We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but a little pricy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bearded Dogg Lounge

Bearded Dogg Lounge
302 South Otsego Avenue, Gaylord, MI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 57 Restaurants in Gaylord
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: connected to www.oldspudwarehouse.com
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, but a little pricy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The food was excellent, I had the swordfish special and my wife had the prime rib ravioli. Both were excellent. So was the creme brûlée.

But the service was a bit odd. The menu bragged about how each dinner is prepared individually noting that meals may take longer as a result. But when my wife asked if one of the specials could be made not as spicy as the menu described, the waitress abruptly said "no, that's the way it comes". she did not offer to ask the chef, just said No. Disappointing given their description on the menu of how food is prepared. But maybe that was just our waitress.

It was also pricy. $70 for the two of us. One drink, mad one shared desert. Well likely not go back because of the price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    25
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaylord, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place, needs to get a chef to replace the cooks.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We have been here before and were not impressed with the food. Nothing has changed.
The atmosphere is nice. The staff attentive. The concept is sound.
The food is prepared by unschooled cooks who lack technical culinary skills.
Attempts are made to create upscale menu items, but the execution is lacking.
Smoked crab cakes are an amateurish disaster.
Grilled romaine salad special was so so, but for $13 it should have been much better.
Lemon seafood pasta was awful!!
(Although scallops were sweet and tender, rest of entree was inedible)
Swordfish special, for $25. Was served with it's skin on. (Swordfish skin is not desirable). Then topped with an avacado,mango and black bean SALSA? It was pasty and mushy. Salsa?
Beverage menu and wine list is very good.
Next time we go, it'll be for a drink while we decide where to go for dinner.
In the end, I could have found a better place to spend $120 on dinner for two ( with wine). But maybe not in Gaylord. People review this place highly because the local dining scene bar is set so low.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainwell, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I stopped here to see what they had to offer. Man was I completely satisfied. Fantastic appetizer of fresh veggies, the Turkey and Avocado sandwich, and a selection of beers to meet what you need. I'm definately putting this one on my list to come back to for future trips.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great food and service with reasonable portion sizes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had dinner at Bearded Dogg in Gaylord Michigan recently and it was wonderful. We each ordered a different meal and they were all good. The wine list is extensive and reasonable in terms of variety and pricing. The service was very friendly as you would expect in northern Michigan. The setting was very pleasant as well.

Portions are not large but just the right size. The prices are a little lower to reflect the sizes and we were very happy with that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must visit when in or near Gaylord.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Different, unique, genuine.... all describe the Bearded Dog's menu, presentation and taste. A good value too.... from a $10 burger to a $12 corned beef sandwich, you'd pay nearly this for the same ole fare just about anywhere else.

Stopped here during a recent golf getaway and will definitely be back. Our waiter Will provided excellent service and the cooks more than did their part... delicious. Total bill with tip was less than $25 (no cocktails this visit).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bearded Dogg Lounge also viewed

Gaylord, Otsego County
 
Gaylord, Otsego County
 

Been to Bearded Dogg Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bearded Dogg Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.