We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fine. Economical, clean, pleasant staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5131 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Boyne City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was fine. Economical, clean, pleasant staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here overnight May 14, 2013. They are in the midst of remodeling, so there is some construction going on and furniture being moved around. Flooring is new, room was clean. Had a king bed room and it had a fridge and microwave. Economical, clean, comfortable bed. Staff was very helpful. Dog friendly, which is one big reason why I choose Red Roof. Wifi and flat screen TV with plenty of channels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy G, Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank You. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
16
17
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greeneville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I book 3 to five days a month at Red roof Inn at Grand Rapids, MI. Since January i have not receive booking confirmation since January 20th, 2013.
and when checking in the reservation is missing from Inn's computer system;
and booking has been cancelled (2 timers);
and booking has been booked to another with room keys allowing entry into room while i was in bed twice;
I call this miss-management.

I have asked repeatedly that Reservationist to have Manager contact me with no response. . I do not have these problems at other Red Roof Inns.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here one night prior to flight based on TA reviews. The desk staff was the best part. Room did have WiFi and flat screen tv with many channels. Room was dingy, chairs were very stained to a point I used the bath mat on the cushion. Everythi ng else was below an old Motel 6 standard. Staff did say property just changed hands and is due for a complete overhaul in 6 months. I would avoid until then.

Room Tip: Look before taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My fiance and I have to stay at a hotel until we can find a home to buy...The staff from management to housekeeping have made sure that we are comfortable in every possible way. The rooms are clean. For what we pay to stay here it was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Previous reviews cited the very friendly staff which is quite true. However the room ? That is another story. The night was cool so we tried to turn the heater, bad move! It smelled so bad that we had to turn it off and froze the rest of the night. The bathroom was quite dirty. Hair in the tub and mold in the toilet and around the tub. Also quite noisy due to the outside doors which is not the hotels fault but none the less problematic. Would not consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for letting us know we met your expectations on a friendly staff but I would like to apologize that you did not have the same impression of our room.

We strive to provide a clean and well mantained room for all our guest and we will work harder to ensure that the level of the room experience matches the level of the guest experience.

I would like the chance to show you a better room experience the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Drawn to this Red Roof Inn by good reviews on TripAdvisor and a coupon for $42/nite. The place could use updating in most aspects, but still is fairly comfortable and not too rough around the edges. Staff were very helpful and competent, couldn't have asked for more from a 2 star hotel. PQR is high. About 10-12 minutes from downtown. located on a main road loaded with strip malls and chains, so lots available nearby, though quite "white bread". I would stay here again unless I wanted to pay more to be located in the downtown area.

Room Tip: No sound problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our inn. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and would visit our inn again. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of the staff, they always enjoy hearing positive feedback. We do have a convenient location, just off the interstate, and we are only 9 miles from downtown. We are also quite a bit less expensive than the downtown hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We needed a budget hotel and this fit the bill. We were on a bottom floor unit right across from the McDonalds. We had a late check in, and check in went well. The attendant, robby, mapquested me directions for the next day. Extra towels were given at the desk since we planned for 2 people and arrived with 4. The room itself was dated but clean. The ceiling looked like it had past damage but the bed linens and bathroom and sink were clean. The shower/tun floor was a little "odd" and the shower didn't blast the best, but the hot water was plentiful.

In the morning my car wouldn't start (doesn't help to leave on the dome lights!) and the front desk clerk, Curtis, sent the maintenance man over within 5 minutes with a jumper box and got the car started right up!

Each person we dealt with here was very friendly. McDonalds right next door and it was in an area that included Target and other fast food places.

We would stay here again for the price paid. For a budget hotel, it was clean and served us nicely. Beds were full size which was a bit cramped for 4 adult size people but we knew bed size going in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our inn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and felt it was a good value. I will make sure to pass on your nice comments about our staff and the quick service you received with your car problems. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Address: 5131 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.