We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay at The Homestead yet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Homestead

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Arbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Homestead
Save
You added The Homestead to your Saves list
1 Wood Ridge Road, Glen Arbor, MI 49636   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glen Arbor
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best stay at The Homestead yet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

It can be expensive, but you get what you pay for. We rented a condo in Ship's Watch and the view of the lake, Dunes, and South Manitou Island are breathtaking. There's no better way to end the day than seeing the sun set on the lake. Once it gets dark you can see the South Manitou Light.

Back to the accommodations...they were very clean and the housekeeping staff was phenomenal - attentive and friendly. We were there the first week of June so the resort was very quiet, but we tendvto prefer it that way. There's a lot for the family to do here, even more during the high season. We stay all over when we come Up North and have stayed here several times and will do so again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    94
    66
    37
    35
See reviews for
132
133
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked 4 nights at the end of May going on rave reviews and input from friends...unfortunately our experience of this "moderately high end" property was beyond disappointing. We stayed in their Stoney Brook Lodge...a 1 bedroom suite with kitchenette...

The condition of the suite, particularly the bathroom(water stains on wallpaper from shower, holes in wall from hooks removed, shower valves installed backwards), missing common items in the kitchenette, lack of attention to detail by housekeeping, 1970's televisions with minimal contrast, tacky remotes with back missing, not to mention poor and incorrect guest information, just for starters left us wondering how this property had garnered such glowing recommendations.

While the staff was very willing to correct concerns, the first 24 hours of our stay was overshadowed by constantly having to contact them to the point of ridiculousness. Upon return a 19 point letter was emailed to the general manager, Adriene Kokowitz who responded predictably as managers often do, expressing regret, noting that upgrades were in the process-like I said, predictable. Moreover she very oddly focused on bedroom mattress and fabric issues which were never part of the expressed concerns. As a highly experienced international traveler who has stayed in properties ranging from very modest bed and breakfasts to prestige end properties over 35 years, how the Homestead ranks as one of the 'top 30 resorts' in the country is a mystery unless it is banking its reputation on the exquisite surrounding landscape. In our experience with this property was a far cry from Kohler's American Club and others in this category.

Room Tip: I would never recommend this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Public Relations Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us after your stay. We are truly sorry that you spent valuable vacation time resolving issues as a result of the condition you found the accommodation in upon check in. The Homestead is, in fact, upgrading three of the four hotel accommodations. The upgrade includes new “smart” televisions and décor such as bed coverings. That does not excuse our lack of attention to the amenities or the condition of the unit.

Please know that the information you shared with Adriene was communicated directly with our Housekeeping and Maintenance associates and are being rectified.

Thank you again for taking the time to communicate with us. We do hope you will consider visiting us again.

Warm Regards,

Jamie Jewell
Vice President, Sales and Marketing
The Homestead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Enjoyed our stay, and feel that the leelanau peninsula is one of the most beautiful parts of the country. Hiking, dining, shopping and visiting the wineries are just great. The true north distillery was very worthwhile.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

A lovely and massive resort nestled in the state park. Great getaway location with expansive services. We got a room at Fiddler's Pond as it was dog friendly. Nice room with a gas fireplace overlooking the heated pool. The grounds are spectacular. Facilities really cater to families for summer or skiing getaways. Close to lovely Glen Arbor, the Leelaneau peninsula wineries/Fishtown, and Traverse City.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The weather was cool...65 degrees but blue sky and 3 shades of blue in Lake Michigan. Breakfast at Arts was great. Dinner at blu an event. Needed this relaxing 3 days. Came back home completely refreshed. Next time we'll get to one of our favs...NONNAS. Love true Italian.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Mi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Here is a lovely facility on Lake Michigan and Sleeping Bear Dunes where you can go and relax. It has golf, tennis, an exercise room, a spa, restaurants on site, beautiful pools, walking trails, skiing in the Winter and boating in the summer and 71,000 acres to wander around and breathe. Enjoy.

Room Tip: There are different places to stay on site-several kinds of hotels (near a pool, near the Lake, in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in Fiddlers Pond the weekend before Memorial Day. We were impressed with the Homestead grounds and amenities. However, the May flies and loud music til midnight from a wedding next door kept the trip from being perfect. We will definitely book a room closer to the lake or with a view from Loggers Run next time we stay. FYI There is a generous policy to let you use the pool after you check out (keep your room keycard)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead

Address: 1 Wood Ridge Road, Glen Arbor, MI 49636
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glen Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 197
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
Homestead Glen Arbor
Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
The Homestead Michigan/Glen Arbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.