We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benjamin's Beaver Creek Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gaylord
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benjamin's Beaver Creek Resort
Save
You added Benjamin's Beaver Creek Resort to your Saves list
5004 W. Otsego Lake, Gaylord, MI 49735   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

After reading the early August post, I began to have second thoughts. Had been to this resort many times in the past and never really had a reason to use the pool or water slide. Didn't use them this time either.

Was very pleasantly surprised to se that the Rental Office had moved down into the condo area and the grounds looked excellent. Last time I was up there a few years ago, the grounds looked bone dry and only the weeds had any growth potential.

As usual, JACH Properties set us up with a very nice, clean condo. We used one of the condos with wireless access and it allowed us to connect with the home office. Great place, beautiful grounds and we'll definitely be back........

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    3
    2
    8
See reviews for
18
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ishpeming, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Called to the resort to make reservations for a camp site for august 12th thru 16th. got them and we were planning our trip when we discovered the motorhome had a major problem and we would have to cancel. Called to cancel and owner Dave said thats too bad but if I wanted he could put me up in rental unit.We accepted and what a great suprise he gave us a choice between a trailer,fifth wheel or park model.We chose the park model called the Chill Out Inn. The place is faboulus with flat screen tvs, electric fireplace, the owners of the Chill Out Inn have made sure that it is very relaxing and comfortable and clean. They had nice log furniture at the fire pit and we enjoyed our stay so much the wife said why do we even have a motorhome if places like this are available
the resort is showing its age but we see work going on to improve the resort

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

WOW! We booked a weekend to camp with family and to consider membership. We arrived on Saturday adn left on Monday. We booked two sites and were "bumped" by members to an area that barely fit my travel trailer. Water and electric were too far away even for my 30ft extensions. The waterslide was the main draw for the 4 kids we have and the pond had cleaner water. When this was adressed with one of the owners we were told that since we were there on a "Discounted Stay" she was losing money on us and was not concerned. Well, there went any chance of us getting a membership. The discounted stay was a draw to get people there and everyone we spoke to was disappointed with the accomodations and the fact that the "BIG" draw was a sludge bath. The putter golf course is falling apart. The railings are missing or broken, the railroad tie steps are rotted and there were broken brick borders everywhere. After 3 other sites checked out for lack of a water slide the owners drained and refilled the pool for the waterslide. Well, this was on a Sunday and it was late in the afternoon when they opened it. Most of campers were checking out already!! Our family of 5 and my in-laws of 3 will not be re-booking a trip or recommending one to any friends to Beaver Creek. I am glad to see at one time people were happy going there, but it's not what the pictures show it to be. Happy Camping.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Given the state of the economy in Michigan and the 50% occupancy rate in the height of the season, you would think that the management would be bending over backwards to accommodate its guests. The waterslide, the biggest attraction, is only open two times a day for two hours. Typically, they opened it late but didn't keep it open for the full two hours. We inquired with the management and got accosted for our "attitude" when we expressed our disappointment. Then, they got even more worked up about it and shut it down for everyone in the camp. It was sad, especially for the disappointed kids. When you pay $1300 for a cabin, you would expect a little more or at least not to be yelled at and punished for expecting what you paid for.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Vacationed here over the Christmas holiday season (again) and we all had a wonderful time as usual. This place is really hoppin' this time of year, and the snow was excellent. Kevin Henley greeted us at the new check-in location down in the condo area, which was a pleasant surprise. We had to contact him once during our stay because the portable microwave went kaput. Within an hour of contacting us, he came back with a brand new one for us! Gotta like that!!!

Excellent service, perfect snowmobiling conditions, and a real nice condo at an excellent price. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

Beaver Creek Resort was amazing! We were scheduled for a promotional rate in one of the cabins for 99$!!!! All we had to do was take a presentation to learn more about the resort!!! Everyone was especially considerate and nice and inviting! The presentation was fun and informative and not high pressured at all! You feel like you are talking to someone in your family. they were giving us over 500 dollars worth of free camping for us to just come and enjoy ourselves!!! All in all good trip! We liked it so much that we bought a membership!!!
Great place, Normal/Nice people!!!!!

  • Liked — I liked the staff and the setup of the resort
  • Disliked — The Weather Brrr!
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

After only 3 hours at the "resort" we discovered that our cabin had a broken toilet and broken bed frame. We were offered another cabin, however the icy conditions (no salt down as of 6:30pm, possibly due to so many snowmobilers) forced us to leave shortly after arrival. My husband has had 3 back surgeries and we were fearful of him falling on the ice. We had hoped to get a raincheck, however weren't offered one. When the manager realized we wouldn't be taking the scheduled "membership tour" he said he would charge us the normal rate, which was 3 times what we agreed to pay when reserving.
The manager was rude and never apologized for the conditions, (said we were the only ones complaining) then I discovered the next day that he had charged my Visa for both nights stay! After arguing with the manager, he agreed to refund my money. It has been 10 days, and still I have not received my refund, and he has not returned my calls.
This was not a "resort", it was a nightmare!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benjamin's Beaver Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjamin's Beaver Creek Resort

Address: 5004 W. Otsego Lake, Gaylord, MI 49735
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort consists of approximately eighty acres of rolling hills and woods with a 3-acre fishing pond carved out in the middle. Benjamin's Beaver Creek Resort offers 31 luxury log cabins, 33 modern sunny paved campsites with full hook up and thirty wooded sites with partial hook up for your lodging needs. Only ten minutes from the resort, the Bavarian themed downtown area of Gaylord offers fine dining, exciting nightlife and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaver Creek Hotel Gaylord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benjamin's Beaver Creek Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.