We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the Outside Fool You” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5131 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Don't let the Outside Fool You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had stayed at this property previously prior to the rennovations and found it to be very clean. The outside looks the same, but all of the rooms have been rennovated. It is like staying at a brand new property.The front desk clerks were very friendly at checkin and checkout. The bed and pillows were both comfortable. The internet connection worked well. Both the sink and shower drained well. The air conditioning unit was not overly noisey. You cannot beat the price. There is only coffee and a newspaper in the morning, but there are plenty of fast food or sit down restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Etzella,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property! What I appreciate most about this review is that it provides us with an opportunity to better describe the work that has gone into this facility since our purchase of the property last November.

Our entire team has worked tirelessly to revamp numerous aspects of our guests experience and it is such a delight to hear that our guests are noticing these fabulous changes! I agree with you; “Don’t let the outside fool you,” haha! Although we have just finished painting the exterior of the building, from outside we still appear as another run of the mill motel/inn. Despite this, we hope more guests like you give us a chance to show them how far their dollar can go!

Best Regards,

Ami Tricomo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    33
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
14
14
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I booked the Red Roof Inn knowing that it'd be cheap with just a place to lay my head this labor day weekend when i went to muskegon and ludington, Michigan. All the hotels in those areas were quite expensive as i booked last minute. I came upon this hotel for a great price figuring it'd be nothing special but probably fairly clean. I was pleasantly surprised when i opened the door to find a really nice bathroom, very clean rooms, and a flat screen tv. Definitely worth the money if you are looking for a place to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear justinbbfc,

Thank you for reviewing our property! I am delighted to hear that we were successful in our aim to exceed your expectations in regards to the cleanliness and appearance of the room as well as provide you, our guest, with a value unmatched by our competitors. We truly appreciate your encouraging review and hope to welcome you back next time you are in the area!

Best Regards,

Ami Tricomo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was my second experience at a Red Roof Inn. They must be doing something right. From the looks of the outside of this property it is a conventional 50's or 60's era motel -- but the rooms have been refreshed and provide comfortable efficient accommodations. The fabrics were new. The lighting was excellent. The flat screen TV was new. The bathroom fixtures were modern and attractive. The desk area was cleverly appointed.

I was picked up at the airport, welcomed by name at the desk, and picked up at 4:45 AM by a friendly driver -- who as early.

A great value. 5 minutes from GRI.

Room Tip: One note -- I could have left for the airport a half hour earlier and still had time to space. Leavi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you for your fantastic and very encouraging review! Here at Red Roof Inn we pride ourselves on delivering a hassle-free hotel experience complete with clean, comfortable rooms and friendly service at an amazing value without having to pass on the usual strain on our guests’ wallets. I am delighted to hear that we were successful in providing you with the experience we aim to deliver to all of our wonderful guests. We know that you have a choice in accommodations in the area and thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn.

Best Regards,

Ami Tricomo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Two buildings, two floors, outside entrances. Check in took just a minute. Lobby has hot drinks and an ice machine. No breakfast. Our room had been recently remodeled. Modern decor, two double beds, dark wood finishes, desk with chair, chest of drawers with flat screen TV, fridge and microwave. One sink in the room. Small bathroom with tub and toilet. No lid on toilet, just seat. Almost lost items there twice. Beds were fine, nothing special but comfortable. Two pillows on each bed. There were only two sets of towels so we had to asks for two more as there were four in our party. End table and one sitting chair. Room was very clean with laminate flooring in the walking area and bathroom, and carpet just inside the door and around the beds. AC worked fine. Wireless seemed to be a little slow, but then sped up. LOTS of electrical outlets. Four on the front of the night stand and two on the lights over the night stand, two more on the desk top. No iron, ironing board, closet (there was a hanging rack) or in room coffee maker. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear youthtripplanner,

Thank you for your very detailed review of our property! We are excited to present our NEWLY RENOVATED inn complete with the essential amenities we know our guests are looking for. We are delighted to see that you appreciated seeing the additional outlets throughout the room which we’ve added for our guests’ convenience. Thanks again for sharing your review with fellow Tripadvisor travelers and we hope to welcome you back for any occasion that brings you to the area.

Warmest Regards,

Ami Tricomo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a no-frills place, but we definitely got our money's worth.

The front staff was friendly and helpful. There was lots of hot water available to make some tea, which was appreciated after a long day of driving. There was also hot water and coffee available in morning (I think there was coffee at night, but can't say for certain).

The room had been recently renovated. All the carpeting was gone and the floor was laminate. What a fantastic idea. All hotels should do this. The room was clean. The beds were comfy as were the pillows.

If you're travelling through this part of Michigan, it is definitely a recommended place to spend the night. We would stay again, if we are passing through Grand Rapids again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear ScreechedIn,

Thank you for your fantastic compliments to our Inn and team! We are very proud to present our newly renovated rooms and are delighted to hear that our guests are noticing these changes! As mentioned in your review, we do provide coffee and tea in our lobby 24 hours a day. Our staff is always available, day or night, to serve your needs as well. Just a quick call to the front desk and we will be happy to assist you!

Thanks again for sharing your review with fellow Tripadvisor travelers and we will look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town!

Best Regards,

Ami Tricomo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This motel looked like it was undergoing an exterior renovation, so it didn't have that 'curb appeal' that you might expect. The room however, was updated, clean and comfortable! Staff was friendly as well. There didn't seem to be a breakfast offered, but for the price I won't complain! I would gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Michel,

Thank you for your wonderful review!

As you mention, we are just finishing up our full renovation and are completing the last bits of exterior painting this week! We are very proud to present our NEWLY RENOVATED facility; and just in time for your end of summer travel plans! Thank you for choosing our facility, the Red Roof Inn #011 Grand Rapids, as your choice of accommodations in the area. We’d like to say that this has taken a tremendous effort but, with guests like you, we can hardly call it “work” at all! Thank you again for sharing your review and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town!

Best Regards,

Ami Tricomo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stopped here late at night, hoping there would be an available room. The front desk clerk was very friendly and efficient, and the price was inexpensive. The room was clean and comfortable. Unlike the flat pillows a lot of hotels seem to offer, the pillows here were fluffy and comfortable. The beds were lower to the floor than many hotel beds, but they were comfortable enough. There was a nice desk area with a comfortable chair, and a flat screen t.v. The bathroom was small, but the sink area (which was located outside the bathroom) was attractive and clearly had been updated recently. I was disappointed that we didn't get many towels--just two large towels, two hand towels, and two washcloths. I know hotels are trying to be more "green," though, so we made due, but for a room with two queen beds, I'm used to getting more towels. For the price, and due to its convenient location right off of I-96, this is a good, no frills place to stay. The management clearly makes the effort to ensure that it looks nice, both inside and outside. There were pretty flowers right out front, and there was plenty of lighting in the parking lot so we felt safe, even with our late night arrival.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Skye9988,

Thank you for your very encouraging review! I greatly appreciate your compliments to our team and facility and will be delighted to pass your comments across for the rest of my team to enjoy.

As you mentioned in your review, we are not able to provide our guests with a continental breakfast, pool or fitness center. But, we are proud to provide clean, safe and comfortable rooms in a convenient location at an INCREDIBLE VALUE to all of our guests without having to translate the cost of these additional amenities to our guests. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our facility and thank you again for sharing your review with tripadvisor travelers!

Best Regards,
Ami Tricomo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Address: 5131 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.