We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond in the rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's Retreat Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaylord
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ray's Retreat Country Inn
Save
You added Ray's Retreat Country Inn to your Saves list
9311 Old 27 South, Gaylord, MI 49735   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Gaylord B&B and Inns
Bay City, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Upon first glance, Rays Retreat appears to be like any other roadside inn. But once you look at everything, its a homey, pleasant place with extremely friendly owners that will do anything and everything to make sure your stay with them is comfortable. Every morning they serve a hot breakfast (homemade) between 7:30-9:30 included with every room which gives it a bed and breakfast feel. Its in a dining room with family style tables which encourages friendly interaction. Mike Ray knows so much about the area, the trails, conditions. Etc and is happy to talk about it. Right by the trailhead, its a ride in ride out motel. It was filled with fellow snowmobilers. The best part is they allow pets (we have 2 little dogs that we can never find a sitter for) and the Rays have a nice Golden Retriever named Sparky! The room we stayed in was one of the "retro" rooms- number 7- which we first thought looked a bit tiny but was clean and comfy for just the 2 of us. Free wifi, cable, fridge, and microwave are standard amenities along with hot and continental breakfast, donuts, danish, coffee, juice etc. great little place for the price! They make you feel like family!! Remember to sign the guestbook in the dining room and leave the Rays a nice tip if you can. They havent raised their prices and never do. What you see is what you get. And they always seem to be packed so you know they are doing something right! Its not a Ritz Carlton but what do you expect for $50-75 per night??? Make sure to make reservations a few weeks in advance because they fill up fast! Will definitely be returning soon!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cass City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed one night to attend family reunion in Gaylord. Liked being on the back side, away from road noise. Back side has a friendly gathering area around a campfire plit with adequate seating. Bird feeders. Really good place to have a group gathering. Quiet.

Room Tip: Stay on the back side (East)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Very friendly staff, you'll be in good company for breakfast. No maid service, a little on the rough side of things. The newer addition is more modern and accomodating. The owner is currently updating the original building. Dog friendly, group campfires in summer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ray's Retreat Country Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
We apreciate each and every person who comes to stay with us. We have been working to update the downstairs rooms. We always advise customers who choose to stay in a downstairs rooms that these are the 'retro' rooms. Due to being older rooms they are smaller and 'dated'. We always strive for clean rooms. We would ask any customer who has not felt their room was as clean as it should be to please let us know immediately. We will take care of the problem and offer a different room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elyria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

this was our first vacation in 27 years without kids,very happy we chose rays.thank you mike and ann

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White lake
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I stayed at rays for a golf outing. I stayed in the old part. All of my friends stayed at the Hampton inn. I will never stay at rays again.
The room was dirty. The bed was like sleeping on a sheet of plywood. The shower was just old. Like a old prison bathroom.
If you need to check out before 7 they act like your waking them up.
I would not be surprised if they have bed bugs.
They really need to update.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

room was dirty. i would have gone elsewhere but was too tired to drive anymore.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrolia,Ontario
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

The owners and operators of Rays Retreat and Country Inn are very friendly and the atmosphere is awsome with lots of parking. I stayed there for a snomobile trip. We stayed upstairs in the newer part, the rooms could of used a vacuming as the were dead flies on the floor and under the bed. The breakfast in the morning was good.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ray's Retreat Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Retreat Country Inn

Address: 9311 Old 27 South, Gaylord, MI 49735
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gaylord
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Country Inn Gaylord
Gaylord Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray's Retreat Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.