We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for caterers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gerald R. Ford Museum

Gerald R. Ford Museum
303 Pearl Street NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49504
(616) 254-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 26 Attractions in Grand Rapids
Type: Libraries, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grand Rapids' pride in native son and 38th American President Gerald R. Ford is reflected in the museum that honors him, which transports you back to the 70s through interactive displays and holograms, including a chance to eavesdrop on an eventful day in the Oval Office.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not for caterers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This review is in reference to the Ann Arbor branch. Upon our arrival we heard some inaudible ramblings from behind a desk where an old man was sitting. The old man proved to be challenging. From his desk he attempted to "guide" us through the museum, which is more of a dining hall. The old man pointed his finger in various directions indicating the different parts of the museum as well as the archives, to which he pointed his finger upwards. The museum experience lasts for about five minutes. On one wall hangs a picture of Ford and Brezhnev. On another wall a football helmet sits in a display case. Eager to leave the museum, we began our ascent upstairs towards the archives, but alas, we were halted by the old man who failed to inform us beforehand that the archives are off limits. We left immediately.
This was a terrible experience, but the parking is free.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    111
    20
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
420 reviews 420 reviews
206 attraction reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Simple but tasteful presidential library”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Although Gerald Ford was only president for 2 1/2 years, his library is a tribute to that time as well as his congressional career. The exhibits are informative, but not overwhelming. I especially like that it does not display a lot of gifts from foreign leaders like some presidential libraries.

I found it particularly interesting that the burglary tools from the Watergate break in are in this museum. The Nixon Presidential Library is hush-hush on the subject. But, I guess it would be.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Learned a lot about this president and his remarkable achievements through this museum. Spent a few hours reading and touring, watched the short movie and just felt it was really well done. Would definitely recommend this with adults and children alike, it is informative.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“worthwhile but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I did enjoy the museum but, expected more and thought a couple of portions were space-fillers (i.e., the 60's/70's display).
Be prepared to do a lot of reading. Special exhibit if Albright's pins was a nice added touch.
Museum somewhat matches my impression of Ford himself - OK but, nothing special.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“world class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

conveniently located less than a block from the public museum, it makes for a great morning/early afternoon activity. i thought the gerald ford musem was top notch. an introductory video/movie sets the stage for those of us not necessarily familiar w. his politics. although the musuem is a bit small, i thought it was very well done. we also enjoyed the traveling exhibit of madeline albright's pins/broaches.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerald R. Ford Museum also viewed

 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Gerald R. Ford Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerald R. Ford Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.