed a good night of rest.
Cookies, popcorn, and complimentary breakfast was ideal for our group. The location was close to our events and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinngrmi, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Julka12,

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Country Inn & Suites, and that you utilized our complimentary offerings! We hope to see you, and the team again in the near future!

Have a great day!

Crissy M.
Front Desk Manager
616-977-0909
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Myself and 6 other guest book this hotel 2 times a year for out "girls" weekend scrap booking. We love it and have been coming to this hotel for about 4 years now, great staff, great housekeeping, LOVE the free breakfast. and the cookies and popcorn. LOVE this place

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinngrmi, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Tracy P,

Thank you so much for writings such a nice review about our hotel! We always enjoy your company and can not wait until you ladies stay with us again.

Have a great day,

Crissy M.
Front Office Manager
616-977-0909
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent the night with our 3 kids in a King Suite visiting GR for a funeral. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were great, and the room was clean. Breakfast was also the standard, similar to a Hampton Inn or Homewood Suites. Having the free breakfast is always a perk with a family of five. It had everything we are looking for in a one night stay, and I would stay here again. Our room did seem dated and a few of the outlets didn't work. I told them at checkout and they said they would address. All in all, a good stay and we would stay at a Country Inn and Suites again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinngrmi, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Boilerchris,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write our establishment a thoughtful review. We just recently have renovated all of our guest rooms, so during your next visit keep that in mind! We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you took advantage of our complimentary breakfast!

Thank you so much!

Sincerely,

Crissy M.
Front Desk Manager
Country Inn and Suites
1-616-977-0909
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids

Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Hotel
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Mi
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn
Country Inn And Suites Grand Rapids
Address: 5399 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, MI hotel and enjoy convenient amenities, unrivaled customer service and an ideal location. Our hotel features free Wi-Fi, premium cable on flat-screen TVs, indoor pool and all you need to feel right at home. We are located just minutes from Gerald R. Ford International Airport as well as a great variety of museums and top shopping opportunities. Book your reservations at Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other Grand Rapids hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.