We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a decent stay in this part of Grand Rapids” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Grand Rapids Airport

Save Saved
You added Hilton Grand Rapids Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Grand Rapids Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4747 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Beer City Tour!
Ranked #22 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Morro Bay, CA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Finally a decent stay in this part of Grand Rapids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stay in the Cascade/28th Street area a couple times each year while visiting family. In the past I've had horrible stays at the Courtyard, Crowne Plaza, and even this Hilton, but after reading abou their recent renovation I decided to try the Hilton again. I'm glad I did. We got a fourth floor renovated room and it was nice and very quiet (a problem in the past). Clean, new amenities, updated decor. The only thing that still bugs me, and in my opinion is the difference between a 3 and 4 star hotel, is that the bathrooms are so small you have to practically step over the toilet to get out of the shower. The morning breakfast buffet in Spinnakers is good - above average for hotels. Courteous desk, punctual airport transport, clean and modern (albeit a bit small) gym. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room - I don't think they all are. 4th floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    76
    64
    22
    3
See reviews for
55
37
21
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Staying here for business. Was told by the front desk before I left for dinner the AC would not kick off with the energy saver motion detector. Room is warm when returning and sleeping. Rm 220. Will not stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
446 helpful votes 446 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here and put on a seminar here. Very nice accommodations for both. Very close to airport with convenient free shuttle. Staff is friendly and helpful. Facility clean, quiet,
Comfortable and businesslike. I'd stay here again or use their banquet facilities again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Rooms are updated and very clean and spacious. I had a nice bench, sofa, and desk. It's always nice to have something besides an uncomfortable chair and bed to sit on to do work. The complimentary airport shuttle was terrific and the hotel is conveniently located near lots of restaurants and shopping. The breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant was good too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after getting in late to GRR and not wanting to drive late into night. When booking the hotel, we asked for distressed passenger rates at 9:30PM and they said they could not honor that rate and they could only honor their published rates ($159/nt). At 9:30PM, I would suspect they'd be happy to get anything for the empty rooms instead of turning away a paying customer. I ended up getting a corporate rate, but maybe they should review of the liklihood of selling rooms at 9:30PM and consider discounting rates vs. leaving rooms empty. (It appears the manager on duty at that time was the one making this call...EVEN after I identified myself as a Diamond member)

The hotel is a very average Hilton...nothing special like those you find in major US cities or especially outside the US. It was comfortable and clean and served it's purpose for the night, but didn't wow us beyond that.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I've stayed here 5 times since 2009 and every time I've had a nice stay. Its nice being either Gold or Diamond HHonnor status when you stay here with the benifit of the extra points and free breakfast. This hilton is by means nothing fancy when it comes to a hilton but I would rather stay here then some of the other hotels in the area. I feel that the price is very competative and the breakfast is by far better then the free one you get at other hotels in the area. My rooms have always been clean and the staff has been friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Interesting, reading through some recent reviews that specifically mentioned the room keys not working. My husband and I went through 5 keys each on our 3-night stay. The keys simply quit working... Front desk said they'd send maintenance up but we never saw anyone. Funnily enough, the front desk clerk asked me I'd put my room keys next to my phone or other credit cards. I assured her that I definitely know how to treat magnetic cards. :::eye roll:::

Hubby and I were taking a much-needed nap between noon and 2:00pm, with the "do not disturb" sign on the door. Imagine my irritation to be awakened by a sharp rap on the door and a woman's voice announcing "housekeeping." We ignored her and drifted back off to sleep, only to be awakened by our room phone. It was the head of housekeeping, wondering why we hadn't checked out (this was day two of our three-day stay). Seriously?

The room was clean, but had a typical PTAC unit that provides extremely loud air conditioning. Also, the toilet has a power-assisted flush that would wake the dead!

Onsite restaurant was ok. Public areas are a bit worn, with poorly patched carpet. Bed wasn't up to typical Hilton standards. Ice machine on 3rd floor was broken, with a note to use the one on the first or second floors. The sign disappeared on our second day, but the machine still didn't work. Elevators are slow and creaky...

This is more like an older Hampton than a Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGrandRapids, Manager at Hilton Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you expect from Hilton during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues you encountered with your room key. We are working with our maintenance team to ensure this does not continue to happen. I also apologize for the miscommunication from our housekeeping staff regarding your check-out date. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Rapids Airport

Address: 4747 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Rapids Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Grand Rapids Airport hotel in Michigan is just two miles from Gerald R. Ford International Airport and offers a relaxing environment and retreat within the Grand Rapids, MI area. Arrive in style via the complimentary shuttle from the baggage claim area of the airport, straight to the welcoming hotel lobby. Enjoy easy access to many popular attractions during your stay such as the Frederick Meijer Gardens and the Grand Rapids Art Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Rapids Airport Hotel Grand Rapids
Hilton Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Grand Rapids Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.