We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Gaylord” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Gaylord

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Gaylord to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 West Main Street, Gaylord, MI 49735   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
detroit
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Gaylord”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Nice looking room, good size, flat panel TV a plus, good sleeping, nice pool area. Best in the area, and far superior to the former Holiday Inn (now not affiliated with any chain and called simply the 'Alpine Lodge') on the other side of the freeway.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    29
    9
    3
See reviews for
46
37
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otter Lake, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

I traveled here with a group of 4 friends (including myself) on a ski weekend to Boyne Mountain. The price was right as we used a military discount and got the room for $70/night and I? think even that was too much to pay. We stayed for 3 days and 2 nights. Our room was never cleaned, our garbage never emptied and our towels never replenished. The second day I went to the front desk with a plastic bag full of our towels and washcloths and asked for replacements. I was told they would bring them right up to our room...they never arrived. A few hour later I went back to the front desk and asked again. I was told they would bring them right up to our room and 5 minutes later someone did arrive with 4 washcloths and 4 bath mats (NOT towels) and was told the hotel was out of towels. Saturday mornings breakfast left something to be desired. Only cold cereal, yogurt and breads were served and I was told the "hot items" such as omlettes and biscuits/gravy kept "kicking off the breaker and might not make it out". Sunday morning the items were there, but the biscuits were still frozen in the middle. The workout room is really a joke...just an elliptical and a bike.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Lake,IN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I am very happy with this hotel. When we arrived the staff at the front desk was super nice and helpful. The rooms were very nice and very clean. The pool was very nice. I would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Stayed here over Labor Day weekend. Hotel was clean, safe. Faint smell of smoke in hallway but hotel was non-smoking. Not the most luxurious of newest in the chain, but definitely a good place to stay. We would return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario/Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Right off the interstate - nice pool/hot tub/exercise room etc
Nothing really bad to say - nice beds/bathrooms and extra sink outside the main bathroom. Cold breakfast and hot cinamon buns were a hit with the kids. All breakfast items were being constantly replenshied. Would stay again if going through the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Clemens, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

My hubby and I stayed here with our 2 kids in room #310. We had no problems other than the receptionist being extremely rude upon check-in. The pool was great (and warm!); both our kids really enjoyed it. The room was clean. Beds aren't the greatest, but I've had worse. The "free" breakfast they advertise was nothing special; you might consider going out for breakfast instead. My in-laws stayed as well (rooms 308, 309 and 311) and had no issues.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi MI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night while in town for a family event. The rooms were very nice and updated. However we had the worst night's sleep due to pipes banging in the walls all night. We were on the first floor and I would recommend if you're staying here to get on the 2nd floor. Also stay far away from the stair wells since we could hear everyone going up and down even though we were 3 rooms away . Pool was nice size and there is a sm. workout room w/ a treadmill and bike. Convenient in town location. Typical budget hotel breakfast. Staff was nice and did make an adjustment on our room rate for the maintenance problem. If we ever go here again, it would only be if we could get a 2nd floor room.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gaylord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gaylord

Address: 1201 West Main Street, Gaylord, MI 49735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gaylord 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Gaylord, in Northern Michigan, 45 minutes from beautiful Mackinac Island and located on the 45th parallel Gaylord, Michigan. Guest rooms are equipped with refrigerators, free wired/wireless high-speed Internet access and a 27 cable television with HBO & voice mail. King rooms offer 32' HD LCD TVs with DVD players. Free DVD rentals are available at the front desk! We also offer Jacuzzi rooms. Enjoy the spectacular hot Smart Start breakfast and our indoor heated pool, hot tub, dry sauna and fitness center. Our 2 meeting rooms accommodate 6-50 people. For outdoor enthusiasts we are minutes to Treetops Golf Resorts, Boyne Mountain and Shanty Creek. Join us in Gaylords golf Mecca with 24 of Michigan finest golf courses.Upcoming events: Boyne Morel mushroom Festival, regional hockey playoffs, soccer tournament, and baseball camp, trout season is open! Guides available. Plenty of shopping and restaurants are located nearby as are Halliburton, Wal-Mart, Lowe s, Home Depot, Norandex, Georgia Pacific, Wolverine Power, Holland Dist. Gordon Foods , M-DOT, MIDNR, Nabisco, Reinhart, and the Ostego County Sportsplex. We are FEMA approved for all federal and state meetings. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Gaylord! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gaylord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord Hotel Gaylord
Holiday Inn Gaylord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Gaylord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.