We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with lots of variety” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kirby House

The Kirby House
2 Washington, Grand Haven, MI 49417
+1 616-846-3299
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 89 Restaurants in Grand Haven
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Kirby House is the place to meet and eat in Grand Haven. A community favorite for excellent food, live entertainment, and simple relaxation with friends and family. Formerly a historic hotel of note, The Kirby House retains its old world charm, while providing all the pleasantries of new world fare and hospitality. Within walking distance of the shores of Lake Michigan, The Kirby House transcends the level of simple restaurant, and is the destination in Grand Haven for all things fun. The primarily American influenced menu is incredibly diverse and is exemplary in its attention to culinary detail and passion. Good times and laughter are located within.
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food with lots of variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Three restaurants to choose from including bar and outdoor/rooftop dining. Kids played video games after we ate. Pizza was average.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to a write a review. If you are ever back in town we hope you'll stop back in and try another one of our restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    22
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mattawan, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lots of variety to choose from!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great service (asked the server for suggestions and they were right on) and comfortable spot. this restaurant has several dining options and menus to choose from - it's nice htat the menu's are posted to be able to look over.

We were looking for light fare so choose the Thai Chicken Lettuce Wraps 10.95
marinated grilled organic chicken, cucumbers, spring vegetables, sprouts, Bibb lettuce, peanut & red chili dipping sauces and shared the Flash Fried Calamari 9.95
panko crusted, flash fried, creole aioli. My husband chose the Charred BLT Salad 9.95
marinated tomatoes, local bacon, grilled romaine, Maytag bleu cheese, balsamic vinaigrette
No regrets for choosing this spot to dine in.


http://www.thegilmorecollection.com/kirby.php

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit at the Kirby. Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we hope you'll stop by again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Late lunch @ the Kirby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We had a late lunch at the Kirby House ... French Dip sandwich w/ chips, open face grouper sandwich w/ chips, & salmon with rice. Nothing special, but good! Person who brought our food was different than server & we had to ask for refills on our diet Pepsi's ... They were empty when he delivered our food. Then refills were promptly delivered! We sat in a booth toward the back in the middle of the restaurant and where I sat, I looked directly into what appeared to be a utility area of the kitchen since there's no door ... Not sure what options there are from a design standpoint, but certainly a negative re one's dining experience .... Next time we'll sit toward the front of the restaurant or on the side. Wait staff was very nice & courteous and provided a good recommendation re the French Dip sandwich!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time write a review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your French Dip. And we do have our kitchen open, it provides a safer environment for our staff when bringing food and other items out into the dining room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Wonderful service, great food, friendly wait staff. Very accommodating. Couldn't ask for anything better. They were on top of everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a response, we are glad to hear about your great experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best nachos I have ever eaten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Fabulous service and a neat looking place. We really enjoyed our dinner. the waiter, Wade, is very nice and knowledgable and can suggest wines to go with your meal. Ask about the history of the restaurant and about the resident ghost, Emily. You may see her.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed the nachos, we love them too! Great to hear about the good service and that you know about our resident ghost, Emily. Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kirby House also viewed

Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 

Been to The Kirby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kirby House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.