We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant needs MAJOR HELP” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Treetops Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Treetops Resort to your Saves list
Treetops Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3962 Wilkinson Road, Gaylord, MI 49735   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Restaurant needs MAJOR HELP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The place is lovely, nice environment, great for kids. Skiing is great, super convenient and enjoyable. The Restaurant is another story!!! The food itself is very good. THE SERVICE IS AWFUL. We waited for dinner for 1 1/2 hours and the next morning waited for breakfast for at least an hour.
Eventhough the restaurant is convenient it would be faster and less stressful to drive to gaylord and get breakfast there!
They really need to plan better for crowds. The waitresses do a great job but there are just too few of them for the volume of people who are staying at the resort.

Room Tip: Get your room in the LODGE building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We are glad you had fun skiing with us, but at the same time are sorry to hear about your experience with the service at the restaurant. Your concerns will be addressed by our food and beverage manager. We do hope that we will see you back to Treetops, so we can get another chance to make your entire stay wonderful. Thanks again for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    70
    37
    32
    31
See reviews for
60
72
1
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

It was a great weekend so much fun lots of nice staff helpful only couple of things is the quality of the water but its up north so not that bad and the speed of the wifi is slow but okay. The food is great and fast awesome rooms and great outdoor pool but slippery out to the hot tub over all great stay

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for your visit to Treetops! We are happy to hear you had a good time during your stay. I am sorry about the wi-fi and about the slippery patio at the outdoor pool-I will be sure to let both our IT department and maintenance department know to address those issues. Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have stayed at Treetops several times over the last 15 years. Stayed this weekend with my family of 4. I agree with some of the other reviewers, it's difficult to rate this resort. While the setting is gorgeous, the facilities are in dire need of updating. It looks much the same as when I last visited in the 90s. I am curious what their AAA star rating is. There was no hairdryer in the room, no clock, no kleenex. The outlets were so worn, the things plugged in would slip out. The wind blew through our patio door. The pool area was damp and very poorly lit.
We did eat at the sports bar. The view was unbelievable and the food was good.
That said, again, this is a fabulous location for skiing and tubing, etc. If you're there for that, you can't choose a better place in Gaylord to stay. The staff was friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry that your stay didn’t meet your expectations. Please know that we are listening to your comments and suggestions, and have already started the renovation process in some areas of the resort. We feel confident that the changes we are making will allow everyone to have a more enjoyable experience while visiting Treetops. Thanks again for posting, and we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The wife and myself recently spent the weekend skiing here. Treetops is by far one of our favorite places to go. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the common areas are always clean. Thanks for a great ski trip!! We didnt stay in the hotel but the ski services are fantastic

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks so much for posting! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your ski weekend at Treetops. Hopefully we will see you back soon. Thanks again for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

On first glance, this resort is great! Beautiful location, nice buildings, cozy lobby, nice heated pool, excellent gym, excellent spa, a convenient shuttle with a nice driver, and a friendly front desk. Walking into our room for the first time, we couldn't believe how spacious and grand it was, especially for only $109/night! But on closer inspection, we started to see the signs of why a room that appears to be worth well over $200/night would be going for a much lower rate. We noticed stains on the carpets, food stains on the chairs, hairs and dirt in the hot tub, an old box television, and a crusty looking shower head. So it's difficult to rate this property. It's definitely great value for the money paid and I have no regrets. But with a few overdue updates (new shower heads, some carpet replacements, some new tvs) this place can be spectacular!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Treetops, but at the same time concerned about the issues you encountered with your overnight room during your stay. We want every part of your stay to spectacular, and know that you had challenges with your accommodations does concern us all. Please know that the maintenance and housekeeping departments have been made aware of the issues you had in your room, and have taken the steps needed to correct them. Thanks again for posting, and hopefully we will see you back to Treetops again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Treetops has a great propoerty with a very nice, spacious and almost elegant rooms in the main lodge. The slopes are pretty decent too and not as crowded as many of the others in northern Michigan. Because we had two kids in their teens and didn't want to spend a bundle for two seperate hotel rooms, we rented a two-room chalet with full kitchen.

Our chalet had a very large bedroom with two queens, a dining area adjoining the small living room with pull-out sofa sleeper, and a tight but servicable kitchen with small fridge, stove/oven combination, microwave and coffee maker. All the essentials. The extra rollaway bed we requested fit fine in the dining area.

Unfortunately, what both my wife and I couldn't help but notice was the chalet's overall condition! I've seen college dorm rooms at the end of the semester in far better shape! The dark green carpet was probably 20 years old with up to half-inch wide by two yard long strips of fabric missing in numerous locations. There were broken light fixtures, holes in the wall where things had at one time been attached, only three instead of four chairs at the dining room table and no additional ones in spite of my phone call requesting it. The place obviously hadn't been painted in a good ten years or more with lots of scrapes through to the drywall and other obvious signs of neglect. The beds were so-so but the sofa and stuffed chair were totally worn out and should have been replaced ten years earlier. Our bedroom window had the outer pane shattered by a three-inch wide hole, which obviously did nothing for the view. What really was nasty was the lack of cleanliness. For instance, the four inches of free space between the mini-fridge and wall was cluttered with what looked like old candy wrappers, small pieces of bread, popcorn, lint, and all sorts of other unidentifiable residue. Pretty disgusting!

On the plus side, the skiing was great and it was nice to have accomodations at the base of the slopes for meals and other breaks. It was just too bad that the chalet accomodations were not on par with the rest of the resort.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main lodge are the very best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your post. While we are glad to hear you enjoyed the skiing, I am just as sorry to hear you experienced issues with your accommodations at the Chalets. We want all of our guests to have a great time overall while staying with us, and knowing that you had issues with your stay concerns all of us here at Treetops. Please know the challenges you encountered regarding your rooms have been addressed by Housekeeping and Maintenance. I do hope you we will see you back to Treetops in the future. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

There is so much offered at this resort it felt like we were on a weekend getaway rather than a business trip! The rooms are some of the most spacious I have seen and it is clear that cleanliness is a priority here. The variety of dining offered at the resort was impressive, and the large fitness room and pool areas were a welcome feature during our stay. Although we did not take part in the golf or ski areas located at the resort, we could see that they are of high quality and conveniently accessible to the resort guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks so much for the feedback! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Treetops. Hopefully we will see you back again when you have time to golf or ski. Thank you again for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treetops Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Resort

Address: 3962 Wilkinson Road, Gaylord, MI 49735
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Treetops Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Treetops Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Gaylord
Treetops Resort Gaylord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treetops Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.