We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant overnight stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stanley House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Further Lane, Mellor BB2 7NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellor
Cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A pleasant overnight stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed with my partner in one of the Woodland rooms. These rooms are stylish and very modern with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the countryside. The bathrooms are well equipped with a double ended bath and large walk in shower with huge shower head. Only niggle with the Woodland rooms is the doors close very noisily so you can hear others coming and going during the night.
The Spa is really relaxing with both the hydrotherapy pool and sauna having full length windows overlooking the countryside.
We had dinner in Fred's and we were a little disappointed as the food at best was average. We also paid £37 for a bottle of wine and the waitress spilt an amount when filling our glasses. The bar area would benefit from a real fire instead of the fake one stuck to the wall. This would also help to create a better atmosphere as the whole area lacked ambiance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    66
    33
    11
    2
See reviews for
51
116
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
skipton,north yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

What a super Hotel/Events Venue,a combination of the Old Manor House plus modern additions and a spa have created a quite exceptional experience which we all enjoyed when celebrating our daughters wedding.
From the genuinely warm welcome ona cold snow bound day to the smiling professional staff in every area of the hotel we found a gem in this spot.

All our family members and friends enjoyed their stay,the well organised ceremony,a lovely well served wedding lunch and a really well appointed rooms for everything.
sincere thanks to all at Stanley House for helping to make our daughters special day truly wonderful

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 in the Old Manor are super and quaint,individual room thermostats kept us warm as toas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here while on a business trip in January 2013. I stayed in Room 1 in the Manor House and it was a wonderful room. I had full use of the spa as part of my stay and was lucky to have sole use as it was not busy - the Spa really was world class. There isn't a swimming pool (only a very large Hydrotherapy pool) or gym . I ate in the Grill on the Hill restaurant and felt the food was almost Michelin star quality, the starter and dessert in particular.

Breakfast was in Fred's and was very nice.

10 out of 10 for this hotel

Room Tip: Room 1 in the Manor house was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had a couple of nights here - in the bridal suite - it was beautiful. Decor was ivory and gold, good quality furniture, four poster bed, large well equipped modern bathroom. Meet and greet was pleasant and professional. Prompt and friendly attention in the bar areas. Excellent dinners both evenings in the Grill on the Hill. Front of house and all her staff were very good. The chef has some brilliant ideas and it seems his locally sourced meat/game/fish is very popular. We certainly enjoyed the fish and Bowland lamb. All beautifully cooked and presented. Only quibble would be breakfast - young and willing staff, very friendly but buffet could certainly be improved. Otherwise, we were very happy with the whole break.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We live local and I was trying to find somewhere "grown-up" for afternoon tea for my daughters birthday with other family members. What a treat - can't believe this has been just around the corner from us for so long. We were taken through to the conservatory and the decor really impressed. We ordered coffees and selections of cakes - my mums scones had been freshly baked, still warm, a selection of three different types. My daughter had a trio of cake that were really scrummy and we were really treated well by the staff. Can't wait to go back!
The new spa looked fab too!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst Green, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I visited the main restaurant here with my girlfriend and her parents for her birthday and it was an amazing night. Excellent choice of drinks, a wonderful meal and great service. Nothing negative to say about this place at all except the hangover I woke up with after sampling one too many of the cocktails!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Dined at Mr Fred's for lunch following a recommend, having not visited Stanley House before. Totally impressed with the service and surroundings and the food was superb, especially the desserts. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Address: Further Lane, Mellor BB2 7NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Mellor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanley House Hotel & Spa is set in 54 acres of Ribble Valley countryside in Mellor, Lancashire, Stanley House Hotel is a stunning, award-winning hotel. With 30 first-class bedrooms, unrivalled wedding and conference facilities, the stylish Grill on the Hill restaurant, the hugely popular Mr Fred's bar and lounge and a world-class spa, Stanley House is truly a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Stanley House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel Mellor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.