We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These are NOT corn dogs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pronto Pup

Pronto Pup
313 S Harbor, Grand Haven, MI 49417
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 92 Restaurants in Grand Haven
Cuisines: Hot Dogs
Restaurant details
Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“These are NOT corn dogs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I grew up in Grand Haven, and never had a Pronto Pup until I moved away and came back for a day trip (all the popular kids in high school worked there, and that wasn't my crowd!). All I have to stay is that I missed out for so many years! A Pronto Pup is a batter dipped hot dog on a stick (definitely not a corn dog - I hate corn dogs) that is then deep-fried - it's definitely not health food, and the window even has a sign that say "This is Cholesterol County". It's a little stand next to Snug Harbor right on the Grand River with lines all day long (the shortest lines are during bad weather or within 15 minutes of opening). Since it's pretty much a stand, the seating is limited to some benches and the large, grassy shady hill next to the stand...but the food is so portable that you don't really need to sit down to eat it. It's a great local food that every Grand Haven native says they miss when they leave and can't wait to have when they get back! Just as a warning - they accept cash only!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummmmmmmm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have seen this stand with waiting lines for years and decided to try. They were really tasty and worth the wait. A must try local staple!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midland, mi
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Steady line all day long for these dogs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed a week a condo across the street and watched people from 11am to 10pm line up to get these corn dogs. Finally went over and got a couple. They were good. Not a lot of breading, good flavor. It's a staple of Grand Haven!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Pronto Pups has corn dogs and sodas. They are delicious and you will have to wait in line! A Grand Haven classic!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Grand Haven Summer Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A pronto pup is the most delicious corn dog you will ever have. Yes, it is just a corn dog, but it is all about the experience.If you've never had one, you need to try one. If you have tried one, you would agree with me that at least once or twice in the summertime it is worth standing in line for.
FYI: The lines are typically quite long, so expect some wait-time. They only accept cash!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pronto Pup also viewed

Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 

Been to Pronto Pup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pronto Pup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.