We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Wine trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Homestead

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Arbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Homestead
Save
You added The Homestead to your Saves list
1 Wood Ridge Road, Glen Arbor, MI 49636   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glen Arbor
Rockford, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Weekend Wine trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed Oct 2013 for a weekend getaway that involved wine tours in Northern Michigan. Stayed in Little Belle Suites which was a perfect location for us, rooms are adorable, very clean and very quiet, we felt as if we were the only couple staying at the lodge. Check in and out was easy and fast, staff all around were very friendly. We were gone most of the day but in the evening we went into Glen Arbor (about a 4 minute drive) and ate at one of the local restaurants. Visited Cherry Republic in Glen Arbor, if you love cherries they have EVERYTHING cherry! Great place!!
We love Northern Michigan and love staying at the Homestead, we will return!

Room Tip: Little Belle Suites are perfect for a couple traveling without children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
50Cinder,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us while you explored some of the great wineries in our area. We hope that you will come stay with us again to further explore the area and our property.

Warm Regards,

Jamie Jewell
VP Sales and Marketing
The Homestead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    94
    66
    37
    35
See reviews for
132
133
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
harrison twp
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

First time to be in Glen Arbor or the Homestead...AWESOME! Our niece handled all the planning w/the staff, but the reception, food, staff, grounds...EVEN MOTHER NATURE cooperated! The food @ the "Mountain Flowers Lodge" (I had the scallops & hubby had the filet) BAR NONE THE BEST WEDDING DINNER WE'VE EVER HAD! The staff, BARBARA, was in charge of our table all night...best service @ a wedding EVER....seriously, still bragging about her! The ski lift to the mountain top was an experience you don't normally have @ a wedding, how fun & scenic...much, much, much more than we expected!!

Room Tip: We asked for early check in (their normal time 5pm), got us in around 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
dave s,

Thanks for visiting and congratulations to your niece!

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our property and your experience at your niece's wedding. We are also very grateful for your kind comments about Barbara, we will be sure to share this review with her and her colleagues. We do hope that you will plan to come and visit us again very soon.

Warm Regards,

Jamie Jewell
VP Sales and Marketing
The Homestead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Have stayed in Hawks Nest condos at the Homestead for years. They are very near the top of the resort which is situated around ski slopes and par 3 golf course. The walks around the resort are amazing. We try to get a 3 bedroom end unit which would be the best of all worlds, but middle unit is not bad either. The condos are very nice with a cool screened in balcony that catches the nice evening breeze (well thought out design). Bedrooms usually have Queen beds, the 3 bedroom has a loft that also catches the breezy nights for cooler sleeping weather. Condos have fireplaces for winter, never used one but all units we ever stayed at had them.
We liked the Hawks Nest because we were always out on the beach or at the pools where we saw the sunset as opposed to our condo. Condos with lake view seem overpriced and we never saw the value or use.
The pools are just fantastic and great for kids. The pool behind the entrance has a water slide. The main pool has a zero gravity entrance and kids just love it. Walk fifty feet and you are on the shore of Lake Michigan. The beach is very nice but water is a bit cold..you can rent paddle boats, surf boards, and intertubes.
Sleeping bear dunes is a couple miles away, you can rent bikes or just walk it. Best golf course around is Manitou Passage 10 minutes away. 3-4 more with 30 minutes. Arcadia Bluffs is Pebble Beach of the midwest about 45 to an hour away.
Overall best place to vacation in up north Michigan, it has the best of everything right there.

Room Tip: look for end units in Hawks Nest - best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Larry S,

Thanks for visiting and for this great review. We love hearing from repeat guests (especially when they have such nice things to say)! Also thrilled to hear that you played golf at Manitou Passage Golf Club.

We look forward to hosting you and your family again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jamie Jewell
VP Sales and Marketing
The Homestead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at The Homestead for a brief 1 night stay recently. This was the perfect location for us. We had a beautiful room with a beautiful view. We are already talking about returning to send more time. And possibly having a small group of friends there as well.

Room Tip: Review their website before choosing the location/room that suits your needs. Each are of the resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
cooperspeople,

Thank you for visiting. We do hope that you will make plans to visit us again soon. We have far to much to see, taste, experience, and explore in just one day!

We look forward to the opportunity to host you and your friends in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jamie Jewell
VP Sales and Marketing
The Homestead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spectacular views...every amenity that you could ask for. Fine Dining, nature trails and killer sunsets await you.
You must dine at Nonna's...this is not a suggestion but a direct order. The resort is worth the price but make certain you get a room or condo with the lakeview. Watching the sunset over Sleeping Bear Dunes with a glass of wine in hand is how every vacation day should end.

Room Tip: get a lakeview room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Senior Manager Food and Beverage at The Homestead, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Nickandornella,

Thank you for visiting and for this wonderful review. I am thrilled you enjoyed our property. The sunsets truly are fantastic. I am also personally thrilled to hear that you enjoyed Nonna's. Our menu changes seasonally, and I do hope that you will make plans to come see us again soon. I also teach a limited number of cooking schools throughout the year.

The Homestead is a beautiful place to relax no matter the season.

Warm Regards,

John Piombo
Senior Manager Food and Beverage
The Homestead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, IL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I don't often give a hotel (or any business) a five-star rating, but I will break the rule for the Homestead.

Please note that this review only applies to the inn, where my family (wife and two boys ages 13 and 10) stayed for 4 nights in July. I can't speak to the condos, though I've seen mixed reviews of those.

We had a 2-bedroom, two-floor suite at the inn, with huge windows in most of the rooms overlooking Lake Michigan. The suite included a full-sized kitchen, living area and three bathrooms, as well as a small outdoor patio.

The suite was so large and spread out that it felt more like a home than a hotel room. Yes, we paid an extravagant price (around $600 a night), but this included all of the Homestead's amenities, including the wonderful outdoor pools and hot tubs (one was across the street from us), the beaches along the lake, the health club and boating. We were also close to the tennis courts, which were well maintained and never crowded, though we did have to pay a fee to use them.

We loved everything about our suite. The beds were huge and extremely comfortable. The bathrooms were roomy. The furniture was top quality, as were the three large TVs. The big windows with their memorable sunset views provided plenty of light (especially because the sun didn't set until 9:30 each night, an advantage of coming in mid-July). There were more pots and pans in this kitchen than in our kitchen at home.

We loved the feel of the resort, too. The people working there weren't the warmest, but they always seemed eager to help and certainly friendly enough. We enjoyed having the grocery store on site, and we took advantage of the health club a couple times - no complaints there.

I can't say much more about the scenery except it was as lovely as others have said in these reviews. Northern Michigan is one of my favorite places, and I love being right on the Great Lakes, so a location close to the shore was high on my list. The Homestead delivered on that and more.

If you want to splurge on a northern Michigan vacation, I can't recommend anything higher than this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the inn if you can afford it. I get the feeling these rooms are hard to come by an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Danimal15,

Wow, what a review! Thanks!

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Inn. We work hard to help our guests have great experiences, and while we don't always get it right; we are thrilled to hear from guests who have had great experiences.

Thank you for visiting, and for this great review. We hope you and your family will come see us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Jamie Jewell
VP Sales and Marketing
The Homestead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Three friends and I stayed in the Logger's Run development. It was nice with an incredible view of the sand dunes and water. Two had never been to the area before, and they really loved it. I would recommend getting the lake view instead of forest view (you can always see trees. It's the lake that's so beautiful.) We tried to eat dinner there on Sunday night and found all the restaurants closed. One recommendation would be to keep one restaurant open every day (even during the off season) for those that are returning from touring around 7 and haven't bought groceries.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
GirlOH,

Thank you for visiting and for the great review. We are thrilled to hear that you introduced some new visitors to the area. Fall is a wonderful time to be at The Homestead.

Thanks again, we look forward to hosting you and yours again soon.

Best Regards,

Jamie Jewell
VP Sales and Marketing
The Homestead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead

Address: 1 Wood Ridge Road, Glen Arbor, MI 49636
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glen Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 197
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
Homestead Glen Arbor
Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
The Homestead Michigan/Glen Arbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.