We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Pizza” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riverfront Pizza & Deli

Riverfront Pizza & Deli
6281 Western Ave (M22), Glen Arbor, MI 49636
231.334.3876
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Glen Arbor
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza, Seafood, Hamburgers, Greek, Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrible Pizza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We went to go get some pizza from river front and I just wanted a slice. They said no slices avalible so I had to get a small. The small is $13! And it taste like crap. Let me just say, save your money and go to arts or boones instead.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best burgers in Glen Arbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Forget Art's....Boonedocks....Western Ave.....you will find the best burger in town at Riverfront, and for some reason they are still a well-kept secret. Cooked to order & quality ingredients.

If burgers aren't your thing, they make great fresh salads, wraps, and sandwiches. Pizza is also the best in Glen Arbor (although there aren't many choices for this here). If you're here in the off-season, Riverfront keeps up their high standards with amazing soups and weekly sandwich/salad specials. Lots of locals have made this their favorite lunch place.

Service in the busy months may be a little spottier (always friendly, just may take a bit longer), but the food is consistently good.

Order burgers or a pizza to go and watch the sunset on the beach. You'll have saved $ and had the best dining experience in town!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Want great pizza, a salad, or sandwich . . . this is the place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

There aren't a lot of choices in Glen Arbor, but this dual (Bad Sue's and Riverfront Pizza) option is awesome. For lunch (only open until 4 p.m.), Bad Sue's cannot be beat. It's a little pricey, but well worth it. The Greek Salad Platter is almost too much for one person to eat! Soups are always great (I had the creamy tortilla soup on my most recent visit.) And, on the Pizza side of the shared kitchen, the subs are amazing. We tried the Italian (substituted havarti for swiss) and the Ham and Cheese were served on awesome, toasty rolls that spilled out the over abundant contents. Messy and wonderful! Now, to the pizza! Unlike the "other" pizza place in town, the crust here is clearly hand-tossed and baked to a golden crispness. I haven't tried the specialty pizza as I think the best test of a pizza place is how it does the simple . . . peperoni and/or sausage. Here, they were great. Not too much cheese (which makes for a gloppy, dull pizza), and spicy sauce (not like the "spagetti" sauce on the "other" place's pizza) make this Glen Arbor's best tasting pie! Enjoy your meal while sitting along the Crystal River and imagine gondolas instead of kayaks! Best pizza I've tasted outside of Venice (Italy not California) with the exception of Florence (which is, without a doubt, the best pizza venue on earth.
[Some reviewers have complained about service. If you are concerned about the wait for your food . . . hey, it's popular and can get busy, just call ahead with your order. But, it's worth the wait! If it's not busy, then your food is ready in 15 minutes!]

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This little deli has the best sandwiches, salads, soups, etc. The chef, who calls herself Bad Sue (Bad Sue's Good Food) is very good. This place is hidden away in a little building in Glen Arbor, just across from the M22 store. I love this place, and sort of hate to share it, as I don't want it to get too crowded--but they are great, and I want them to do well, So, now you know!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stopped in on Memorial day and had the turkey havarti and tortilla soup. The sandwich was fresh and delicious and the soup was tasty! I would recommend this place to anyone stopping through Glen Arbor. There are only a few tables indoors, but there are two patios right on the river. The view is great and serene. It is pricey, but the food is high quality. It's okay though, you're on vacation, right? :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverfront Pizza & Deli also viewed

Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 

Been to Riverfront Pizza & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverfront Pizza & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.