We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Million dollar view and wonderful hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Looking Glass Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Looking Glass Inn
Save
You added The Looking Glass Inn to your Saves list
1100 S. Harbor, Grand Haven, MI 49417   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Grand Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, AL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Million dollar view and wonderful hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

The Looking Glass Inn was a gem of a B&B. Fantastic Location. The best views I've seen in a while. They have a wonderful deck overlooking the Lake and the lighthouse. The hosts were very hospitable and the breakfast was good. The B&B is located right across the street from the lake and just blocks from downtown. Highly recommended! The only drawback is this is not a friendly B&B for handicap people. There are a lot of stairs to climb. They do have a "trolley" that will take you up to the house, but unloading luggage, etc could pose a difficult task for some. Overall though it was FABULOUS! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Everything was great during our visit on July 19th and 20th. We stayed in the Lighthouse Room which was clean, peaceful and comfortable. Our delicious buffet breakfast on the large deck had a spectacular view of Lake Michigan from high on a bluff. Grand Haven State Park Beach is right across the road, and it is both expansive and clean. The pleasant, mile walk into town along the Grand River passes ice cream stands and restaurants. Grand Haven, like most Michigan lakeshore towns, is full of nice shops and restaurants. Rosy Mound Natural Area located about 4 miles south offers wooded dune trails leading to a desolate beach and is definitely worth the $6 parking fee. Save your parking receipt, pick up dinner from Fish X 2 in Spring Lake, and eat it by the water at North Beach Park without having to pay if you do it the same day. After dinner, climb up the sand dune stair trail which leads into North Ottawa Dunes County Park. This park also connects with PJ Hoffmaster State Park to the north and Coast Guard Park to the east resulting in miles of trails waiting to be explored on future excursions. Without a doubt, the Looking Glass Inn is a great place to stay for the very best of Michigan’s beaches, towns and parks.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

My husband and I had reservations about staying here for our trip to Grand Haven, as we are not usually Bed & Breakfast-ers. However, we are SO SO happy that we went ahead and booked a room there for the week. We wanted to stay on the beach, and this inn had the perfect location- right on the beach (Lake Michigan) and an easy walk to the pier, boardwalk, and Washington shops. Everything about our stay there was absolutely perfect- it was the CLEANEST hotel/inn I have ever stayed in, the owners were super friendly and kind, the breakfasts they made each morning were so delicious that we skipped lunch every day so we could really enjoy them, the views from our room and from their huge deck were gorgeous, the decor was relaxed and kind of antique-y but very clean and not cluttered (I'm not usually someone who likes antique-y but I liked this), the common area was large and inviting ( a dining room, a solarium, a living room, and a sitting room looking out to the deck and Lake Michigan). I would absolutely recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a fantastic spot to stay during a trip to Grand Haven- and this from someone who has not enjoyed any previous Bed & Breakfast stays!

*The only reasons I gave 4/5 for rooms and sleep quality were that the rooms were a little on the small side and that the floors were a little squeaky so we were nervous about waking up the other guests if we were up late or up early. However, these were not at all major problems- very very minor.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

A great long weekend get-a-way with my wife. The Looking Glass Inn is perfect if you are looking for great views/location, wonderful hosts and relaxation for a very reasonable price. The owners could not have been friendlier and the food was delightful. Other than the owners, the best part of this B&B is the view of the beach, lake and lighthouse. A short walk to town for nice shopping and more good food. We recommend JW's for a great meal as well. We love going to B&B's and the Looking Glass is now at the top of our list.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

I stayed at the Looking Glass for three nights, to allow exploration of Grand Haven and to see the 4th of July fireworks.

The views from the room of the beach and the pier were spectacular. Some nights I kept the blinds up so I could watch the lights out to sea, and wake up to watch boats going out fishing onto Lake Michigan.

Similarly, the view from the extensive decking, where everyone has breakfast. Under the partial shade of trees, beach and sea watching are the thing to do while munching through breakfast.

And of that food; different every day, depending on what Norma had cooked. The consistency was in how delicious and varied it was. Lunch was not really required on any day as there was more than plenty for breakfast. Breakfast was served at a sociable 9 in the morning, buffet style. Other guests at breakfast were always friendly and ameniable.

Why were the views so good? Because the Looking Glass is high up a very steep hill. But ... they have a trolley car that trundles up and down the hill for passengers and luggage, so it's just a few steps at the very bottom to reach the car.

Parking is free and in designated spots at the bottom of the trolley. Wifi was also free, quick and reliable. There was a useful fridge to store foods for our picnics on the beach.

The room itself was light and airy. The bed was good, and there was plenty of storage space. Nice bathroom.

Norma and Howie were ever helpful. When the car broke down on the first morning, a few quick phone calls by Norma helped secure cheap and quick repairs.

In seven trips to America, that's the best accommodation I've stayed in, bar none. I wish all B&Bs were like this, in America and Europe.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

My brand new husband and I stayed here for the last night of our honeymoon, but we wished we'd booked more time. The view of Lake Michigan and the Grand Haven lighthouse from the rooms and the breakfast balcony are simply incredible. This was not only our favorite B&B of the trip, it was also among the least expensive. Norma was a gracious host, we were a short walk across the street from the beach, and the breakfast was wonderful. I can't say enough good things. We're going back this year for our first anniversary -- and staying longer this time!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

You wont be unhappy if you choose to stay at the Looking Glass. But do be aware that 1) It is at the top of a hill, so you climb or use the funicular lift, which still involves a few steps 2) It is a good walk into the centre of the town 3) For such a wonderful location, we were very disappointed with the choice of restaurants, we didn't find one that we would recommend returning to (so stock up on the excellent breakfasts) 4) great public beach just across the road

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Looking Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Looking Glass Inn

Address: 1100 S. Harbor, Grand Haven, MI 49417
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grand Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Haven
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Looking Glass Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.