We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a really nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hilltop cabins to your Saves list
Hilltop cabins
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   N14176 Ellen St., PO Box 386, Grand Marais, MI 49839   |  
Hotel amenities
custer, MI
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“It is a really nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed there this past weekend and the host was great. The motel room was good for what we paid for it. We got a so-so sleep and the breakfast was homemade and good. A lot of things to do for a "Cabin & Motel" type place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    7
    0
    5
See reviews for
16
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrill, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

we stayed for 3 days it was a christmas in july theme it was neat we even got stockings above the fire place we used it as a base camp to view the area attractions there were always snacks available and coffee there is a game room and and washer and dryer it would be a great place for familys with small children my girlfriend had trouble making reservations ,Stay with it is worth the small hassle to get reservations if that is the only major complant what am i complaning about

Room Tip: not all motel rooms have a good view if in a motel room get 15 or 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were very grateful to get the last "cabin" available before the storm. It was clean and charming and the breakfast was delightful!!! Thanks to Saree for the delightful chocolate chip cookies! Even sent some for us to enjoy on the road. We WILL definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend with two small children. We were out during the day so pretty much just used the cabin to keep our stuff in and sleep. This was definitely easier than staying in a tent with two little kids but it would have been nice if they put a little more effort into the upkeep of the cabin. The bugs were HORRIBLE so it would have been nice to have a screen door without holes and duct tape and holes in many of the window screens. Furniture is old and very worn. Blankets had holes in them. Fridge had hairs in it from when it was last wiped out. I get that you are up north and it is rustic but for $130 a night it would be nice to see a little more effort to keep the place in good shape. Wifi was only available if you were standing directly outside of the office. Good luck keeping the bugs off of you while you check your email. We didn't mind that when we arrived no one was there to check us in. The keys were in our room and that was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was hoping for the best and expecting the worse when you are traveling for miles out into the middle of no where with a village population of less than 1000. This place is absolutely excellent and has by far exceeded my expectations.

The property has some individual cabins and then some rooms along a little strip. Everything is very well maintained and most have a view of Lake Superior. The properly has many old large trees on the lot which add to the character.

We stated in one of the "hotel" rooms which even included a small kitchenette. It was so cute, I even took pictures before we carried in our luggage. For the price, you cannot go wrong staying here. You will not be disappointed. Don't forget to try out the home made breakfast items in the morning :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had booked this place for memorial day weekend 2 weeks before the holiday. However, as I got ill, I had to cancel it, which I did 2-3 days before we were actually supposed to leave. We called up to cancel and the lady on the phone (Jeanatte) said that she would do the refund and it would take 7-10 business days for that.
So we waited that period of time and even for 2 more weeks. When we could not see the refund, I called up and again the lady on the phone said, the refund may take some more time depending on the bank.
It's been more than 2 months and we still haven't got the refund back.
Now they don't even pick up my call. When I called up from a different number, the lady(same one) picked up and she said she will have to check in the system if the refund was made. When I asked her if I could know her name, she she said there was a problem in the line and disconnected it. Also, when I tried calling again, which was a min after the phone was disconnected, no one picked up.
What does it say about this place????
It seems like they don't care about customer satisfaction.
They will only entertain the people till they pay them

I am really disappointed by their business.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

After being in the woods for days, and dealing with the bugs, this was our saving grace. What a sweet setup,up on the hill, great view! Rooms were super clean and nice, and everything for breakfast was home made. I would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilltop cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop cabins

Address: N14176 Ellen St., PO Box 386, Grand Marais, MI 49839
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilltop cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hilltop cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.