We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of food, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bennethum's Northern Inn

Bennethum's Northern Inn
3917 Old South 27, Gaylord, MI 49735
989-732-9288
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 58 Restaurants in Gaylord
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Lewiston, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lots of food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

LOVED this place, went with a friend and did the "shared" dinner deal...lamb chops, soup, bread, bone in rib-eye and crab legs...this was all for 2 people and was only $89.00...food was EXCELLENT. Our server Danielle was exceptonal and she explained that everyone that works there tastes the food and that allows them to speak with experience on the offerings. I think that is a GREAT idea. Wonder if I could work there part time just for the food???? (wink)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    35
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We ate at this wonderful restaurant in January. The food is very good and the prices are reasonable for the quality and level of service.

We especially enjoy that they have monthly themes in which they change their menu, very clever and very tasty! January is Greek month and I had the lamb chops which were outstanding.

We will be back and would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to friends.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wonderful food, great wines. Super bar area. Every month different food choices. Wonderful place to dine!!!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice for up north”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I feel this establishment Is overpriced. The perch was excellent as it should be for 21 dollars without much of anything else. The kids meals were all over 10 bucks! My wife ordered the tortellini and it was like the chef dumped a bottle of salt. They are one of the few upscale places in town, so I don't think they get much competition, which is the only way they could be number 1 in Gaylord. I would hope if this is number one, other restaurants in Gaylord could easily take that spot from Bennethums.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, Owner at Bennethum's Northern Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are glad you thought the Perch were excellent. That dish is one of our best sellers every month. We do indeed have a kids menu with six homemade items on it, however, the only item over ten dollars is the Filet Mignon with French Fries. I’m sorry that you thought the tortellini was over seasoned. It is a very popular and flavorful entree. We are always more than happy to re-make a dish if it is not prepared to your liking. Best wishes for the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

What a wonderful find in Northern Michigan! The food is outstanding. The chef is highly creative, changing the menu monthly for a variety of different themes. The quality of food is first class. The staff are very welcoming and knowledgeable. Fine wines, great food and good company make a winning combination.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennethum's Northern Inn also viewed

Gaylord, Otsego County
Gaylord, Otsego County
 
Gaylord, Otsego County
 

Been to Bennethum's Northern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bennethum's Northern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.