We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn, Superb Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peaches Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peaches Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Peaches Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
29 Gay Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Grand Rapids B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Hudsonville, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn, Superb Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My work colleague and I stayed at the Peaches Bed and Breakfast while attending a conference in downtown Grand Rapids. The Inn was a beautiful, peaceful getaway after a hectic day at our conference. The house is beautifully decorated in a historic neighborhood that is very quiet, but close to downtown attractions. Our room was very comfortable, and the two course breakfast was outstanding. The room (and house) was decorated beautifully and was very spacious. The hosts are very friendly and their dogs are well behaved and adorable. We will be back next year and will bring some business colleagues with us!

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue room - it had a queen bed, a sitting area and huge bathtub in the bathroom.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Inn encourages recycling, which I appreciated very much.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
21
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our first time at Peaches Bed and Breakfast. My wife and I were attempting to have an all Grand Rapids evening with a local dinner, a show a the Civic Theater and then an overnight at Peaches. The hope was to walk to each event. However, I did not bring the weatherman into the plans and Grand Rapids was blanketed in snow. That changed our plans somewhat but didn't lessen our enjoyment with the Peaches.
We were the only guests this night except for a new Dalmatian puppy which joined the two existing dogs at the inn. A cute puppy that was named Dervish. That should say something as to his energy level. He wanted to make his presence known at Breakfast but the hosts were already working on training him to stay out of the dining room. Speaking of Breakfast, It appears from reading other reviews that this has been a point of contention. We enjoyed the breakfast which started with a peach baskets (very tasty), then went to an egg "Frittata" and toast. It was plenty filling. Also served with juice (orange and cranberry).
We stayed in the Green Room which was large and comfortable. The bathroom was also large with what appeared to be date appropriate fixtures. The room had a nice fireplace which we made use of on this cold night.
The building was very nice and clean. The price was good. We don't often have a demand for a B&B in Grand Rapids but if we did we would return here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have stayed here twice and loved both times. It is close to downtown, yet feels like you are in a neighborhood. Allows for convenience to many locations and peaceful escape from everything afterwards.. just like home. Rooms were perfectly clean, beds comfortable, and breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at Peaches for their brew weekend package. It was fantastic! I've never done anything like it. The bed and breakfast itself was lovely. It is very well maintained (I love old houses!). Our room was clean, comfortable, and well decorated. We had a blast and learned so much. We learned what goes into making beer, shopped for the ingredients, attended lessons at the B&B on how to make our own brew, toured local breweries and were able to do tastings and talk with brewmasters. How fun! But the best part was the beer pairing dinner at Peaches. The chef and beer expert they brought in was a great presenter and I learned so much, plus the food and beer were excellent. A great present for the hubs. I don't know how often they offer this package but I'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were in room #1 which has a nice view of the yard/garden as well as a nice, firm bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We needed to get away from our demanding schedule at least for a day and a night. With an early afternoon appointment in GR, we decided to stay over night at Peaches Bed and Breakfast. It was a wonderful quiet stay and was in walking distance of East Grand Rapids restaurants as well as downtown GR. The next day we took in the Gerald Ford presidential museum. We highly recommend Peaches. Make sure you play a round of pool in the basement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Peaches Bed and Breakfast very much. Our room was spacious and bright with natural light. It's a convenient walk to downtown. Jane was very helpful and gave us some excellent suggestions for places to eat in Grand Rapids. We would definitely come back again.

Green Features: It's a very environmentally friendly place. It was so nice seeing sheets hanging outside to dry!
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane L, Owner at Peaches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us...and for your amiable review. We hope you can visit Grand Rapids again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our first visit to Grand Rapids coincided with ArtPrize - though that's not why we came - and we couldn't have been happier with our decision to stay at Peaches. Location was amazing - we walked to downtown, most of the art and fantastic breweries (Peaches is perfectly located just about 1 mile from Bar Vivant, Founder's and the Grand Rapids Brewing Company - all worth a visit!). Our room was quiet, peaceful and comfortable and had everything we needed - an incredible value based on price alone when compared to the downtown hotels and especially when one considers the amenities and benfits of a stay at Peaches. Wireless internet included (yay!) as well as a delicious breakfast and a coffee maker in each room. Two friendly (but not intrusive) dalmatians are available for any petting / love you may want to give them and breakfast seating is at a shared table in the dining room. There aren't tvs in the bedroom (though I think you can request one if you feel you need one) - if you want to keep to yourself, I imagine it's possible, but the vibe of the place favors those who welcome or at least don't mind conversation and interactions with other guests. There's a shared tv lounge / pool room / bar area downstairs where we hung out for a bit with the owners and other guests for a night cap on our second evening. There are some basic free weights in a room off the lower level available for guest use, too - not a full-on gym, of course, but a welcome amenity you might not expect at a B&B. We read other TripAdvisor reviews before our stay and had a few thoughts: given our personal values, we especially appreciated Peaches' green ethos - if you really needed a new towel/ sheet set up every day, you could request it, but we didn't. If you want to know more about the house and its history, I suppose you could ask for a tour - we didn't but with the website as our guide, we explored on our own and felt right at home. We also read a few reviews that suggest there wasn't enough food for breakfast but that wasn't our experience. It's not an all you-can-eat buffet, but we thought portions (served communally) were perfect, and since my husband had just run a 15-mile Iron Warrior race, that's saying something. All in all, we're very happy with our stay, would stay here again, and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were beautiful - ours had full carpeting; others had hardwood floors with rugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane L, Owner at Peaches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We're glad you had a great stay at Peaches and hope to see you again. Thanks for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peaches Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaches Bed and Breakfast

Address: 29 Gay Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Rapids
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaches is an elegant Georgian-style home located in Heritage Hill, downtown. Guests will find beautiful, bright, uncluttered rooms, gourmet breakfast, luxurious amenities, spectacular gardens and memorable hospitality. Business travelers and tourists who are weary and frustrated with routine accommodations are our first priority. Each room has a desk, phone, and free wi-fi. Enjoy Peaches’ game room with pool table, video library, exercise facilities or walk into the heart of Grand Rapids for great dining and activities. The Van Andel arena, convention facilities, and a variety of wonderful restaurants are within walking distance. A full gourmet breakfast is served in the dining room each morning. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peaches Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.