We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for short stays, convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5399 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #21 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Reasonable for short stays, convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here overnight while transiting through to Kalamazoo from Grand Rapids Airport. The hotel is fairly close to the airport, and is right next to a big mall with lots of stores, etc. Therefore, location-wise, this hotel is decent, though I wouldn't want to stay here for extended periods, since it is concrete and tarmac all around.

The rooms were clean, and internet speeds were decent. Breakfast was acceptable for a hotel is this price / facility range.

Overall, about what I expected - nothing spectacular, but nothing bad either; just a generic hotel convenient for overnighters, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    43
    11
    12
    10
See reviews for
46
27
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Sorry, but I was compelled to write this after coming back from a business trip. Apparently there are two Country Inns in the area, this is not the good one. You could get a flat tire manuvering the parking lot potholes. I suspect the only reason they serve "dinner", and I use that term loosely, is because they run some kind of assisted living program there. They gave me a handicapped room, the ironing board on the wall, no closet door. The air conditioner thermostat didn't work. Someone was complaining about a smell from their bathroom, as was told "that's normal", hummm. Guess he's an expert cuz he's worked there for three years, according to the desk. Their "Business office" is an antiquated desktop in the lobby in need of major maintainance with a crappy printer. PLEASE don't call this a business center!
Do yourself a favor and stay at the other one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinngrmi, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We always like to hear feedback, good or bad, in order to improve ourselves for future guests.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the staff attitude towards room’s issues with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. I am also sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the light meal we offer in the evenings. We offer it as a small extra amenity for our guests and make the menu off of feedback we receive. Every menu item we offer is based on guest requests and feedback we have gotten in the past.

Again, I apologize that you were unhappy with your stay. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that we can exceed future guests expectations.


Sincerely,

Tara Groustra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

No complaints other than for some reason our fitted sheet popped off in the middle of the night...very unusual (and we know what you're thinking...it wasn't that!). Place is a little tricky to get to. Address is 28th street but it's actually on access road that goes around Meijers.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night in July. It was very difficult to find. We had to stop at several different businesses, including a different hotel to get directions. The hotel is tucked away beside the off ramp, next to the Mejers store. There is a very small sign, that is hard to see. If you stay at this hotel turn into the Mejers parking lot, and turn left. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable, and the staff are friendly and helpful. Considering the proximity to the road, the hotel and rooms are very quiet. Now that we know how to get to the hotel, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel are quieter, although all are okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here during a mini weekend vacation to Holland and Saugatuck. Front desk staff was friendly, and check in was very quick. The room was very large with a king bed and in room whirlpool. The bathroom and room was spotless with updated ammenities. Pool area looked very nice as well, although not utilized during the stay. King bed was very comfortable, and whole hotel had cozy feeling. The only complaint I have is that the hotel was a little hard to find as it shares parking lot with large retailer.

Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Whirlpool rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here prior to our flight into NY and the staff was very helpful. We were intending to park at the airport for ease of luggage transport, but the desk clerk told us that they had a shuttle to the airport and that we could park our car there at the hotel since we had reservations to stay there the night we returned from NY. This was beyond anything we could have expected. Very pleased with this stay.

When we got back from NY, we had a very late flight (arriving at 12:22 am!) so had arranged for late check in. Despite how late it was, they still had shuttle service available when we landed. The pool and hot tub were in great condition and very welcome after traveling (we cheated, we were actually in the pool after it was closed for the night, but we were told that as long as we were not loud and no one else complained, they would let us get away with it to unkink after our flights).

It is a little hard to find, in the parking lot by the Meijer's. The sign at the street entrance shows it, but it can be a little confusing as there is another hotel listed above it on the sign and it is easy to miss the Country Inn logo.

We definitely will stay here again if we travel out of Grand Rapids Airport and we recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I would have been thrilled with this hotel if they didn't give me such high expectations at check in.

We were told at check in there was a light dinner being served from 5-7. Checking it out it was a pasta dish, salad, garlic bread, chips, and pop. We tried a bit of everything, it was good, so we decided to not go out to dinner. When we came back at 6:45 to get some dinner, they had already put away all the dinner things! Definitely a disappointment.

At this brand of hotels, there's always supposed to be cookies at the front desk. The whole night we could not get cookies. We finally asked them to put some in, they said to come back in 20 minutes. It actually took over 40 minutes, and when the other members of our group went down 10 minutes later, they were out again! Then of course in the morning when we checked out a 9 AM there 30+ cookies.

Breakfast was disgusting. I've never actually wanted to spit out food at a hotel breakfast before. They really advertise their breakfast as good, so it was really disappointing. We left to get breakfast anywhere else.

The room was of good quality: great mattresses, clean, and very nicely updated.

All in all it was okay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids

Address: 5399 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, MI hotel and enjoy convenient amenities, unrivaled customer service and an ideal location. Our hotel features free Wi-Fi, premium cable on flat-screen TVs, indoor pool and all you need to feel right at home. We are located just minutes from Gerald R. Ford International Airport as well as a great variety of museums and top shopping opportunities. Book your reservations at Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other Grand Rapids hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Mi
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn
Country Inn And Suites Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.