We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hilltop cabins to your Saves list
Hilltop cabins
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   N14176 Ellen St., PO Box 386, Grand Marais, MI 49839   |  
Hotel amenities
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and loved it. Some of the reviewers says the place is out dated, but it's upper Michigan. We loved it. The Knotty Pine walls and ceilings were great. They have a very nice Rec Room also. Staff was very friendly and the price was not to bad for a stand alone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honey moon sweet and thought it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    7
    0
    5
See reviews for
16
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We come here multiple times a winter. Love to snowmobile. The location is close to the trails and in the summer it is close to a lot of other places and has a great view. Rooms were nice and clean. They had what you needed and not much more. Everything was very clean. The website said they had free wifi but there was none while we were there. People are friendly and go out of their way. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: If you want a cabin get either cabin 1 or 2. Those are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the cabins while traveling thru the UP, and found these "cabins" to be very outdated. The couch in room very worn , drapes don't fit the windows., curtain rods crooked , stains on carpet , dead plant hanging on the porch above our door, decor very 60's, tackey is best word.needs a serious update.

Room Tip: Stay at the Voyager in Grand Marais instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just returned from a short trip to the UP with my daughter. We had comfortable and cozy accommodations at the Hilltop cabins. The mattress was supportive, the cabin well stocked and clean and despite the wet weather, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just got back from a two week trip to Michigan's UP. The Hilltop Motel was one of the nicest places we stayed. The motel room was clean and nicely furnished and decorated. Very nice northwoods feel and classy compared to the chains. We grooved on the views from the gazebo and deck, and loved being lulled to sleep by the wind through the huge cottonwoods on site. It was super quiet there, quieter than the campsites we had. We also loved the homeade plum cobbler for a late night snack, the wonderful laundry room and breakfast nook, much more than we were expecting. I checked my e-mail on the deck overlooking the Lake, how cool is that! The owner/host was a joy to do business with. Hope to come back someday and maybe rent one of the cabins. Also loved the fire pit with wood standing by, although we weren't able to take advantage of that. Also liked the nice gardens on the grounds. Room had micro and fridge and we were able to grill our dinner on the porch. All was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Go to the Web site for the business, that's what helped us with our expectations and choices. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our second visit to Hilltop Cabins, and a great experience. Wonderful location for viewing the sunsets! We had a room for a couple of nights--really nice room with a microwave and fridge. We then moved to a cabin which was newly renovated, a 2 bedroom with full kitchen, TV, porch. Comfortable and clean. Laundry facilities on site. Pet friendly. Helpful and welcoming owner. We've already booked for next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. We have come here two years in a row and have stayed both in a cabin and the motel. The owner is welcoming and this morning she had fresh plum, almond muffins that she had just baked with plums from her own tree. The place is spotless and she does all the cleaning herself. My favorite motel room is #15 with a great view of the bay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilltop cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop cabins

Address: N14176 Ellen St., PO Box 386, Grand Marais, MI 49839
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilltop cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilltop cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.