We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to crash” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5131 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to crash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a no-frills place, but we definitely got our money's worth.

The front staff was friendly and helpful. There was lots of hot water available to make some tea, which was appreciated after a long day of driving. There was also hot water and coffee available in morning (I think there was coffee at night, but can't say for certain).

The room had been recently renovated. All the carpeting was gone and the floor was laminate. What a fantastic idea. All hotels should do this. The room was clean. The beds were comfy as were the pillows.

If you're travelling through this part of Michigan, it is definitely a recommended place to spend the night. We would stay again, if we are passing through Grand Rapids again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear ScreechedIn,

Thank you for your fantastic compliments to our Inn and team! We are very proud to present our newly renovated rooms and are delighted to hear that our guests are noticing these changes! As mentioned in your review, we do provide coffee and tea in our lobby 24 hours a day. Our staff is always available, day or night, to serve your needs as well. Just a quick call to the front desk and we will be happy to assist you!

Thanks again for sharing your review with fellow Tripadvisor travelers and we will look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town!

Best Regards,

Ami Tricomo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    34
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
15
14
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This motel looked like it was undergoing an exterior renovation, so it didn't have that 'curb appeal' that you might expect. The room however, was updated, clean and comfortable! Staff was friendly as well. There didn't seem to be a breakfast offered, but for the price I won't complain! I would gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Michel,

Thank you for your wonderful review!

As you mention, we are just finishing up our full renovation and are completing the last bits of exterior painting this week! We are very proud to present our NEWLY RENOVATED facility; and just in time for your end of summer travel plans! Thank you for choosing our facility, the Red Roof Inn #011 Grand Rapids, as your choice of accommodations in the area. We’d like to say that this has taken a tremendous effort but, with guests like you, we can hardly call it “work” at all! Thank you again for sharing your review and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town!

Best Regards,

Ami Tricomo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stopped here late at night, hoping there would be an available room. The front desk clerk was very friendly and efficient, and the price was inexpensive. The room was clean and comfortable. Unlike the flat pillows a lot of hotels seem to offer, the pillows here were fluffy and comfortable. The beds were lower to the floor than many hotel beds, but they were comfortable enough. There was a nice desk area with a comfortable chair, and a flat screen t.v. The bathroom was small, but the sink area (which was located outside the bathroom) was attractive and clearly had been updated recently. I was disappointed that we didn't get many towels--just two large towels, two hand towels, and two washcloths. I know hotels are trying to be more "green," though, so we made due, but for a room with two queen beds, I'm used to getting more towels. For the price, and due to its convenient location right off of I-96, this is a good, no frills place to stay. The management clearly makes the effort to ensure that it looks nice, both inside and outside. There were pretty flowers right out front, and there was plenty of lighting in the parking lot so we felt safe, even with our late night arrival.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Skye9988,

Thank you for your very encouraging review! I greatly appreciate your compliments to our team and facility and will be delighted to pass your comments across for the rest of my team to enjoy.

As you mentioned in your review, we are not able to provide our guests with a continental breakfast, pool or fitness center. But, we are proud to provide clean, safe and comfortable rooms in a convenient location at an INCREDIBLE VALUE to all of our guests without having to translate the cost of these additional amenities to our guests. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our facility and thank you again for sharing your review with tripadvisor travelers!

Best Regards,
Ami Tricomo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I arrived in Grand Rapids about 2 in the morning and spotted the inn from the interstate. The front desk staff woman was very friendly, cheerful and efficient. The room was excellent - floors were wood or click laminate which I prefer over carpet. I had a lovely bath and slept really well - enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful compliments to our newly renovated rooms and team! We are pleased to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy a worry-free stay with us here at the Red Roof Inn in Grand Rapids. We recognize that you have many choices in accommodations and are delighted that you chose to stay with us! We hope to welcome you back next time you are in town.

Best Regards,

Ami Tricomo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I loved that the carpet had been removed!!! All hotels should do this....much better on the allergies! The room was very nice and updated. We found the staff to be very friendly and had no problems with
noise or disturbances. Mattress was kind of old but it was comfy enough and very clean!!!! Will stay here again!!! We give it 5 stars!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Kim,

Thank you for your excellent review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our NEW simulated wood flooring. We’ve received great responses from our guest and have found numerous benefits to this type of flooring as opposed to carpet.
Thank you again for sharing your review with fellow travelers and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area!
Best Regards,

Ami Tricomo
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my husband for one night at the Red Roof in May for a show at the Intersection (which was amazing). We were lucky enough to stay in one of their newly renovated rooms and it was definitely worth it. All the furniture was new, the style was very modern and up to date. We had a microwave, a mini-fridge, and a large screen TV for no extra charge.
The only downside to the room was small unfinished details, like the trim by the bathtub and small paint smudges. There was an odd smell, more then likely due to the recent work to the room.
Overall I was pleased with our stay, and if in the area, would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Rosayuen,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here in Grand Rapids! We appreciate your kind comments regarding the numerous updates to our facility and thank you for sharing your review with fellow Tripadvisor travelers.
All of our rooms have been NEWLY RENOVATED and we are very excited to say that all of our guest rooms now come standard with a microwave, mini-fridge, and flat screen LCD TV!
Here at Red Roof we believe as many of our guests do; in simplicity and economy without giving up quality. We strive to provide rooms that are clean, comfortable and most of all inexpensive. I’m very pleased to hear that you found our inn to be of great value.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area!
Best Regards,

Ami Tricomo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Deliberate refusal to service room on my last stay in May, 2013. My stay was 3 days. I had pick up towels and let the old towels pile up in bath tub. waste Baskets and beds were not service even though front desk said service people were contacted. Shows that giving a bad review is going to cause management to be vindictive. I will no longer stay there. No accountability due to being owned and subsidized by Federal reserve.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Donald,

I was sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel was less than a positive one. We want you to know that we have made commitments to raise our standards and levels of service and hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the service and accommodations that you deserve. Since June 2013 we have been under new management and are continually working to improve our services to our guests. We are very sorry to hear that you may not return to our property and want to extend an invitation to come back to view the changes we have made since your last stay. If you would like to come by to meet with me and discuss any issues you experienced in the past you are welcome to call me directly at 616.942.0800!

Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention and we hope to hear from you soon.

Best Regards,

Ami Tricomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Address: 5131 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.