We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5131 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Front desk staff was very nice and helpful on all shifts. Room was clean and the beds were comfy. The only thing I would change would be to install the shower curtains that curve outward. I dislike having to brush up against hotel shower curtains. Other than that minor inconvenience, I had an excellent stay and look forward to coming back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, I'll make sure to share your comments with the staff. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Willis, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The front desk staff on every shift was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. Everything you need in a hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: I had a room in the back. No traffic noise & no passing cars or people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do try to keep everything simple, clean and a good value. I have already shared your comments with our staff. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Basic motel,friendly staff, very clean, very reasonable and PET FRIENDLY with no added charge. Always our go-to motel when traveling with the hound! Plus...free wi fi and a USA Today on the door in the morning. As others have said..no frills, but unbeatable for the price and amenities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and felt it was a good value for your money. I will pass on your nice comments to our staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again when your in Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The staff was great took care of our minor requests very quickly.Not a huge fancy place but you are not paying for it either.Room was clean air worked great we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oxfordhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of our inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and felt we had an excellent staff. I will pass on your nice comments to our staff. They always enjoying hearing positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

The room was clean and provided everything one person could ask for. It is aliitle rough but better than expected. More toiletries could be offered. I was comfortable.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jamartin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank your for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our inn. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and felt it was a good value for your money. We try hard to provide great service and a clean comfortable room at a reasonable price. I will pass on your comments to our staff. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Based on reading the prior reviews, I booked a room at the property. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Both the sink and tub drained well. Shower pressure was adequate. The room did show some age and it would be a good idea to bring your own toiletries since the the ones provided were very limited. The rooms do not have a refrigerator or microwave and there is no continental breakfast in the morning, only coffee. However, there is a McDonalds within walking distance and there are plenty of restuarants and retail stores down the street. The front staff both at night and in the morning were very pleasant. I even received a phone call back in the morning making sure I received my proper wake-up call. I did have an issue in receiving a weak internet signal and my room was located across from the office. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Etzella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Etzalla
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, I will make sure to share this with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guest is always welcome as we strive to continuously try to improve our quality and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We checked in after 10 p.m. with no reservation. The desk clerk was very friendly and gave me a choice of a ground level or second floor room. I originally told her the room was for two but while we were talking I said I was with my daughter. The clerk asked how old my daughter was and then adjusted the price of the room as children stay free.

The room was dated but very clean and odor free. Beds felt older but were comfortable. Room was no-frills but everything was clean and tidy. There were only three things I'd have changed about the room: 1., More power outlets; 2. A cover on the toilet (it's a rather small bathroom and it would be good to have another surface to put your clothes or towels on); 3. A fan in the bathroom (there was no separate control for a fan and I'm not sure that there was one.). There was a nightlight next to the bathroom light switch - that was a nice touch. The water pressure in the shower was amazing but I felt guilty because it obviously was not low flow! :-)

There is a 24-hour McDonald's right outside the motel and a gas station on the other side of the parking lot. and it's right off the highway. Great location for weary travelers!

The parking lot was in disrepair and I wasn't able to park outside of our room because there were two giant potholes there. For only $50 a night, the place was in much better condition than I'd expected.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room if you want to avoid lugging your items up the stairs - I didn't see any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky55110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Becky55110
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#13 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#11 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#30 of 49 in Grand Rapids
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Grand Rapids
Travelodge Grand Rapids
#31 of 49 in Grand Rapids
3.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Address: 5131 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing