We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Voyageurs Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Voyageurs Motel
Save
You added The Voyageurs Motel to your Saves list
21914 East Wilson Street, Grand Marais, MI 49839   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grand Marais
Flint, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another great stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the motel again last weekend. Service was excellent and Delphine was professional as ever. The view from the rooms of the West Bay is simply spectacular. This place is like a gem. If you want to stay connected now there is free wireless internet too. Pictured Rocks and the sand dunes are minutes away. Downtown is a minute or so away. There is no swimming pool but the sauna/whirlpool area is well kept with large windows which allow you a beautiful view of Grand Marais while you soak. :-)

Room Tip: Upper-level rooms would give you a slightly better view of downtown Grand Marais and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    21
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was our first visit to this area and we arrive late in the evening, The owners were very friendly , and they prolonged the Jacuzzi hours to accommodated us. So we could have time to have a late dinner. The room was very clean and a good size. We traveled with our dog and they give us the permission to keep it in our room. guests. The perfect stay, to Pictured rock area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENICE
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was our first visit to this area and we selected this hotel based on reviews I read on Trip Advisior.

The owners were very friendly and the room was very clean....the view was fantastic!!!

Unfortunately, the sound proofing in our room was lacking. For close to $100 per night I don't expect to hear the guests in the room above us (who were making enough noise to keep me awake until after 3 AM) and we also heard someone snoring from one of the rooms around after we woke up in the morning.

I didn't report the noise from the room above us to the owner until the next morning and she apoligied for the inconvenience and said she would address this with these guests.

The stay would have been perfect if we could have had some sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stiles Junction, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I would like to thank the owners of the Voyageurs Motel in Grand Marais. My husband and I were on a bike trip with no destination in mind when we came along this motel in Grand Marais. The owners are SUPER friendly, the rooms are VERY clean, and the view of Lake Superior was unbelievable from the motel. I would recommend to everyone to choose this motel as your prime place to stay. Although the whole harbor was beautiful, The Voyager had the most stunning view.
Thank you again for makeing us feel like we were home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have stayed at the Voyageur almost every summer for years. The original owner kept things up and super clean - it's nice to see the hotels new owners are also particular. There was a time someone owned it who was not up to the job. After a bad experience, we avoided it until the "new owner" sign was posted. During the time we avoided the Voyageur we tried 2 other places in town - they were the absolute pits, not clean. It is evident the new owners are hard working, and updating the property. We recommended this hotel to a relative in town to bear hunt with a group of guys. They stayed in the small home they rent on the property, he enjoyed his stay. We like this hotel for the view, peace, quiet, location and the new owners. We are happy to know they do not tolerate behavior that ruins the experience of respectful guests.

Room Tip: There are stairs to reach the 2nd floor. It may be a bit much for those with luggage and coolers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We originally just booked one night in Grand Marias but we ended up extending our stay an extra night because we enjoyed the town and the motel so much. It is a basic room but it was very clean. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed using the hot tub. The motel has a very nice view from the ridge above town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel sits high up on the bluff overlooking the harbor and lighthouse of Grand Marais, out of the town proper, at the end of what seems like a residential street. The view from the room windows, even the ground level, is spectacular. One can see the treetops, the harbor with lighthouse, and Lake Superior beyond that.
The room I stayed looks to have been very well kept up- fresh paint on the door, new carpeting, and a heavy-duty entry rug- a must for snowmobiling, and great for collecting sand from beach-feet. There was plenty of room- a queen size bed, futon, closet space, dresser with TV, coffee maker, microwave, and mini-fridge, and a table and two chairs, and still space for walking around. This motel does not have A/C, but this is the U.P.- and even though it was an unheard of 95 degrees outside (!!!), the breeze coming from Superior was able to keep the room nice and cool. There are plenty of places to put your "stuff"- including MANY hooks on the wall for holding coats and bags: again, pretty much a necessity for winter.
I kept the windows open at night, and had a great conversation with Delphine (the host) while sitting on the swing outside as the sun set, the sailboats made their way into the harbor, the lighthouse started flashing, and a freighter went by on Lake Superior. Very relaxing, very clean, very quiet, very well-kept. Ahhh...

Room Tip: Stayed in room 1: Handicap accessible, complete with lowered hooks, shower chair, and grab bars. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Voyageurs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voyageurs Motel

Address: 21914 East Wilson Street, Grand Marais, MI 49839
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Voyageurs is a 10 unit motel that sets on a bluff that over looks the Grand Marais harbor and Lake Superior.We have a community room that offer our guest a sauna and a 7 person hot tub.We do not at this time have AC in our rooms but we do have fans in the rooms.We have wireless internet available. We do have grills for our customers who want to grill out.We bought the motel in Dec. of 2004 and we are gradually up dating as we go so don't expect a Hilton motel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Voyageurs Hotel Grand Marais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Voyageurs Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.