We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Gathering” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
1525 South Beacon Blvd., Grand Haven, MI 49417   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Grand Haven
Fruitport, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Gathering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had family coming in for a wake and needed a comfortable roomy place to greet and relax with relatives arriving from all over. The staff was great, helping us with items and suggestions to assist us. The rooms were amazingly clean and well appointed with all the amenities. The breakfasts were the usual fare but plentiful and filling and the dinning area was very comfortable! We also rented it for the evening after we came from the wake and it was perfect for the family to relax in. I especially loved having an indoor pool and hot tub, with a view from the dinning area, to relax in after an emotional afternoon. Thanks again to the staff for all their help I definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: Some rooms apparently have Jacuzzi tubs, that might be fun! We had a suite on the first floor facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very happy to hear how helpful our staff was during this difficult time and that you were able to enjoy some quality family time together. The meeting room is a nice place for family gatherings and is centrally located so that the children can enjoy the pool and the adults can keep an eye on them. It is so nice to hear you had such a clean and comfortable stay and we look forward to seeing you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    61
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
74
44
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fruitland Park, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a very nice Best Western. The rooms are clean, the staff is pleasant, the pool and hot tub are lovely. In addition, this property is centrally located. When visiting Grand Haven, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others of your wonderful stay with us. We are located on US-31 and minutes from the downtown area and Grand Haven State Park. We hope to see you on your next visit to the Grand Haven area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in! I know that my not seem like a lot coming from most people who stay in a very few hotels a year. However, I stay in over 150 hotels a year, because I'm a pilot. The front desk staff was very courteous. Also it is in a prime location close to downtown and surrounded by numerous amenities. I would highly recommend staying here if your headed to Grand Haven.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy travel schedule. What a great compliment coming from someone who "lives" in hotels. We work really hard to make sure every guest has a clean a comfortable room.

We can't wait to see you on your next trip to the Grand Haven area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean and pleasant.
The breakfast area was pleasant and there was plenty of food.
My husband was disappointed the pool and hot tub were not open the hours
that were advertised.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We are happy to hear you had a comfortable stay. Our pool is open daily from 8am-10pm for everyone and from 10pm-11pm for adults only. During the adults only time the lights are turned down but the pool is open.

We hope to see you on your next trip to the Grand Haven area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Tube TV and the Internet is 1.2MB/0.5MB which is very good and I was surprised, given I was thrown into a little bungalow type building. They have 3 other buildings on the property as well as the main 3 floor building so there are a lot of rooms.

The other buildings are kinda nice in their own way. You can park right outside and when you go in it has a walking into an apartment feel. Pretty clean, but not many lights. You do have a sliding door but only a darkening curtain, no privacy light filtering curtain. They did have the microwave and fridge which is why I opted for one.

What really brings down there rating is a poor breakfast given the size of this establishment. It was obvious when I got to breakfast at 9AM there was little to no effort to restock anything and most things were picked clean. All I could have was cereal, yougurt, a banana (barely still there), or a waffle. I went waffle and it tasted bad. It must be cheap batter.

I hate when owners squeeze a dime out of you thru the breakfast. Comeon its not that expensive given the prices you are charging, which are fairly high.

p.s. Doesn't matter to many, but the weight room was more respectable than average with cable pulleys and cardio stuff that isn't broken as well as a water machine. Can't comment on the pool didn't use it, but it was being used a lot even for not being busy. It was quiet but again it wasn't busy so I don't know.

Room Tip: Top floor away from elevator is how I always do it. Its worth the peace and quiet to make that haul.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to tell us about your recent stay.
We have four different buildings on property, each offering different amenities for our guests. We do have tube TV’s but we will be getting flat screen TV’s at the beginning of 2013. We have already introduced our new bedding and bed packages. In the court yard rooms we have also added more lighting since your stay.
I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with our breakfast selection. We go above what is required by Best Western for our continental breakfast. We only use Carbon’s Golden Malted Waffle Mix which is a name brand waffle mix.
We are constantly upgrading our rooms to make our guests stay more enjoyable. We really appreciate all of your comments to help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn

Address: 1525 South Beacon Blvd., Grand Haven, MI 49417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grand Haven
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Grand Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beacon Hotel Grand Haven
Best Western Grand Haven
Grand Haven Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.