We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average accomodations, but good value for money.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Treetops Resort

Save Saved
You added Treetops Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Treetops Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3962 Wilkinson Road, Gaylord, MI 49735   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Gaylord
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average accomodations, but good value for money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

We visited the resort as part of a Groupon deal that included one night's stay, two all day lift tickets, and two one hour ski lessons. We upgraded from the standard room and stayed at The Lodge. The room was very spacious and included a jacuzzi, a desk, a lounge area (couch with table). The jacuzzi was slightly dated but worked well. The bathroom, sink, and bedspread were dated as well, but fit the rustic theme that was prevalent throughout the facility.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for your post! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Treetops, and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    61
    28
    28
    27
See reviews for
57
64
1
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

All of the staff here have been very accomodating. The skiing was great too


1. BUT they told us skiing shut down at 9 (on a Sunday). Apparently, the Sunday we came was different. We were first time skiers and got stuck at the top of the hill as all of the lifts were shut down. Lol! We were told we would have to ski down to return our equipment since the shuttles were shut down at 8. One of the waitresses kindly called and arranged for a shuttle and also asked the rental station to stay open so we could return our stuff and get our boots. They obliged.

2. The Inn experience was disgusting, and I'm NOT picky at all! The water in the tub was brown then after while ran clear. Gross. The sheets were filthy with plenty of hair for our sleeping pleasure. They brought us new sheets.... Both flat sheets. Thank you. The machines were out of water so the lodge (IF YOU HAVE A CHOICE STAY THERE. WE HEARD IT IS MUCH BETTER OVER THERE) kindly agreed to bring us water.

3. The rooms need SERIOUS updating. They are old and smell old. I may come back to Treetops, but NOT stay at The Inn. My Husband will not come back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for your post. While I am pleased to hear about the great customer service you received, I am also very sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. Please know that I have spoken with Housekeeping regarding the condition of your room, and have reconfirmed hours of operations for the ski area. I truly hope you will give us another chance to make a more positive impression on you. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motor City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Played golf there for years and what used to be one of the best in the state, is fading. Overall lack of maintenance is showing. I had never stayed there until this Christmas with a group. The Inn was totally unacceptable, so after much screwing around, they put us in the newer building. It too was in disrepair, and generally seemed grimey. Food was OK, but service was slow. Skiing..this is where it gets bad. We have skied there many times over the last 10-15 years. While the slopes are quite tame, it had always been a good place for the family and the ski school had great staff / programs for the kids. This year, they had about 5 poorly groomed slopes open, and the entire layout of the services at the bottom of the hill had changed. The warming house where we could watch the skiers is some other mess now and everything is very poorly done. We looked for some of the familiar faces our kids remembered from ski school, but the ski school looks to have changed hands this year. There used to be some older more professional (maybe retired guys) instructors and nice college aged girls we felt comfortable with, but after seeing some of the scruffy looking crew on the hill we opted to just ski. Checked out a day early and went to Boyne Mt, who despite the same weather, had a lot more terrain open. What a difference. Never staying or skiing at Treetops again, and only playing golf if there are heavily discounted fees.

Room Tip: Somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Thank you for your post. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered during your recent stay with us. Housekeeping and Maintenance have been alerted to the condition/cleanliness concerns you expressed. We have had some changes within our Ski School, so I am sure most of the faces you saw were new ones. Please rest assured that our new crew is made up of some great instructors, all ready to help our guests. As for the hill conditions, I do again apologize. Mother Nature was not very generous with snowfall during December. Our Snow Management Staff has been working round the clock to get things up and running, but they can only make snow as fast as their equipment and weather conditions will allow. This fall, our Golf Maintenance Team did a tremendous amount of work on all of the courses, and I am confident that if you come back to see us again, you will not be disappointed. I truly hope you will give us another chance, and once again my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I got married last month and everything was perfect! The staff is very nice, food excellent and the organization was very good. Our rooms were excellent! i totally recommend this place to stay and celebrate your wedding!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you for your post! We are thrilled to have been a part of your special day, and that everything went so well. Congratulations, and hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

this is a very nice fun filled place for the family . we were up there last year for sking an snowboarding lots to keep everyone busy , hills just a walk ut of our room ,town close by for those who dont ski an already planning our trip up there for this seasons ! we had a great time!

Room Tip: plan ahead ask questions
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Thank you for your post! We appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to hear you will be coming back this winter. Thanks again, and hopefully we’ll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Thanks to a great deal, this was my first time to Treetops and I have nothing but good things to say. First, the room my brother-in-law and I shared was huge! Dated look in the bathroom, OK, whatever. Had a couch and vaulted ceiling, frig. Beds were comfortable and the place was clean. A short walk down the hall and down some steps and we were in a giant hot tub. A definite treat after a round of golf. Compare this to the second part of our Gaylord golf trip where we were put up in a manufactured home-style guest room and there's no comparison. The golf courses were first-rate, too. We played both the Masterpiece and Premier courses. Played 9 on the links-style course and that was OK. Didn't get on the Par 3 sadly. So, this is certainly a place I would go back to.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thanks for your kind words about our resort. We try to make every trip to Treetops spectacular for our guests, and are glad that we did for you. Looking forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkaska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Treetops Resort has some positive aspects that make this site worth considering. We just used this site for a Wedding Reception in The Lodge building. The Oak Room was very good banquet space and it has pretty large windows. Working with the Staff at Treetops was a pleasure. They are knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful with planning, set ups and are pro-active during the event. The buffet food was fresh, served at the right temperatures, was a nice presentation, plus there were large quantities. There was no fear of running out of food. The Banquet Staff is great. Our Wedding Reception worked out very well. Family members who stayed in The Lodge found the guest rooms to be large and comfortable. But yes, there are some concerns. The site has been around for many years and due to the down economy the buildings and rooms at Treetops do show wear and tear. Just enough to make the overall rating a 3 (or less based on other Reviews) when this place should be 4 or 5. There are on-going renovations and maintenance projects at Treetops so problems are not ignored but I'm sure things get addressed based on priorities and budget. You can expect, in some areas, worn/stain carpet, older linens, heating/cooling variations, and dated furnishings. Your personal rating will depend on your expectations and maybe what room rate you paid. There are many other pluses to Treetops including great golf in the summer and on-site skiing and tubing in the winter. The setting is beautiful. It still is a great hotel in many aspects and it has a lot to offer, it's just not the showcase it was years ago.

Room Tip: All guest rooms are very large in The Lodge so high ratings for the size. They have mini-refrigerat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you for letting us play a part in your special day. We are glad to hear the reception went well, and our staff was thrilled to be of service to you. I understand the concerns of you and your guests regarding the condition of some of areas- rest assured that we are taking care of those as we are able and hope the changes will be to your liking. Congratulations again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Treetops Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Resort

Address: 3962 Wilkinson Road, Gaylord, MI 49735
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Treetops Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Treetops Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Gaylord
Treetops Resort Gaylord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treetops Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.