We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for young kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Treetops Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Treetops Resort to your Saves list
Treetops Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3962 Wilkinson Road, Gaylord, MI 49735   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for young kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed at Treetops on our way to Mackinac Island and got a heck of a deal. For $99 a night we had a huge room, deck, free pizza, family package with movies, popcorn, kites and an hour of golf with our twin boys (Cheap hotels in Mackinac City were going for $40 to $60 more). I played some golf and my wife and I talked about coming back again in the fall. There was a lot of room for my kids to play in the grassy areas and our room backed up to the woods. The only thing that was a little disappointing was that the bathroom needed a "refresher". The fixtures needed to be replaced and someone should calk the tile in the bathroom. Nevertheless, bang for the buck we could not beat Treetops.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    70
    37
    32
    31
See reviews for
60
72
1
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

I went to Treetops many years ago. It was beautiful there. When I went back this time, wasn't so great. Everything is run down now. The staff at the North Courses were pleasant, but the staff at the course on site were not. Their pro was a jerk. I'd go back for the golf only.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, NY
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Just returned from a great golf vacation at Treetops. We were a little hesitant about going after reading some of the negative reviews but went with an open mind. We're from NY so we flew into Traverse City about an hour from Treetops. We stayed at the lodge which I understand has been remodeled so I can't compare it to the inn. The rooms were very nice and quite spacious. The only negatives were the ease of taking a shower as the shower was located in the jet tub which is quite high off the ground and not easy to step into for short people like my wife. Elderly people who are not agile would have a difficult time. However the jet tub felt great after golf. The only other minor complaint was the position of the television which was difficult to view while lying in bed. Overall service was very friendly. We ate several meals on site and they were all very good with excellent service. Our main purpose of the trip was to attend the Rick Smith Golf Academy and then enjoy several days of golf. The golf school was incredible and way beyond our expectations. My wife and I are long time avid golfers but there is always room for improvement. Henry Young the golf school director is simply amazing and the school staff is most accomodating. Everything is videoed and they give you a cd with the before and after along with voice analysis. We would definitely consider returning. There are several very good dining options nearby. Don't miss Dianas Deelight in Gaylord for breakfast and lunch along with delicious homemade pies. We also enjoyed the Old Depot for dinner in Johannesburg about 15 minutes from Treetops.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roo222
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

We stayed at Treetops in Jan '09 with a bunch of friends and had a great time. The rooms were nice and everywhere from Legends to the bottom of the hill we were treated well. We even had some special requests for our room and those requests were handled with no problem. The slopes were great but unfortunately I could not get a lesson on a Sat. at 430pm.... wasn't too impressed by that. Over all, however, the trip was pleasant and I would surely return.

  • Liked — the friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — lack of available ski lessons
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

This is my families second time back at the resort. Our first time was a disappointment, but we figured we would give them a second chance. This time for New Years 2009, we stayed two nights and for the seond time were unhappy with our experience. During our previous stay at the INN (their 2nd lodge) we enjoyed the outside pool and hot tub during the winter nights. This time, we were disappointed to find that both the pool and hot tub were sitting empty with no water. =( The pool and hot tub inside were not maintained and unfortunately extremely cold. Housekeeping was called three times to replenish towels in an hours time and only arrived with three towels for a pool room full of several people. The INN usually has a front desk, this time no one was around, it was closed down, and we had to travel up the short road to the main lodge for anything we needed. When we spoke of our disappointment the staff was unfortunately very rude at the Lodge's main desk. The rooms were okay and the cleaning ladies were always avaiable during daytime hours. The slopes were GREAT and the ski staff at the bottom of the hill working for the skiiers were nice.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

Such a shame. Stayed here in '06, couldn't wait to return. Very disappointed with the rude staff. I didn't expect 4 star service, but I sure wasn't expecting the 1 star service we received. Stayed before in summer of 06 and had the time of our lives. Beautiful golf (still beautiful, but bad staff experience.) Stay in town in Gaylord and just go here to play golf.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

Simply fantastic! Treetops is the premiere golf destination in Michigan - no doubt. The golf courses are world class and the condition of the courses couldn't have been any better. The staff is outstanding and senior management needs to be commended for their efforts. It has been a few years since we have been to Treetops and some friends told us things have gotten a lot better with some new managers and boy were they right. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to make everyone in our group feel welcome. I can't say enough about the food in the restaurants - outstanding! We were told by the restaurant staff that the new GM is very involved with everything and really cares about the resort and the employees and it shows. We also went to Bay Harbor on this trip but won't do it again next year. We paid a lot more money at Bay Harbor for everything and enjoyed ourselves but had a much better experience at Treetops. Not only will we be back for our golf trip next year, we booked our ski trip for Christmas week. Thank you.

  • Liked — Size of rooms in the lodge
  • Disliked — Need wireless internet throughout the resort
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treetops Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Resort

Address: 3962 Wilkinson Road, Gaylord, MI 49735
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Treetops Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick and Tingo so you can book your Treetops Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Gaylord
Treetops Resort Gaylord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treetops Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.