We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay and visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glen Arbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
6680 Western Avenue, P.O. Box 648, Glen Arbor, MI 49636   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Glen Arbor B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great place to stay and visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Sylvan Inn on the way up to Mackinac Island. We stopped there to stay and visit the sleeping bear national state park. The Inn was fantastic and right in town. The innkeepers were very nice and friendly offering good advice on were to shop and eat. We absolutely loved the cherry hot chocolate in the cool evening while relaxing on the front porch!
We loved our very large room and the great hot tub! We wished the hot tub was open till later, but it was very nice after a rainy day.
We would love to go back and stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
52
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Had a wonderful two-day stay at the Sylvan Inn. The rooms are very clean and all aspects of the Inn well maintained. They are a little smaller maybe than some places, because this was originally a lumberman's boarding house from the 1800s. The Inn is perfectly appointed with many antiques, and is true in design to the age of the Inn.

My wife is particular about cleanliness, and it fully met her requirements. She loved our stay there.

Breakfast was just right - fresh fruit, lighter home made pastries and granola, juice, coffee, etc. You help yourself, which to me was preferable to dealing with getting served, but some might feel otherwise.

Best part was the genuinely helpful and accomodating owners, Ralph and Rose. They booked dinner reservs for us at Blu, which was an extraordinary dining experience, which I will write up under restaurants.

Location is right in town Glen Arbor, so you can walk to the shops and handful of restaurants in town, and also to the Lake Michigan beach (although better sections for beaching and even walking are a short drive away). There is a small amount of road noise during the day and early evening, but I am hypersensitive to this and even I did not really mind it. Only be aware that the location is an "in town" rather than an "on the lake" location. But it is a pretty sleepy little town that shuts down early, so by 10 it is pretty still outside.

Aside - My ratings are as a B&B experience, particularly a northern MIchigan one. It is not a full service hotel or a resort. If you like B&Bs, and enjoy "up north" travel, you will love this Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Nice B&B near the beach. Friendly owners. The room was clean and pleasant, and not overstuffed with decorations and some B&Bs do. Nice touches were a hot-tub, and good shampoo and shower-gel in the bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stayed at the Sylvan Inn for an anniversary get-away. The room very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Sylvan Inn is not your ordinary B&B and the Inn Keepers are wonderful to chat with.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

My husband and I spent two nights at the Sylvan Inn and loved it. The location is perfect--just enough apart from the charming but busy town of Glen Arbor to merit its name. We spotted a red fox while sitting on the porch one evening. Ralph and Rose were excellent hosts, our room was lovely and spotless, the grounds beautifully maintained. The breakfasts were great--not too heavy, with plenty of fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, pastries, and very good coffee. I learned to sprinkle a little of the chocolate cherry mixture (a local product) on my coffee, which I usually drink black, and eventually purchased a bag of this mixture to take home. What a great idea! We loved the little touches that made the inn really feel like home. The second morning, we woke to no electricity, thanks to a storm during the night, but the generator was quickly fired up, coffee was soon available and breakfast was served just a little bit late. The inn is a little pricey, but we felt it was worth it. The area is wonderful, too, with the spectacular Sleeping Bear dunes close by, the beach around the corner, and great roads for biking. Glen Arbor is full of high-quality shops and very good restaurants. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

The Sylvan Inn is a B&B with the best qualities of both a hotel and a B& B. The owners/staff are very friendly, eager to please, & helpful without being intrusive. The location is perfect (just on the edge of town, but a very short walk to downtown Glen Arbor). The rooms are very clean, cute, quiet, & well maintained. There is free wireless internet throughout the inn including the rooms. There is a beverage center with water, ice, a mini fridge, & wine glasses. The free breakfasts were great also. The owners are very helpful with tips about the area & directions. We had a wonderful stay & hope to return in the future. We will be sending friends & family as well. Don't miss your chance to stay at this great B & B!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mundelein ill.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

My new wife and I were looking for a place to spend our honeymoon and I ran across a brochure for the Sylvan Inn. We wanted our privacy yet looked for some personal attention. Our hosts provided us with both. We stayed in their penthouse room which had a private balcony. The room was decorated very nicely and gave it lots of charm. Breakfast was served every morning and we had plenty of information about the area provided. Our future vacation plans have yet to be determined but we do know we want to return soon. I would recommend the Sylvan Inn to anyone.

  • Liked — personal attention
  • Disliked — could have had a better view from the balcony
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 6680 Western Avenue, P.O. Box 648, Glen Arbor, MI 49636
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful historic 14 room Inn in the heart of the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore Park. Walk to charming downtown Glen Arbor for boutique shopping, art galleries, restaurants and more. 2 Blocks to beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sylvan Inn Bed And Breakfast
The Sylvan Hotel Glen Arbor
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast Michigan/Glen Arbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.