We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Country Inn Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5399 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Country Inn Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I normally will go out of my way to avoid a Country Inn and Suites, but every thing was sold out and I took a chance. The place was built in 2007 and is fairly new and fresh. It is located near the airport, but far enough away that you do not hear the airplanes at night. I had a king room. Everything was clean and well maintained. Service at the front desk was quick and efficient. The air conditioning was quiet and worked well. Overall it was a restful night...bed was comfortable and the bedding was in great condition. Bathroom was large and clean. My only complaint...the hot section of the breakfast was disappointing. Suggest you go with the cereal and fruit. They have a shuttle to the airport and the hotel is located near a great super market....5 minute walk. This hotel is recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor that faces the back. These rooms face the trees and remain dark w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinngrmi, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Rory,

I am so glad that you took a chance on us and that we were able to make you feel better about Country Inn's! Your kind words mean a great deal to us as we strive every day to make everyone feel welcome and happy! I hope you will come visit us again soon!

Amanda P.
Assistant General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    55
    16
    20
    10
See reviews for
61
36
11
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michgian
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We usually write a great review about this little gem. It's not a four or five star, but usually a counted on "steady three star" stay,clean and very friendly staff. Stayed Sept 22 & 23rd while visiting Art Prize.

Our room - carpet stained, dust ruffles not set on the beds properly which just made the room look sloppy, and the cloth shower curtain rod drooped so that the curtain wouldn't stay closed, therefore, water pooled on the floor.

Breakfast - something should be done regarding occupancy and anticipated breakfast participants. Only one server just couldn't keep up with the demand, and please, get rid of the re-constituted scrambled eggs. Hire someone else to help out with the food prep on those busy weekend.

Entry - Michigan finally passed "no smoking" rules, but the trash receptacle at the front door/entry was still the old style that used to have sand at the top for smokers to extinguish their butts on the way in. Well, guess what, you can't change "old smokers and ask them to be considerate of others." They are still using the ashtray, and the law now state you must have the smoking area away from the entrance by 20 feet! Smokers were gathered around and everyone who wanted to access the lobby had to walk through the smoke. Not good, actually terrible health risk for asthmatics.

Staff - Always pleasant..... Always......

Come on folks, change it up!!!!! We won't be back until things change.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinngrmi, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel.

We are currently working on relocating the smoking area and we appreciate you bringing to our attention your concerns with the issue.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. I'm so glad to hear you enjoy our staff so much.

If you would like to further discuss the issues you experienced during your stay please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Katelin Parmelee
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
cx_grmi@countryinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Even though its not brand new, this hotel still seems so! the breakfast was a step above the normal fare.. and the staff was nice and helpful. We found the beds to be very comfortable!

Its a bit tricky to find the road leading to the hotel. work your way into the parking lot of the nearby shopping area then notice the access road in the near corner. EUREKA!! you've made it!

RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: ask for a first floor room near the side exit for quick access to your vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinngrmi, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to see that you've noticed all the hard work we put into keeping our hotel clean and "fresh!" We love welcoming out guest into their home away from home with aromatic smells of the seasons!
I'm sorry to hear you had difficulty finding us at first! we are trying out best to rectify the situation as soon as we can!

Thank you so much for visiting and we hope to hear from you soon

Amanda
Assistant General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanna City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Upon arrival Katelyn greeted us warmly, had warm cookies available, and offered us a piece of cheesecake. She made a huge effort to find us the most affordable rate possible. Like most Country Inn properties, this one is located in the center of a busy metropolitan area. But you can always count on this franchise to offer clean, comfortable, well-maintained accomodations and this location does NOT disappoint. Also, nice personal touches like the real plant on the bathroom counter, patio tables located outside and a stocked lending library. After traveling for hours, this was a nice, "home away from home."

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here overnight while transiting through to Kalamazoo from Grand Rapids Airport. The hotel is fairly close to the airport, and is right next to a big mall with lots of stores, etc. Therefore, location-wise, this hotel is decent, though I wouldn't want to stay here for extended periods, since it is concrete and tarmac all around.

The rooms were clean, and internet speeds were decent. Breakfast was acceptable for a hotel is this price / facility range.

Overall, about what I expected - nothing spectacular, but nothing bad either; just a generic hotel convenient for overnighters, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Sorry, but I was compelled to write this after coming back from a business trip. Apparently there are two Country Inns in the area, this is not the good one. You could get a flat tire manuvering the parking lot potholes. I suspect the only reason they serve "dinner", and I use that term loosely, is because they run some kind of assisted living program there. They gave me a handicapped room, the ironing board on the wall, no closet door. The air conditioner thermostat didn't work. Someone was complaining about a smell from their bathroom, as was told "that's normal", hummm. Guess he's an expert cuz he's worked there for three years, according to the desk. Their "Business office" is an antiquated desktop in the lobby in need of major maintainance with a crappy printer. PLEASE don't call this a business center!
Do yourself a favor and stay at the other one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinngrmi, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We always like to hear feedback, good or bad, in order to improve ourselves for future guests.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the staff attitude towards room’s issues with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. I am also sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the light meal we offer in the evenings. We offer it as a small extra amenity for our guests and make the menu off of feedback we receive. Every menu item we offer is based on guest requests and feedback we have gotten in the past.

Again, I apologize that you were unhappy with your stay. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that we can exceed future guests expectations.


Sincerely,

Tara Groustra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

No complaints other than for some reason our fitted sheet popped off in the middle of the night...very unusual (and we know what you're thinking...it wasn't that!). Place is a little tricky to get to. Address is 28th street but it's actually on access road that goes around Meijers.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids

Address: 5399 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, MI hotel and enjoy convenient amenities, unrivaled customer service and an ideal location. Our hotel features free Wi-Fi, premium cable on flat-screen TVs, indoor pool and all you need to feel right at home. We are located just minutes from Gerald R. Ford International Airport as well as a great variety of museums and top shopping opportunities. Book your reservations at Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other Grand Rapids hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Mi
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn
Country Inn And Suites Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.