We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast I've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Star Cafe

Morning Star Cafe
711 Washington Ave, Grand Haven, MI 49417-1458
616-844-1131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 89 Restaurants in Grand Haven
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Redford, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We loved this place so much, we ate here twice during our weekend trip to Grand Haven. The food is absolutely amazing, super friendly staff, and quick service. The first time we went it was early afternoon and there was no wait, but the 2nd time we went in the morning and the place was packed. Well worth the wait though!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    42
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Sometimes the wait is long, but well worth it! The service is great and the menu is really something. This is a good place to order an eggs benedict as there are many choices. Other breakfast are excellent and the daily special is always interesting. Very good coffee as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Why haven't you eaten here?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

If you are ever trying to get a seat at Morning Star, expect a wait. Also, know that the food and experience make Morning Star well worth it. Their Veggie Breakfast Quesadilla is divine, and their desserts are dangerously delicious. Service here is also always top notch.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fab Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was the best breakfast we had in America. We had been recommended the Morning Star by the receptionist at the Hotel we stayed in.
We nearly missed it due to the road being closed and dug up, but we persevered to find it and I'm very glad we did.
Great menu, such a wonderful range to choose from, and when the food came it was delicious, good coffee, good atmosphere, good value and good service.
If I lived in Grand Haven, the Morning Star Cafe would be my spot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Always Love This Cute Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

So delicious. Unique items. Perfect brunches every time. Different coffees to choose from. Fast and friendly service. Reasonable prices. Just fun and delicious! It is a little loud, though, so perfect for us with young kids.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Star Cafe also viewed

Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 

Been to Morning Star Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Star Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.