We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
1525 South Beacon Blvd., Grand Haven, MI 49417   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Grand Haven
Pontiac, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

It has everything you want from a hotel. Cleanliness, value, service, plus a great pool and breakfast. Good dependable place to stay.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    45
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
54
32
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Clean friendly hotel near Grand Haven State Park. Water front area is clean and inviting for walking, with good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We were on a family vacation when we stayed at this hotel. Our room and bathroom was clean. The pool was clean and nice. The hot tub was not hot though. The breakfast was the typical continental breakfast ( so so) Only 1.5 miles to the Grand Haven Beach. It was in a great location to get to anywhere. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask to be in the same hotel as the pool....this is the main hotel and is closest to the parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Having experienced stays in numerous other hotels in/out of the area, by comparison, I recognize Beacon Inn @ Grand Haven to be TOPS! Over several years, usually 3 or 4 times yearly, for leaisure and/also conference trips I have come to appreciate the hospitality and excellent service of Tom, Kendra, and staff. As one whose work involves customer service, I have learned much from the professional manner of this staff communicating with those checking in/out, as I have frequently sat in the lobby planning my day's calendar. I am so impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms, the great options of the continental breakfast, the updated fitness center, covenient pool, attractive upkeep of the grounds, etc. -Dee from 'BUCKEYE COUNTRY SOUTH OF THE BORDER

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed in the older 2 story building on the back of the property. This hotel is listed on a few websites that all rooms in this hotel have microwave and refrigerator. This is not true. I believe that the only rooms that have these conveniences are the ones in the new building. We had a nice, clean, spacious older room, the tub/shower had recently been rennovated, but no microwave and frige. The pool, hot tub and breakfast area are in the main bldg. It was a little walk to get to breakfast, so we had to bundle up each morning. The breakfast was a continental breakfast, muffins, pastries, cereals, yogurt and waffle maker, it was ok. Our room was on the back side of the older bldg., a train track is just a few feet from the door, so it can be very loud. Overall our stay was nice, but if you are staying here in the middle of winter, I think I would rather pay extra and stay in the main building. I heard one guest say that it was $30 more to stay in the main bldg. I don't know if this is correct, but I would call to make this reservation to make sure you get the room you want, instead of booking online.
P.S. if you have car trouble while there, visit Matt @ Auto Zone, very close to hotel. He took GREAT care of us!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST CHESTER
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I chose this hotel because most other hotels in the area had questionable reviews. The price was too high for a basic room and breakfast, but there were no problems with our room, and we appreciated a ground-level room where we could park just outside our door. We noticed that two adjacent businesses, one an auto repair shop and I can't remember the other, were somewhat noisy during the day. That did not bother us since we did not arrive in our room until late and left fairly early the next morning. It was an easy drive from the hotel to Grand Haven parks and downtown, and there were a number of stores including a 24-hour Walmart within a short drive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We evaluated this hotel for our wedding guests, comparing it against almost every other hotel and motel in the Grand Haven area. Fortunately, we were able to look at rooms in every one of their buildings, even though the hotel was almost full the day we were there. We were pleasantly surprised!

As past reviewers said, the hotel does have some older outbuildings, but as of late last year, all of the rooms were remodeled. As a matter of fact, we felt that the "courtyard" rooms in the one-story motel building were a bit larger and nicer than the rooms in the main hotel. The cheapest rooms were in a two-story motel-style building (which was mentioned in other reviews), but they were only slightly smaller than the rooms in the main building, and essentially furnished the same.

Compared to the other chain hotels in Grand Haven and Spring Lake, we felt the Best Western's rooms, furnishings, and common areas were the nicest. The staff was also the most polite and knowledgeable. The location was nothing special, but it was no better or worse than any of the other chain hotels.

Grand Haven has some fantastic boutique lodges and B&Bs (the Harbor House Inn, for example), but most of them cost a lot more than the Best Western. As a result, the Best Western was an easy choice for our hotel room block.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn

Address: 1525 South Beacon Blvd., Grand Haven, MI 49417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grand Haven
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Grand Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beacon Hotel Grand Haven
Best Western Grand Haven
Grand Haven Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.