We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stoney Brook Condos in the Homestead” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Homestead

Save Saved
You added The Homestead to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Homestead
1 Wood Ridge Road, Glen Arbor, MI 49636   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Glen Arbor
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stoney Brook Condos in the Homestead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in the Stoney Brook condos (2 bed/2bath) in Aug 2012. It was a great fit for our family of 4. The kitchen could have been better (it had a stove, but no oven!). There was daily maid service.

It's not cheap, but you are paying for the other shared amenities: the condos had their own pool with nice view. The main beach house has amazing views, a hot tub in addition to pool and lounges, rental kayaks, etc. We also used the childcare, which was wonderful.

Nonna's food is top-notch. Highly recommend.

I wanted to make an appointment at the spa day-of, but was disappointed they never returned my call nor answered the phone.

I'd stay there again, although there are nicer and wider beaches just north (all the beaches are connected) with vacation house rentals I might also price out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    81
    55
    28
    30
See reviews for
109
114
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the Little Belle guest room, which is perfect for a romantic getaway. Very spacious, with a seperate bedroom and living room. The room was clean with many nice ammenities - fireplace, spa tub, flat screen TV's, refrigerator, and most importantly, a comfortable king size bed. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The grounds are very scenic and they have a nice little ski hill that you can access a short walk from the room. Great proximity to Sleeping Bear Dunes and beautiful beaches.

Room Tip: For a couples getaway, I would recommend the Little Belle, second floor if possible, better view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in room 1 at the Inn. It was a one bedroom suite with a separate living area, kitchen and gas fireplace. It was very well kept, classy, but a bit dated. Our bed was comfortable and we had a separate tv in the bedroom. The bathroom was clean with a jacuzzi tub that was deep but a bit small. The building is beautiful and overlooks Lake Michigan. The lobby had a very stately feel to it. It was the off season so it was quiet and very serene. There is a lot to do at the Homestead. We had dinner at Nonna's (separate review), and enjoyed walking around the property. We would highly recommend the duet spa at Spa Amira. It is a bit pricy, but it was well worth it. Very professional, soothing, and an overall great experience. The reception area was very nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They even researched the wineries that were open because we wanted to do some wine tasting.

On the down side (there isn't much), we had scheduled a cooking class with the chef that was cancelled because not enough people signed up. Also, everything is far enough apart that you have to get in your car and drive. The Inn is quite a good distance from the restaurants, stores and spa. Although in the summer it would be great with the beach being very close buy. Parking is also a short walk as well.

Our biggest dissapointment was the breakfast buffet at the CQ Cabin. While the assortment of breakfast items was nice, everything we ate was cold. My eggs benedict with potatoes, and my wife's scrambled eggs with sausage looked good, but were miserable. It was as if they had been sitting there for a long time. Also, it is not a one-price buffet. Some of the items are more expensive that others so you have to watch what you buy. Not sure I would do this again. Bring some eggs and make breakfast in your room kitchen.

Overall it was a wonderful weekend and I would recommend it! Would love to go back in the summer and see the beauty of that season.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Beautuful view from the top of the ski hill, just stunning. The Homestead a great place for skiing, glof, summer fun. We have been there for skiing many times, the property has all kinds of differant rentals. The last two years we have been in a three bedroom, 2.5 bath condo which were both very very nice. Before we have stayed in rooms at Fiddler's Pond which were great. Stayed in the smaller condo's also. The skiing isn't Colorado but it fun and a great place to take the family. Spa Amira is just wonderful, facials, massage are out of this world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We booked the Little Belle for our anniversary and what a treat it was. The 2 person jacuzzi, super romantic. Nice to have a t.v in the bedroom and sitting room. Fireplace was a very nice touch. Bed was super comfy. The ladies or gents that kept the room cleaned and stocked did a fine job. The only things we could say need improvement are new pillows, they were a tad flat but no huge issue because we also brought our own. Also we know curtains are expensive but the blinds have openings where you can pretty much see right to the jacuzzi, granted you have to be right up to the window to see, but still something to think about. It was very quiet but we checked in on Thanksgiving Day so I think we had the place to ourselves. No complaints there.

The store there was manned by a very nice man. Very helpful and really acted like he enjoyed his job. I just wished I got his name so he could get the kudos. Another person we wanted to make sure we acknowledge was Robin at the front desk. Every time I talked to her it was truly a pleasure. Always pleasant, never impatient despite my many questions. We did not book at another resort because of the person that answered the phone for the business acted like it was a bother to answer our questions. It shows the importance of the first person you have contact in any business is critical in how you"ll feel about doing business with them. In this way Robin excelled.

We had dinner at Nonna's. We can see why they have received high marks. It was excellent. It was awesome just to walk to the restaurant from our room. Wellington was our waiter and he did a fine job. He found out it was our anniversary and he brought us some champagne. My husband ordered the yellow split pea zuppa, the flavors were out of this world. I had the skillet roasted mussels,. I thought I was going to die, the diversity of the flavors were outstanding. My husband then ordered the dry aged ribeye. I had to stop him from licking the plate. I ordered the gnocchi, yes once again delish. The prices were fair and the portions were very good. Wonderful evening to remember for our 9th anniversary. Thank you so much for everything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Came back to the Homestead for a board meeting 2011. The accomodations are very good and the staff is well trained. Its the grounds of the Homestead that make this place so special. No other place in the world has all this fresh water and sand. Be sure to grab a cocktail and watch the sunset. As they say, no salt, no sharks, no worries.

Room Tip: This place is best in the summer and fall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovid, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We love the package deal that they offer for the Toast of the Season wine trail event. Great price that includes 2 nights, breakfast buffet both mornings, and tickets to the event. It is a bit off the beaten path, but also eliminates the big crowds and hustle and bustle of Traverse City. It is only about a 25/30 minute drive further west. The views are great! We want to return during the summer months and do a family vacation!

Room Tip: We really like the King Size rooms. Better to choose the rooms on the ground floor as they seem a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead

Address: 1 Wood Ridge Road, Glen Arbor, MI 49636
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Glen Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
Homestead Glen Arbor
Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
The Homestead Michigan/Glen Arbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.