We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Internet, tube TV, pitiful breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1525 South Beacon Blvd., Grand Haven, MI 49417   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Certificate of Excellence
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Internet, tube TV, pitiful breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Tube TV and the Internet is 1.2MB/0.5MB which is very good and I was surprised, given I was thrown into a little bungalow type building. They have 3 other buildings on the property as well as the main 3 floor building so there are a lot of rooms.

The other buildings are kinda nice in their own way. You can park right outside and when you go in it has a walking into an apartment feel. Pretty clean, but not many lights. You do have a sliding door but only a darkening curtain, no privacy light filtering curtain. They did have the microwave and fridge which is why I opted for one.

What really brings down there rating is a poor breakfast given the size of this establishment. It was obvious when I got to breakfast at 9AM there was little to no effort to restock anything and most things were picked clean. All I could have was cereal, yougurt, a banana (barely still there), or a waffle. I went waffle and it tasted bad. It must be cheap batter.

I hate when owners squeeze a dime out of you thru the breakfast. Comeon its not that expensive given the prices you are charging, which are fairly high.

p.s. Doesn't matter to many, but the weight room was more respectable than average with cable pulleys and cardio stuff that isn't broken as well as a water machine. Can't comment on the pool didn't use it, but it was being used a lot even for not being busy. It was quiet but again it wasn't busy so I don't know.

Room Tip: Top floor away from elevator is how I always do it. Its worth the peace and quiet to make that haul.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to tell us about your recent stay.
We have four different buildings on property, each offering different amenities for our guests. We do have tube TV’s but we will be getting flat screen TV’s at the beginning of 2013. We have already introduced our new bedding and bed packages. In the court yard rooms we have also added more lighting since your stay.
I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with our breakfast selection. We go above what is required by Best Western for our continental breakfast. We only use Carbon’s Golden Malted Waffle Mix which is a name brand waffle mix.
We are constantly upgrading our rooms to make our guests stay more enjoyable. We really appreciate all of your comments to help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    72
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
95
51
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Excellent job on the room cleanliness, and we met the houskeepers while they were cleaning our room, they seemed happy and very very friendly, even the frond dest agent at the check in was very helpful, profeesional and friendly ( she had a very short hair), breakfast was amazing but I need that the only lady working at tbreakfast needs some help on busy mornings...
Keep it up guys, you were wonderfull !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and wonderful comments!
We are happy to hear you found our rooms clean and staff friendly. We hope to see you on your next visit to Grand Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed two days just before the Labor Day weekend. We were in one of the courtyard rooms which was nice to have the doorwall looking out to the courtyard where my son could go play and we could park right outside the door. The room was well maintained and clean. Convenient to have a small refrigerator in the room as well. We did use the pool one afternoon which was clean and easily accessible. We didn't partake in the continental breakfast as there are so many great local breakfast spots (Morning Star & Joanne's) which we wanted to visit. Check in and check out were easy and the staff was pleasant. The location was perfect, just a few mile from the downtown and beaches of Lake Michigan at the Grand Haven State Park. This was a good spot to stay for a decent value. We would return again in the future.

Room Tip: Courtyard room was nice to have parking right outside door and no one above or below you. Nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments and recent stay!
The housekeeping and maintenance departments work hard to ensure you have a pleasant stay. We hope to see you on your next trip to Grand Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesaning, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Not only was this new facility clean, new and comfortable... the staff was fantastic in assisting us when we had car trouble... Out for a fantastic beach weekend... wife and I were ready for the beach... battery was not... a staff member promptly gave us a jump... and directed us to the nearby Autozone for a new battery... same service there... quickly changed the battery there... (on Sunday) off to the beach...

Thank you all...

Dan & Mary 8-28-12

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Best Western Beacon Inn.

We strive to ensure that every guest has a pleasant stay. The housekeeping department works very hard to ensure each room is cleaned to our award winning standards (2012 Best Western Directors award Winner). We are also happy to hear that our staff was able to give you a jump and direction to Autozone to save your beach day. We hope you choose the Best Western Beacon Inn on your next trip to Grand Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My family stayed here overnight in rooms 203 & 205 which were connecting rooms each with 2 queen beds. The rooms were huge! The beds were very comfortable and we had tons of big fluffy pillows. We went out to see the musical fountain that night and when we came back to the hotel, police & fire trucks were in the parking lot. Apparently there was a false alarm but no one was allowed to use the elevators until they received clearance from the fire dept.. Since I am handicapped and not able to use stairs the manager got special permission and a hotel employee escorted us on the elevator & up to our room. The pool was very nice, my kids loved it. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay!

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our large rooms, new Serta beds, and fluffy pillows. We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced by the false alarm, but we are happy to hear how our staff was able to assist you. We hope to see you on your next trip to Grand Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids MIchigan
Level Contributor
230 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

From the outside looking at the room I may not have been so quick to select this location. I am glad we did! Very clean, new refrig, new microwave, did I say clean?
They have a nice breakfast of cereal, hard boiled eggs, belgium waffles, fruit and patries.
Friendly staff really what else could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent stay and comments.

We are Directors award winning property and we work really hard to make sure our rooms are clean and comfortable. We are happy to hear you liked our breakfast and friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

For literally last minute plans to get out of the heat of St. Louis, MO, this BW was a haven for us.
We took an interior room, 206, for 3 nights to save a little money. The rooms were large with 2 very comfortable beds, super clean and quiet. Our friend was in 204 next to the elevator and she could hear it's noise. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The only thing we missed was a little refrigerator but if paid a few more dollars we would have had one. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was typical but McDonald's is next door and Panera's is 1/2 block north. It's a short drive to the water front and beach. We played golf by day at the Grand Haven Golf Club and went down on the river in the evening. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay off the first floor interior since pool chlorine is strong smelling and do not stay next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay!

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your interior room. We have brand new Serta beds and we work very hard to make sure every room is clean and comfortable. We hope you choose the Best Western Beacon Inn on your next trip to the Grand Haven area.

Thomas Kammeraad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn

Address: 1525 South Beacon Blvd., Grand Haven, MI 49417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grand Haven
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beacon Hotel Grand Haven
Best Western Grand Haven
Grand Haven Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.