We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome golf courses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Treetops Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Treetops Resort to your Saves list
Treetops Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3962 Wilkinson Road, Gaylord, MI 49735   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome golf courses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed in the hotel not the cabins. HUGE HUGE room with a jacuzzi bath. If you coming for luxury accommodation ,give this a miss!! This hotel is in serious need of coming into the modern era. Very friendly staff at reception , in the sports bar and the golf pro shops.
We were here for the golf. We played 2 courses. The Robert Trent Jones Masterpiece was our first game. Condition condition condition !!! Damn what a Masterpiece !!! Played from the black markers and the course was very playable. Slight undulations on the greens make it important to place your approaches as described on the score card. A very very enjoyable course for the more serious golfer. Good shots are rewarded on the immaculate greens. Bent grass fairways make for easy fairway woods. Very challenging par 3's. At the end of this round, both I and my wife would have loved to replay this beauty.
Then it was a 5 minute drive to the Tom Fazio designed track. After the round here,I was not to sure which course had me wanting to play again. From a spectacular views point ...........Fazio Without a doubt
Elevated tees ensure a memorable round,BUT guys and gals, do you have to be in total control of
your approach shot and PUTTER. Play these greens and get a feel what the Pro's face when they try making a living on some of those Majors courses. Sticking to my day job rather.I left this track 3 putting more than 7 greens!! I did eagle the par 5 14th with a Driver, 3 fairway wood to 3 foot. Another beautiful track but wicked elevations on ALL greens.Great day's golf ended with wings and too many beers in the sports bar back at the hotel . Well worth the detour from our Thunder Bay Ontario trip.
Will go back and play both tracks and also the highly recommended Par 3 9 hole layout

Room Tip: Stay on the upper most floors as the walking above ya in the lower rooms might keep you awake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the golf here at Treetops, and that we will see you back for more! Please know that we are in the process of renovating our accommodations. It will take some time, but we are committed to providing our guests with the best experience they can get anywhere. Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    70
    37
    32
    31
See reviews for
60
72
1
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Passing thru Gaylord and decided on this hotel-no disappointment here-stayed in lodge-very nice large rooms and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Beds comfy and views were good. Golf courses were beautiful. Would recommend and revisit!
Carpe diem!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear you decided to check out Treetops while traveling through Gaylord, and even happier knowing that you would come back and stay again. Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A friend and I went to the Treetops for the first time, and we are hooked. Lodging was dated but very clean and nice. We played the Traditions and Threetops courses. We enjoyed it so much we are making it an annual trip and can not wait to go back next year. Thanks Treetops for a great visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear that you will be returning to Treetops and making it an annual event. Thanks again for posting, and we'll see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We just went to Treetops for a golf outing. There were 12 of us in our party and they did so much to help with the large party; it made our stay very enjoyable. The golf courses were fantastic and I can't wait to go again. The rooms were nice but not spectacular but we weren't there for the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks for posting! We are thrilled that your group had such a great time at Treetops. I'm glad we will see you back for more golf. Try coming in autumn-the fall color on the courses is amazing. Thanks again for the feedback, and hopefully we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, IN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

While this is a destination golf resort, we just stayed overnight. We stayed in the Inn, which is their older building.
The room was spacious (two double beds, with room around).
We appreciated the room-darkening shades, which let us sleep in while the morning sun beat against our east-side windows.
The pool was on the cool side (not bad once you got wet), and the whirlpool didn't "whirl", but is was nice and hot.
We don't usually stay at lodgings that are this pricey, but it was 4th of July weekend, and rooms were scarce.

Room Tip: In the Inn, odd rooms seemed to face the back (west), while even rooms faced the front (east). Do y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear about the hot tub at the Inn. I will be sure to have maintenance check into why it won't "whirl". Hopefully we will see you back for some golf, or maybe this winter for some skiing. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Excellent golf courses with spectacular views, unique greens and kept in great condition. Three golf courses to choose from and tee boxes for low or high handicappers. The 2 bedroom condominiums are a perfect fit for two couples or a family of up to six.

Room Tip: All condos face the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thanks for your feedback! We are thrilled to hear you had such a great time at Treetops. It is great to know you enjoyed the courses and the condos. Hopefully we will see you back soon. Thanks again for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Once upon a time was probably nice, but now the Lodge is a sad and shabby relic while the Chalets are virtually uninhabitable. We and our friends were originally assigned to the Chalets, but found them unacceptable even for one night. Fortunately were able to move to rooms in the Lodge which were adequate for our one night stay & play needs, and as a bonus also satisfied any longings we may have had for retro, 1960s fixtures and 1980s college apartment furnishings. The bathrooms were once very nice, but they are now very dated, and the water in our shower sprayed most everywhere but where you needed it. Our bed, however, was actually quite good and comfortable. The leather chairs in the lobby are well past their prime with stuffing escaping from splits in the seats. It's amazing that a resort that continues to advertise itself as the best in the state has been neglected and run down to such a sorry state. The golf courses were immaculate and very challenging. We would not stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am terribly sorry to hear your stay with us was less than exemplary. Please know that we are in the process of renovating our lodging accommodations at Treetops. It will take some time, but we are confident that the improvements we make will show our guests we truly are Michigan's most spectacular resort.

Thank you again for your feedback-it lets us know where we need to focus our attention to keep our guests coming back. I do hope that we see you return to Treetops. Until then, if you would like to discuss your stay further, please don't hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Treetops Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Resort

Address: 3962 Wilkinson Road, Gaylord, MI 49735
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Treetops Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Treetops Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Gaylord
Treetops Resort Gaylord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treetops Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.